We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant sadly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Co Clare
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Restaurant sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Myself and my husband popped in for lunch as we were passing by. We had a disappointing meal here in the past and we hoped that things may have improved. Unfortunately they had not. Service for lunch was very slow. The corner bar where staff work from was in a mess. I ordered the smoked salmon all I got was a thin slice of salmon on two slices of brown bread - no salad and no garnish. My husband then ordered a Deseret (lemon tart) which tasted like soap - obviously not made in house - overall opinion very poor.

Sad to say but will not be popping back

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Disappointed to read your review. I checked with our Restaurant and they cannot remember your visit, although it was not clear when you were here. We do publicise our 100% Guest Satisfaction throughout those areas, so I am not sure if you brought your issues to the attention of your server on that day.
I do hope that you might reconsider a return visit to us, as I am confident to write that what you experienced is most certainly not the norm, as other tripadvisor reviews do refer to our high service levels and food offerings.
Should you wish to discuss any further, please do let me know - tom.shanahan@radissonblu.com.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    450
    183
    94
    44
See reviews for
321
450
42
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Had a lovely relaxing few days at the Radisson. Good food.Great for the family something for everyone. Swimming Pool tennis and basketball for the older kids, kids room for the younger kids. Spa and outside hot tub for Mum or Dad. Great size family room. Very helpful and friendly staff. Thank you. The o sullivan mc grath family..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you Catherine for such a wonderful review on our hotel and delighted to read that you enjoyed a relaxing few days with us. We believe we offer a great Family experience as you pointed out. I will ensure your comments are passed on to our staff and hope to welcome you all back to the hotel soon.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel for a girly spa weekend and had a really great time. We stayed in standard rooms which were the largest standard rooms I've ever stayed in. The rooms had everything we needed. We were even supplied with slippers and robes.

The Spa was amazing. The atmosphere was so relaxing and soothing. All the therapists were lovely and the treatments were wonderful.

The food was great. I had a chocolate and orange crème brule for desert one which was to die for. Seriously, you need to try it.

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times and all of them were excellent. And I really appreciated the free WiFi.

Overall, we were delighted with the hotel and the staff and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: The directions provided on the hotel website are confusing, so use an alternative website to get dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you so much for your glowing review on our hotel and spa, I will make sure all of your wonderful comments are passed on to the relevant departments.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The location of the hotel just outside the city was perfect for us on a driving tour of Ireland, and the hotel is nicely set in a few acres of parkland which gives an impressive feel to the driveway. The hotel itself is modern, and nicely furnished, if a little bland in the manner of business hotels around the world. The check-in staff were really helpful and efficient.
We paid a little extra to upgrade to a business class room, which was very comfortable, clean and well laid out with a working desk, separate wardrobe area, mini-bar, plus Nespresso machine in addition to the expected facilities.
The separate bar area is nice and cosy, with a play area outside for the kids with a slide etc. The restaurant is open plan and slightly dull, but fine for a night's stay. The food was mixed - my steak was lovely, but the wife's duck was over-cooked and a tad tough. Breakfast is a relatively standard buffet, with a very good selection - cereal, yoghurts, fruits, pastries, cheeses and cold cuts were available along with the traditional full Irish elements, though I have to say the cooked breakfast wasn't the best I had during our trip. At both dinner and breakfast the service was okay at best.
Can't comment on the spa and leisure facilities as we didn't use them, other than to say we could see the happy chappies in the hot tub from the car park (though it is behind a fence).
Overall a nice location, and a perfectly okay business hotel that could probably do with improving the food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartyslartfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Many thanks for your constructive review on our hotel - in particular of course your very nice comments on the hotel and staff. I will pass all of these on to the relevant departments and can assure you we will address any of the issues you identified. I know you referred to the hotel as a business hotel, however for the summer months, we are very much a leisure hotel, at present over 80% of our business are families and spa breaks.
If I can assist you with anything do please let me know.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed on the radisson in Limerick the last two nights, just arrived home today. We had a fantastic stay, rooms spotless food lovely, all staff were friendly and helpful, we booked a dinner reservation very late one of the evenings but there was not a problem at all with the staff. As the staff were setting up for breakfast for the next morning and we were last in the restaurant, two tables beside us needed to be set, but out of courtesy and privacy for us they waited til we had left fantastic courtesy. Could not have had a better stay, loved the pool and in our opinion a great hotel. Thankyou to all the staff will highly recommend it to all our friends in Kilkenny.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunny2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you very much for your review which I am delighted to pass on to our staff. We do pride ourselves on our staff and service levels and it is great to be recognised, and recommended to your friends. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountrath, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Ok. So we went for a short break to relax and use the spa. Thought radisson usually very nice so went with that. Just a few little things that were less than great. Room was nice, big and airy but there were cobwebs on the walls and ceilings. The TV was woefully small. Really let the whole room down as it looked so out of place on the big TV cabinet. The bathroom was basic enough and quite small.
Spa was nice but the pool was very small. Outdoor hottub overlooking the carpark a bit weird. Cars parking could see into the hottub.
Restaurant menu very limited and the ambience of the restaurant was lacking. Just bog standard overall.
Im probably nitpicking but have stayed in Radisson Blu's before and usually more wow than this. Only a 3 star at best and fairly average like most travellers hotels in Ireland. If you are looking for a wow weekend break it is not the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpcampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I will ensure your comments are passed on to all of the relevant departments. I notice from your reservation that you stayed on a Sunday night, which would be a quieter night of the week, particularly in the Restaurant, which perhaps accounted for the ambience in the restaurant. We would of course be delighted for you to return to the hotel, as I assure you that what you experienced is not the norm, as most other tripadvisor reviews mention.
Thank you again for your review and we regard your comments as constructive, which will be taken on board.
Regards
Tom Shanahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed for one night on the drive down to Dingle Peninsula. Reception staff was very helpful but rooms are overdue for an update...by a few decades unless you like the 60's decor. You cannot adjust the air conditioning so the room is stuffy, but you can open the windows. Fixtures in bathroom were pealing and need to be replaced for safety purposes. Quiet location outside of town.

The bar area has a good deal on sandwiches and some of the same items that are higher priced in the adjoining restaurant. Smell of cigarette smoke in the hallways. Sheets were very clean, but bed was a bit firm.

Good selection of food for the breakfast buffet ($10 Euros per).

Would not stay here again. The castle in Limerick is worth a drive by, but wouldn't stay in Limerick again, either.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St._Louie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Many thanks for your comments and delighted to read that you felt our staff were very helpful. Of course we take all of your other comments in the constructive manner in which I am sure you meant. In relation to air conditioning, we do not have air conditioning at the hotel, there are temperature control panels to tun heat on/off. I will relay all of your comments to General Manager. We do operate a 100% guest satisfaction policy at the hotel whereby we ask you to alert us of any dissatisfaction prior to departure so we can adress these issue.
Kind Regards
Tom Shanahan
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.0 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
3.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
3.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#7 Family Hotel in Limerick
#7 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#7 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa, Limerick is located on the borders of Limerick City and County Clare in Ireland's Shannon Region. The hotel has undergone an exciting redevelopment in 2015 with newly upgraded bedrooms, public areas and conferencing facilities. This 4 star hotel offers luxury accommodation, complimentary car parking, extensive parkland grounds and gardens, Porter's Restaurant, Quench bar, cocktail bar, leisure facilities & Rain Spa & Wellness Clinic. The hotel is the ideal location for exploring the West of Ireland and the Wild Atlantic Way, just a short 5 minute drive to Limerick City Centre, King Johns Castle, The Hunt Museum and Thomond Park Rugby Stadium. This region offers a thriving nightlife, a host of excellent restaurants and shops, world famous golf links and parkland courses and the country's most stunning visitor attractions, including The Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Bunratty Castle and Folk Park.Just a 5 minute drive from Limerick City and 10 minutes from Shannon Airport, the hotel is the ideal base for both the Corporate and the Leisure Guest. All spacious guest-rooms include coffee/tea making facilities, luxury beds, reading chair & lamps, flat screen TV, personal coded safe, trouser press and complimentary WI-FI access, spacious bathrooms include power shower with hand held shower massage, sink/vanity, hair dryer and loudspeakers from TV/Radio system. The conference and meeting facilities at the hotel is one of the largest in the Limerick and Shannon region. The venue space, free car parking along with the proximity to Shannon airport and national motorway routes makes the hotel the perfect business venue. Rain Spa and Wellness Clinic at the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick, offers the perfect opportunity to rejuvenate mind, body & soul. This facility includes 9 treatment rooms, a thermal suite, outdoor hot tub, relaxation suite, wet treatment rooms and state of the art Leisure Club. All residents receive complimentary access to the Thermal Suite and Outdoor Hot Tub at Rain Leisure and a 15% discount off treatments at Rain Spa. The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick is a family friendly hotel. The outdoor play area, swimming pool and gardens along with so many local family attractions make the hotel an ideal destination or touring base ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Limerick
Radisson Blu Hotel Limerick
Radisson Hotel Limerick
Radisson Limerick
Limerick Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing