We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location on the banks of the River Shannon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location on the banks of the River Shannon”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

The hotel has 15 floors & is located on the River Shannon in the centre of Limerick city & has great views over the city & estuary. The staff are friendly & always give a very warm welcome. The rooms are clean & have free internet connection.
The restaurant serves very good food & there is also a bar menu serving Asian style food. There are not too many alternatives to the Asian menu.
On the negative side, the hotel is located beside a dock which loads & unloads scrap metal. This can be noisey at times if you are on the lower floors.
Overall this is a good hotel where the staff are always helpful

Room Tip: Best views are from the rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p2010c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thank you for your review. You do have a wonderful view of the river and city from the higher floors however all our rooms do have a river view. We are currently updating our Kudos bar menu and also our European menu which is served 7 days a week. I am delighted that you found our staff warm & friendly, something that we hear very often. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    386
    178
    64
    43
See reviews for
192
365
46
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I recently organised a hen party for a group of 20+ people in Clarion in Limerick. I have nothing but great things to say. Mary Claire in Reservations organised everything and was excellent and pleasant at all times and helped organise pre-arranged items and gifts for the rooms. The hen's room was excellent with a great view and complementary wine and chocolates, which really was a nice touch. The rooms were so clean and comfortable. All the party were located on the same floor which was great. The Reception staff were great too, all smiles and chat and very helpful with organising taxi's and helping with any queries we had. The package the hotel provide for the hen night was excellent and the meal included was delicious, you were in the main restaturant and we had a choice from four starters and four or five main course dishes and a dessert plate, the service was excellent. If you were thinking of organising a hen, I would def recommend the Clarion Hotel, the staff will really look after you and the hotel is gorgeous and the atmosphere was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin0257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the bottle of wine & chocolates along with your entire stay. The dinner package is great value and I have passed your comments to Mary Claire, Peter our Executive Head Chef and to Sarah who oversees our Food & Beverage Outlets. We receive a lot of praise regarding our quality of food, excellent service and professional & friendly staff so thank you for highlighting this in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Probably the best hotel in its category in Limerick. Check in staff are very diligent and professional. Foyer are is bright and modern with good quality food to be had at the bar. Ask for upper floor room for views of Thomond Pk and John's Castle ( and a silent night's sleep) Breakfast was worth the wait.

Room Tip: Ask for city view room on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilIssagum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thank you for your review. Our staff are very important to us and this is an area that we work very hard on. I am delighted that you think that we are the best hotel in our 4 star category; I have to agree. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I recently organised a hen night for my friend .. i decided on the Clarion in limerick because of their excellent package . I have to complement Mary Claire in reservations . Since the very first email she was very pleasant to deal with and always got back to me in a matter of minutes . As you can guess when you are trying to organise rooms for 28 women they will always be last mintue dramas . The reservations staff were always helpful and calm.
On arrival the hotel lobby was packed with groups but the hotel receptionists were very calm and efficient .. once all the rooms had been assigned we made our way to the room . As i was sharing with the bride i say first hand the treats they left for her . A bottle of wine and chocolates . They left her a hand written card to wish her a enjoyable night .. i personally thought this was a lovely touch.
we had dinner arranged for 6.15 .. we were welcomed into the restaurant by some lovely staff .. i was surprised at the quality and the service we got ... as it was a hen night packagae i thought we might be given a straight forward menu with no choices and be shoved into a small room .. it was far from that .. we were assigned two tables in a lovely restarurant .. the menu had 3 choice per course and the service was excellent ..
included in our package was free into the sinbin with champagne on arrival .. we went to clossheys . At the door the security had our name and once we arrived in the manager approached us .. he said he would collect us again at 11.30 and bring us through to the night club .. bang on time he came back for us .. we had loads of champagne when we arrived and they were even in proper champagne glasses ...
if you are organising a hen or just a girls night away i would highly recomment the clarion in limerick :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loucorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you and your group had such a wonderful time with us. Looking after groups such as yours is a very important part of our business. I have passed your compliments on to Mary Claire and to the entire team here. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a positive review. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Really great hotel, big rooms with everything you need definitely worth the price. Pretty cheap for your average 4**** hotel!
Very clean and staff friendly and helpful, even allowed us to use their internet/printer for boarding passes for free, otherwise there is a printer/computer you can use 1 euro for 8 minutes or 2 euros for 20 minutes which i suppose isn't a bad price.
Great location too, very a lovely view of limerick from the rooms!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxii H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
Thank you for your review. I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. I am delighted that you found all our staff friendly & helpful, something that we are well known for. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

The Clarion Hotel, Limerick is a modern hotel in Limerick city. It is easily accessible and only a short distance from the city centre. The hotel was busy at all times but the staff were friendly, helpful and eager to please.
Our room (a triple) was large enough to comfortably accommodate three people and the facilities in the room were good, with a proper hair dryer and iron.
The only complaint I'd have was that it was a very warm day and the air conditioning didn't really cool the room down.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoifemoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for your review. I really appreciate you taking the time and trouble to recommend our hotel to others. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I recently stayed at the Clarion with a group of friends for my hen party. They do a hen pacakage which includes B&B, dinner and nightclub entry amoung other things for €70. The rooms we had were trible rooms with 3 single beds and they were large and the beds comfortable. Dinner was lovely in the resturant and the nighclub was less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We also had a private room for breakfast. The staff were lovely to deal with both before and during our stay and I would totally reccommend this hotel for a hen party, great atmosphere, great location and fantastic all inclusive deal. Enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuts81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed yourself and that you found our inclusive hen package great value for money. Best to luck to you on your wedding day and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing