We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveller rating
513
451
206
78
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
451
206
78
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river kudos bar tallest hotel car park hen party lovely hotel next morning city centre course meal stayed here for one night great weekend staff were lovely family room friday night enjoyable stay last weekend king john's castle
Filter
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here on one of our stops during a 13 day United Kingdom tour. This hotel is located right by the River Shannon offering a great view of the river to watch the tide go in and out. The building is sleek, tall and modern but the rooms are somewhat small and basic. However, our room was clean and comfortable. The one elevator caused a little traffic jam but everyone eventually got to their rooms. The staff was nice, helpful and friendly. We went to dinner at the Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet so did not eat dinner at the hotel. The breakfast buffed was very nice and good. We had a nice rest and were back on the tour bus ready to continue our journey.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has a view of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the views from our hotel, our river-side location does allow all of our guest experience beautiful views of the River Shannon. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff, we do have a very friendly and helpful team and I’m happy you enjoyed your breakfast before heading off on the rest of your journey; I do hope you had a wonderful time on the rest of your trip. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel recently for a Hen Do! Everyone in the hotel were so pleasant and could not do enough for you, nothing was ever a problem. Restaurant food was beautiful and our lovely cocktails got the night off to a great start. Breakfast was just what we needed before we headed on home! All staff were so pleasant and friendly, thank you to them all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardenHouseCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your 4 start review. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time at your hen party! Thanks for all your lovely comments regarding our food, staff and cocktails, we do have a new cocktail menu which we are getting excellent feedback on. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel does not really deserves the four stars, but the price is also very reasonable, therefore those two aspects are well matched.
Room: spacious and the bed quite comfortable, the bathroom quite old-fashioned and not so comfortable. Clean enough.
Amenities: the pool is far too small for allowing any swim in it. The gym is also very tiny, but well equipped. Normally quite overcrowded though.
Restaurant: poor choice and not cheap.
Personnel: this really made the difference. Very professional and pleasant people, in the hotel, in the restaurant and in the gym.

Room Tip: Depending on the room orientation, one could have either a quite remarkable view on the river Shannon, or a quite less remarkable view on a dump site...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in December for 1 night. We were going to a gig in Dolan's and the hotel's location was perfect, just a 2 minute stroll around the corner. Originally we were given a room on the 6th floor. This room was lovely and had a really nice view but had 3 single beds. When we went back to Reception the Receptionist changed our room without any hassle and even upgraded us to a Superior room on the 13th floor. This room was so nice and had an amazing view over the River Shannon. We could even see the rugby match on the big screen over in Thomond Park! It's in a great location with a car park close by that didn't cost us much to park there overnight. The staff were very polite and efficient. We would definitely stay in this really comfortable hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigriofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed last night and had dinner in the restaurant.

Friday friends menu appeared to be excellent value, deserts lovely but mains very poor. I was surprised as I've had nice bar food there on a visit some time back. Vege was undercooked and cold, and rice + curry powder is not biryani folks!! No meat, curry sauce or vege. I queried this when we got the token "is everything ok with your meal" and was told it was a vegetarian dish. Indeed it was, and it had no vegetables in it, in case for ethical reasons we didn't want to eat them either.
View was lovely for the room, and other than a room service man with our breakfast who was a bit grumpy, the staff were lovely.
Would stay again, but with the selection of restaurants close by, won't be eating there!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ultan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews