We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay for family wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clayton Hotel Limerick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for family wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed one night at the Clarion following a family wedding. The food and service during the wedding reception was excellent. The bride and groom were very impressed also.
The room was comfortable and modern with great views of Limerick City at night.
Breakfast was tasty and there was no rush moving us out of the breakfast room even though people were coming in for Sunday Lunch.
There is a nice gym and pool area as well.
Overall a good hotel with great staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently and am very happy to read that you found the food & service at the wedding excellent. Your positive comments are very much valued. With our hotel being Ireland’s tallest hotel, is does offer some breathtaking views over the River Shannon and great views of Limerick City by night. Thank you also for your lovely comments about our staff, we do receive excellent feedback on our team and I’m happy to know you experienced the same. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    378
    175
    63
    41
See reviews for
184
360
44
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tacoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms and hotel were very nice, comfortable and spacious. Nice workout facility and spa. It had a great view. The food was nice, especially breakfast. It is within walking distance of everything.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thereal253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review. I really appreciate all your positive comments regarding our hotel’s staff, food and rooms. I am happy to read that you had the chance to relax and make use of our leisure & pool facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Clarion is a great little hotel to stay at when staying in Limerick. The views over the Shannon are great, and the location is superb if you want to go out into Limerick city.

Let's face it, most hotels of this type are the same. Rooms are fairly standard, lobby's all blend into one another and the prices are all similar.

But the Clarion stands out due to the staff. They cannot do enough for you and they are all a cut above most hotel staff from the reception staff to the wonderful petite lady who welcomes you for a very good breakfast. William in particular couldn't help us enough with advice, parking and helping with small things like printing out boarding passes and serving us great lunches in Kudos, drinks and booking us in. The young lads who work on reception late at night (didn't get their names) were patient, good humoured and helpful in every way.

In every organisation the staff make the big differences by being great at the small things and the guys here just naturally know how to deal with people.

Despite having family in Limerick and plenty of choice in places to stay, we'll staying at the Clarion from now on.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience mainly due to the efforts of our staff, your positive comments are much appreciated and I will be passing them to the team directly. We are very lucky to have such a friendly, efficient and helpful team working in the hotel and as you said – this can make such a difference to our guests overall experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here on one of our stops during a 13 day United Kingdom tour. This hotel is located right by the River Shannon offering a great view of the river to watch the tide go in and out. The building is sleek, tall and modern but the rooms are somewhat small and basic. However, our room was clean and comfortable. The one elevator caused a little traffic jam but everyone eventually got to their rooms. The staff was nice, helpful and friendly. We went to dinner at the Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet so did not eat dinner at the hotel. The breakfast buffed was very nice and good. We had a nice rest and were back on the tour bus ready to continue our journey.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the views from our hotel, our river-side location does allow all of our guest experience beautiful views of the River Shannon. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff, we do have a very friendly and helpful team and I’m happy you enjoyed your breakfast before heading off on the rest of your journey; I do hope you had a wonderful time on the rest of your trip. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel recently for a Hen Do! Everyone in the hotel were so pleasant and could not do enough for you, nothing was ever a problem. Restaurant food was beautiful and our lovely cocktails got the night off to a great start. Breakfast was just what we needed before we headed on home! All staff were so pleasant and friendly, thank you to them all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GardenHouseCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your 4 start review. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time at your hen party! Thanks for all your lovely comments regarding our food, staff and cocktails, we do have a new cocktail menu which we are getting excellent feedback on. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel does not really deserves the four stars, but the price is also very reasonable, therefore those two aspects are well matched.
Room: spacious and the bed quite comfortable, the bathroom quite old-fashioned and not so comfortable. Clean enough.
Amenities: the pool is far too small for allowing any swim in it. The gym is also very tiny, but well equipped. Normally quite overcrowded though.
Restaurant: poor choice and not cheap.
Personnel: this really made the difference. Very professional and pleasant people, in the hotel, in the restaurant and in the gym.

Room Tip: Depending on the room orientation, one could have either a quite remarkable view on the river Shanno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrEleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in December for 1 night. We were going to a gig in Dolan's and the hotel's location was perfect, just a 2 minute stroll around the corner. Originally we were given a room on the 6th floor. This room was lovely and had a really nice view but had 3 single beds. When we went back to Reception the Receptionist changed our room without any hassle and even upgraded us to a Superior room on the 13th floor. This room was so nice and had an amazing view over the River Shannon. We could even see the rugby match on the big screen over in Thomond Park! It's in a great location with a car park close by that didn't cost us much to park there overnight. The staff were very polite and efficient. We would definitely stay in this really comfortable hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigriofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing