We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant service and perfect atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Brilliant service and perfect atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

I organised my sister's hen for the weekend. The staff were extremely helpful and extras were provided without hassle. The food was completely delicious and the rooms were spotless! I cannot recommend this hotel more. It was exceptional!!!

Many thanks to all the staff for adding to a great weekend!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your 5 stars and your wonderful review on our hotel. I am delighted that our staff were able to provide a 1st class service to you and your friends. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    383
    176
    63
    42
See reviews for
188
362
44
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Traveled with 3 adults (women) & 3 kids Bar food & breakfast really good
Could not tolerate kids in bar even though between the months of May & Sept they are allowed till 10pm Very rude bar staff We were told a couple (who are local) did not sit in their "usual" seat because of our kids (who by no means were loud or wild) Not a place for family Hotel seems to only welcome Hen & Stag parties My overall opinion is that this hotel is a glorified Ibis with a bar Out of 10 I would give it a 2 at a push Hope this helps some of ye

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thank you for your review and for your positive comments on our bar food & breakfast. I am very disappointed to see that you have only given us 1 star out of 5 as I feel it is not a true reflection on our hotel. Almost every comment from past guests mention how friendly, warm and welcoming our staff are. We are very much a family friendly hotel, we have no time restrictions in our swimming pool, we have kids menus in our bar & restaurant, we have a kids section in the lobby, a supervised playroom each evening from 6 to 9pm Monday to Thursday. In terms of hotel offerings within the city, I would say that we offer the most against our competitors in the 4 star market. We certainly appreciate that children will move around the bar area however when we feel that there is a danger to themselves or to other guests, we do have a duty of care. I do wish to apologize if we did upset you and your family, this was not our intention. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

A good hotel excels by having everything seamlessly right - and the Clarion in Limerick certainly does that. Great views, spacious rooms, central location, helpful staff, internet that works. And a gym to work off the previous night's excesses.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your 5 stars, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed here mid week for 2 nights. Very modern looking hotel! We stayed on the 5th floor and the room was a different shape compared to your normal boring hotel room!! This I liked! Loved the view at night and had everything we needed! Breakfast was lovely and well layed out! Had food in the bar one night and was very good! Used the leisure centre, gym is a joke.... But the pool etc was nice! The only thing I can fault is the windows in da room wer filthy I no they are at a height but still it's a 4start, make use of your view! Would stay again at the right rate! ;)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmfho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel and for your positive comments on our breakfast, the view and the pool area. I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy the gym; this area is very well maintained with 4 new treadmills and a new bicycle not to mention all the other equipment. As our hotel is the tallest hotel in Ireland, it is not as easy to clean our windows outside. We hire an external company a couple of times a year and they are professional abseilers. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

very good did not spend much time here,room was fine view was great we were on the 10th floor..friendly staff.....car park is fine not sure what lots of the reviews were giving out about..would stay again good location,breakfast for room service was pricey so we did not avail of it we just went out for early lunch i can't imagine 20 euro per person is worth it!would stay here again..oh and while it was very hot at night the air conditioning was super and it also blocked out any noise from the hallway as we were right beside the door from lifts

Room Tip: room 1001 had super view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your positive review on our hotel. All our bedrooms have air conditioning, we are one for the few hotels in the city to offer this to all our hotel guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Ivan Tuohy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Hotel is very modern and the room located on the 9th floor was very bright and spacious wiith a great view of the river. location was great to limerick city centre.
Didn't try the food went to Bunratty banquet that night.
Stayed a Friday night ,so the noise was ok since the shipyard closed .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DdalyDalyconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wonderful view from our hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

Generous sized room on the ninth floor overlooking the River Shannon. Decor could use a bit of a touch up but this really provides great value in such a centrally located position. The full Irish breakfast buffet truly sets you up for a full day. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. The location suits just on the new shannon bridge and so gives great access to Bunratty and Shannon Airport in addition to the road from Cork. Parking is offsite but just across the road and if you buy a seven day pass it is very economical at 22 €. If visiting Limerick, I'd recommend this as a stop over.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you really enjoyed your breakfast and that you found all our staff friendly & helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing