We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly dated and out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Slightly dated and out of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is located a good bit outside of town, with no evident public transport. the lobby doesn't disappoint and staff are very friendly. However, rooms are three star standard at most and a bit of a let down compared to the usual Radisson quality. Pub grub was okay, the restaurant didn't offer a lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales_limerick, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you Marcus H for choosing us as your base when in Limerick recenlty. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel also.

We have just exited receivership and the hotel has been sold and will now under new owners be undertaking a refurbishment programme so perhaps we will get the chance to welcome you back when this work has been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    451
    183
    94
    44
See reviews for
323
451
42
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we came here as a party of 4 adults and one baby. hotel was clean and had great spa facilities. staff were friendly and couldnt do enough to help. rooms were big and clean. only bad thing was the pillows were very hard might want to bring your own. spa was lovely very quite in the evening. food in the hotel was reasonable if you went to the bar, restaurant was more expensive and food was not as nice. would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xserena88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales_limerick, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi xserena88x
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay. We appreciate your comments and are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We are just beginning to put a plan in place to commence refurbishment of all areas of the hotel so we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to what will be an even better 4 star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I visited here just 2 weekends ago with my partner. Check in was smooth.
Our room was clean and the bed was comfy. We didn't have much of a view, just of the forgotten grass. The grounds need to be cleaned and redone, the grass was really long and unkept & there was a broken down rusty children's playground beside the car park. I understand this hotel isn't in a very busy location, but there's no excuse really. I think there was a wedding or something in the hotel when we arrived as there were people and kids all hanging around in the lobby. I've never understood why people do this... the childen were screaming and running wild and no one said anything. It was quite annoying. We went to spend time in the pool & check ot the hot tub outside - we were lucky enough to have the pool to ourselves for over an hour and the water was warm & pleasant. We went into the thermal suite and spent some times outside in thejacuzzi, even though it started raining we were having too much fun out there! The little area it's in with the bamboo trees was nice.. It didn't feel like we were in the middle of no where in Limerick - it felt like we were somewhere far away - which is why we got away in the first place - a bit of peace! I liked the lights in the thermal suite too, changing from blue to green, purple and white.. It was nice.
We went down for dinner which was included in our room and it was really good! I really enjoyed the goats cheese salad & our chicken & mushroom main was tasty. The bread wasn't warm or soft, but I won't nit-pick I still ate it happily. The table was set nicely & the service was attentive without being over bearing. We were impressed with the food, despite being worried why we were the only two people eating and we were bothered again by all the people sitting in the lobby chatting nearby and the kids screaming - they ruined out dinner. Eventually a few other people came down to eat too.
Breakfast wasn't good- but I thought this would be the case as we got room service. Check out was smooth too no problems here.

Overall I would go back again if in the area. We booked on Trivago & only paid 73euro for 1 night, dinner & breakfast - the website was selling the same deal at 140 - so the price we got was really good so for what we paid, I was satisfied I got a good deal even when we left. The let down's was the area and the hotel itself desperately needs work. I'm giving this 3 stars because it's a little secluded, the hotel itself needs work (even a lick of paint & cutting the grass would do!) my breakfast wasn't good and I was bothered by the noise of the other guests.

Definitely consider if even for the pool & sauna itself!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPanties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sales_limerick, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi AmandaLynnPerry, many thanks for choosing our hotel as your base when in Limerick recently. I appreciate you would consider returning in the future and just to advise that just last week we exited receivership as the hotel was sold. Our new owners are currently working with Radisson Hotels & Resorts on a comprehensive plan to fully refurbish many of the areas you hilighted as needing attention.

Hopefully when this work is complete you may return to the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN , IRELAND
Level Contributor
155 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having had a very pleasant experience at the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa last year, we decided to return for a short break.

We arrived at the hotel at 12 noon, somewhat early, however Theresa & Niamh at reception were very welcoming and our room was ready. As an added bonus, my Club Carlson Gold Elite status was recognised by way of an upgrade to a suite.

The Moyhill Suite has separate living and bedrooms, large wardrobe area and bathroom with separate shower and Jacuzzi bath. The décor is beige and light brown and very comfortable indeed. Shortly after arriving, we were pleasantly surprised when a plate of cupcakes was delivered courtesy of the management.

A particularly nice (and most unusual today) was the inclusion of a tea pot and box of leaf tea. So much nicer than teabags, and well worth the little extra time it takes to make the tea!

My wife had difficulty with the in-room wifi. There appeared to be a problem with the system which the hotel was aware of, and a system upgrade is imminent to address this issue.

One afternoon, we ordered food from room service. The quality and quantity of the food (soup & club sandwich) was impressive.

We ate in Quench bar later in the evening, and were equally impressed. My wife’s steak in particular was exemplary.

Breakfast is self service, and there is a full range of cereals, cold cuts, cheeses, fruit and hot items. The quality is very good and the food was replenished regularly.

We enjoyed a couple of visits to the Pool & Thermal suite area. The hot tub is outside and is very pleasant. Indoors is a steam room, laconium, rainforest type showers and a swimming pool. It was a very pleasant way to relax and while away a couple of hours.

We dined in the Restaurant on the second night. For starters we chose Chicken liver parfait and homemade vegetable soup. We both chose steak for main course, and each was cooked to perfection, served with sauté onions, chunky chips and pepper sauce. We barely managed dessert, and this excellent meal was washed down with a bottle of Tantehue Sauvignon Blanc.

This was a very pleasant and relaxing stay. The room upgrade was a nice touch, food was excellent, staff very friendly.

Other reviewers have mentioned that the hotel is in need of a makeover. I tend to agree with this. However it cannot be forgotten that for the past year, the company which owns the hotel has been in receivership. Trading in these conditions is naturally difficult. Indeed, the staff have endured a period of uncertainty about their employment, yet invariably are friendly, positive and very helpful to guests.

There are reports in the media that a buyer has been found for the hotel, thus securing it’s future, and that of the excellent staff. This is good news indeed, and I look forward to visiting the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATJORDAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We read the reviews and were prepared for a very run down property with surrounding grounds that had received no care. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find that the grounds could have been a little nicer but they were fine. Also, our room was very comfortable. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. One issue was that the air conditioner in the hotel did not work but they brought us a fan. Between the fan and the open window the room temperature was very comfortable. There were a number of small issues, but nothing that affected the comfort or comfort of the room. For example, there was a crack in the bathroom mirror, a few spider webs in the window sill, carpet worn in places, etc. Our dinner was included in our room rate and it was absolutely delicious. Very surprising for a hotel restaurant. Breakfast in the morning had a great selection of hot and cold food. The spa is located in the hotel. I had a treatment done at the spa and I was very impressed with the facility and staff. So, overall we had a nice experience, particularly for the price. Yes, the hotel is a little shop worn but it is clean, quiet and comfortable and we would definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
311 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was easy to find with GPS and located in the countryside. Dinner in the hotel was very good with excellent service. There is no A/C in the hotel although, upon request, staff will provide a room fan for ventilation. The rooms are large and adequately furnished with a couch, desk space, and a large bed BUT the room is dated with a broken mirror, old style TV, and leaking shower. The bathroom fixtures work fine. The staff at reception are professional and helpful. They fixed my wife's computer so she could have access to the excellent free wifi. There is a hair salon and spa attached to the hotel that extends a 15% discount to hotel guests--my wife had a facial and other work for a very reasonable cost. Parking is located in front of the hotel and is free. The hotel was quiet during the night. The hotel location is about a 10 minute drive from city center. The cost of the room was cheap-cheap-cheap--this is a great bargain.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel on Friday 13th June for two nights. If the rooms were not pre-paid I would have turned around on entering the car park, weeds everywhere , a sure sign of neglect and overflowing ash trays on the tables etc. Rooms were clean but the carpets were terrible in the rooms and hallways. Taxi to and from the hotel cost 16 euro.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecuddihyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
4.0 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
3.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
5.7 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
3.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#7 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#7 Family Hotel in Limerick
#7 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Hotel and Spa, Limerick is located on the borders of Limerick City and County Clare in Ireland's Shannon Region. The hotel has undergone an exciting redevelopment in 2015 with newly upgraded bedrooms, public areas and conferencing facilities. This 4 star hotel offers luxury accommodation, complimentary car parking, extensive parkland grounds and gardens, Porter's Restaurant, Quench bar, cocktail bar, leisure facilities & Rain Spa & Wellness Clinic. The hotel is the ideal location for exploring the West of Ireland and the Wild Atlantic Way, just a short 5 minute drive to Limerick City Centre, King Johns Castle, The Hunt Museum and Thomond Park Rugby Stadium. This region offers a thriving nightlife, a host of excellent restaurants and shops, world famous golf links and parkland courses and the country's most stunning visitor attractions, including The Burren, Cliffs of Moher and Bunratty Castle and Folk Park.Just a 5 minute drive from Limerick City and 10 minutes from Shannon Airport, the hotel is the ideal base for both the Corporate and the Leisure Guest. All spacious guest-rooms include coffee/tea making facilities, luxury beds, reading chair & lamps, flat screen TV, personal coded safe, trouser press and complimentary WI-FI access, spacious bathrooms include power shower with hand held shower massage, sink/vanity, hair dryer and loudspeakers from TV/Radio system. The conference and meeting facilities at the hotel is one of the largest in the Limerick and Shannon region. The venue space, free car parking along with the proximity to Shannon airport and national motorway routes makes the hotel the perfect business venue. Rain Spa and Wellness Clinic at the Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick, offers the perfect opportunity to rejuvenate mind, body & soul. This facility includes 9 treatment rooms, a thermal suite, outdoor hot tub, relaxation suite, wet treatment rooms and state of the art Leisure Club. All residents receive complimentary access to the Thermal Suite and Outdoor Hot Tub at Rain Leisure and a 15% discount off treatments at Rain Spa. The Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Limerick is a family friendly hotel. The outdoor play area, swimming pool and gardens along with so many local family attractions make the hotel an ideal destination or touring base ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel And Spa, Limerick
Radisson Blu Hotel Limerick
Radisson Hotel Limerick
Radisson Limerick
Limerick Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing