We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality doesn’t mean expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Limerick
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed in Travelodge UK few times but the one in Limerick surprised us completely. We made our reservation via Travelodge website 3 weeks in advance as they had a superb offer of 39 euro per night!
It took us just 15 minutes to get to the place from Shannon airport. On arrival we were welcomed by a very friendly female receptionist who has told us all about the hotel and offered one of their new double rooms instead of single that we had booked – all of that for the same price. Modern and comfy room equipped with flat TV, tee and coffee facility was a new experience. Room arrangement and colours makes an impression of greater space, comparing to all the regular rooms that I have seen in Travelodge so far. Receptionist told us that’s the new look of all the new Travelodge rooms. We had some trouble with switching on the TV but the receptionist dealt with that in just a few minutes from reporting the problem.
We came to Limerick to spend a lovely weekend so we went to one of the discos. We met some really nice people with whom we danced, drank and sung till 3 am. After that we got a taxi and came back hoping to get something to eat in the hotel. Unfortunately Eddie Rockets located next to Travelodge was already closed and they weren’t opening till 7.30 am. We almost accept the perspective of filling our tummies with some junk food from vending machines but once again we were save by receptionist who told us there is a Tesco nearby open 24h a day.
Once we came back with food we could peacefully go to sleep. The hotel seems to be located in a quiet area which guarantees a good night sleep, well at least that’s what we have experienced.
In the morning that is just before noon a housekeeper knock on our door saying: “12 o’clock - check out time, would you like a late check out?” Thank God Good she has reminded us of such possibility as we really needed few more hours of sleep. We called the reception and informed them that we would like to stay till 3 pm and also asked for a taxi as we had a flight back home at 6 pm. Receptionist informed us about late check out fee and told us that we could pay at departure. She has also organised a taxi for us for requested time.
Check out took only 2 minutes – we paid that 10 euro and gave back the key as the taxi was already waiting for us. We hope to visit that friendly Travelodge in Limerick again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Han_PaulO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLimerick, Hotel Manager at Travelodge Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2009

Dear Han,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and I look forward to seeing you in Travelodge again.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre O'Connor
Hotel Manager
Travelodge Limerick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Limerick
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2009

Excellent one-night location for those leaving from Shannon early in the morning. Short, easy drive to the airport.

Though the hotel is modern and very clean, the rooms contain only the barest of minimums. No shampoo. Tiny bar of soap. The only two electrical outlets in the room were tucked side-by-side under a shelf at the desk - no way to plug anything in at bedside. One chair, small TV, etc.

The phone in the room only worked with major telephone calling cards like AT&T, or with one particular pre-paid phone card which had to be purchased at the front desk for 7 euro. It was impossible to use any other overseas calling cards requiring local access numbers from the room. A payphone was available in the lobby for those users.

Eddie Rocket's, next door, was fine for American fast food equivalents.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kneel_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLimerick, Hotel manager at Travelodge Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2009

Thank you for your review.

Our research shows that most people staying in a hotel simply want a clean, comfortable place to get a good night's sleep, and are happy to forgo the unnecessary “ frills “ offered in the other over-priced establishments, and we pass on the savings to you.

But if you have forgotten something, Travelodge Hotels sell a range of basic toiletries from vending machines or from reception in every hotel.

I am sorry you had trouble when using the telephone in your room. The phones in the rooms only work with our own telephone cards, or you can use the credit card, or collect call system.

All telephone cards can be used in the public phone in the lobby.

I look forward to seeing you again in Travelodge,

Kind Regards,
Deirdre O'Connor
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Have just returned from a weekend break in Limerick. We took advantage of cheap Ryanair flights to Shannon and thought we would try somewhere new. We flew into Shannon quite early and had many hours to kill; before we could check in at the hotel at 3:00pm. Got the bus from the airport directly into Limerick - it passed the Travelodge but didn't stop there. After a few hours shopping and a pint of guinness we headed back to the hotel via taxi at a cost of €11 (expensive at today's exchange rate). We checked in okay but our room was at the top of the stairs and so not ideally positioned. We had to request a toilet rolls as there were none in the bathroom (could have been embarrassing if not spotted so soon!!) and there are no toiletries whatsoever provided. Not much hanging space and no drawers meant we had to keep our clothes in our cases. The room was freezing cold too but luckily we found the wall mounted heater and that was sorted out. We borrowed an iron from reception - the only one it seems but it was very cheap and nasty and we couldn't have an ironing board because it was broken. The big problems were in the early hours of the morning. Because it is cheap there were a lot of younger guests. At 3:00am we were woken by shouting, laughing and very loud conversation. This was at the front entrance where a large group of people were smoking and chatting to the duty manager. The noise was terrible and the windows in the travelodge absolutely useless (they were shut tight too) - we could hear every word. It got worse as more people took to the car park. Again there was shouting, screaming and really loud talking. To top it all off a party then began downstairs with music and constant door slamming, people climbing in and out of windows andall of the other associated noise. Nothing was done about this and it went on until at least 5:00am. Reported all of this to the new duty manager the next morning who was very apologetic. Won't use this place again I can tell you which is a shame because the adjoining diner - Eddie Rocket's was fab. Food was delicious, the service really good (all staff Eastern European) and because my girlfriend and I split a meal not too expensive. The portions are massive but they had no problem in us doing what we did. One thing to be aware of is that they don't sell alcoholic drinks!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CraigyDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLimerick, Hotel Manager at Travelodge Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel.

On behalf of Travelodge Limerick I was saddened to read your comments.

In relation to the toilet paper I can only apologise for this and can offer you no excuses for the bathrooms supplies not been stocked up.

Travelodge does not supply toiletries in any of our hotels. Most people staying away from home will pack a toiletry bag. But if our guests have forgotten them we do sell a range of basis toiletries at our reception desk. We keep our costs down and therefore we can off rooms for much less than other hotels.

If you wish to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss the issue’s you had further. I will look at ways to satisfy your concerns.

Regards,

Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

What a hotel! Exellent in every way for a "basic" place to stay. Could not fault any part of the stay from check in to departure. The staff were so helpful it could have been a five star hotel.
One word of caution however. Watch out for the attached diner food was great but no good for the waistline.

Would I stay there again? What do you think?

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iscasilurium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeLimerick, Hotel Manager at Travelodge Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2009

Thank you for your review.

I have passed on your kind words to the staff. Look forward to seeing you back here in the further.

Kind Regards,
Deirdre O'Connor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Fantastic hotel! I booked the room on the travelodge website for a great price! When we got there they had just opened the new wing. Wow, best hotel I've ever stayed in. Perfect location for city and the country. 24 hour shop across the road, about 15 minutes to the airport. Staff were well organised for us, we were a large group.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ostan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evh_is_god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Limerick Castletroy
5.2 mi away
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
Kilmurry Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Castletroy
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,971 reviews
3.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Limerick
Maldron Hotel Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
661 reviews
1.9 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Limerick

Address: 18 Ennis Road | Coonagh Roundabout, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: £55 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the last year we have changed a lot, we've introduced Rockin Joes American City Dinner as our restaurant, which is proving very popular with our guests. We have Launched 32 New Look Travelodge Rooms, the First in Ireland! Our rooms provide everything a guest needs for a comfortable night's sleep, whether they're on the road for business, or enjoying a city break with family or friends, or travelling with a group. We are 18 minutes from Shannon Airport local bus stop outside hotel every 30 minutes. We are located 5 minutes from city centre such tourist destinations as King Johns Castle, Thomond Park, Bunratty Castle and much more. We have free car parking 80 spaces, tea/coffee facilities in all our spacious rooms. WiFi is available free in reception area and "Rockin Joes". We look forward to welcoming you very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Limerick
Limerick Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing