We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for Limerick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I thought this hotel offered excellent value for money. The rooms were of a good quality, clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant service was friendly but could be a little slow at times. We ate at the Kudos bar one evening which was nice. Breakfast was in the room rate and was also of a good quality and selection. Didn't try the pool/spa area but it looked popular. Car park (not hotel owned) is next to the hotel and you get a reduced day rate if you ask the reception to validate the ticket for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FT4Real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I am very happy to read that you believed it to be of excellent value. Thank you for your positive comments on our quality food & friendly staff. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 624 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed here last weekend on a Saturday night- enjoyable but placid stay at this very standardised hotel. Clean and modern but nothing special.View of the river from the window were nice though and the jacuzzi and swimming pol were nice. The breakfast is very basic hotel breakfast material - not worth shelling the extra 13e each for (if you book the night before i think its only 10.50). Staff were friendly and nice and overall its not a bad choice but wouldnt be my first preference for another stay in limerick.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the views from the hotel; our river-side location does allow all our guests’ great views of the River Shannon and I’m happy that you had a chance to relax in our leisure centre. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, we do have a very friendly team, I’m very glad you encountered the same. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from a relaxing weekend in this hotel very friendly staff overall but as i have found in other clarion hotels service of food is quite slow, we dined in the kudos bar on both days of our stay and although the hotel was by no means full food service was slow. at breakfast its a buffet affair and for the late breakfast most items were missing or in the process of being replenished ,for a price between 10.50€ and 13.50€ having to make my own toast and serve myself at a buffet not good value for money. the food was of a high standard and the tea and coffee were both good quality. The breakfast buffet did not have either poached or fried eggs as they had to be ordered sepratly and by the time they came to the table the rest of the breakfast was starting to get cold.all in all the hotel was clean and friendly, would stay there again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a delux room with river views very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magsclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read you felt relaxed after your weekend break with us. Thank you also for your positive comments regarding our staff and our clean, spacious rooms. I am disappointed that you found the speed of service slow in our Kudos lounge and that some items were being replenished on the buffet when you were having breakfast. I will be bringing your comments to the attention of our Food & Beverage Manager to ensure such issues are rectified for future guests. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed one night at the Clarion following a family wedding. The food and service during the wedding reception was excellent. The bride and groom were very impressed also.
The room was comfortable and modern with great views of Limerick City at night.
Breakfast was tasty and there was no rush moving us out of the breakfast room even though people were coming in for Sunday Lunch.
There is a nice gym and pool area as well.
Overall a good hotel with great staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us recently and am very happy to read that you found the food & service at the wedding excellent. Your positive comments are very much valued. With our hotel being Ireland’s tallest hotel, is does offer some breathtaking views over the River Shannon and great views of Limerick City by night. Thank you also for your lovely comments about our staff, we do receive excellent feedback on our team and I’m happy to know you experienced the same. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms and hotel were very nice, comfortable and spacious. Nice workout facility and spa. It had a great view. The food was nice, especially breakfast. It is within walking distance of everything.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank thereal253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your 4 star review. I really appreciate all your positive comments regarding our hotel’s staff, food and rooms. I am happy to read that you had the chance to relax and make use of our leisure & pool facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The Clarion is a great little hotel to stay at when staying in Limerick. The views over the Shannon are great, and the location is superb if you want to go out into Limerick city.

Let's face it, most hotels of this type are the same. Rooms are fairly standard, lobby's all blend into one another and the prices are all similar.

But the Clarion stands out due to the staff. They cannot do enough for you and they are all a cut above most hotel staff from the reception staff to the wonderful petite lady who welcomes you for a very good breakfast. William in particular couldn't help us enough with advice, parking and helping with small things like printing out boarding passes and serving us great lunches in Kudos, drinks and booking us in. The young lads who work on reception late at night (didn't get their names) were patient, good humoured and helpful in every way.

In every organisation the staff make the big differences by being great at the small things and the guys here just naturally know how to deal with people.

Despite having family in Limerick and plenty of choice in places to stay, we'll staying at the Clarion from now on.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable experience mainly due to the efforts of our staff, your positive comments are much appreciated and I will be passing them to the team directly. We are very lucky to have such a friendly, efficient and helpful team working in the hotel and as you said – this can make such a difference to our guests overall experience. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here on one of our stops during a 13 day United Kingdom tour. This hotel is located right by the River Shannon offering a great view of the river to watch the tide go in and out. The building is sleek, tall and modern but the rooms are somewhat small and basic. However, our room was clean and comfortable. The one elevator caused a little traffic jam but everyone eventually got to their rooms. The staff was nice, helpful and friendly. We went to dinner at the Bunratty Castle Medieval Banquet so did not eat dinner at the hotel. The breakfast buffed was very nice and good. We had a nice rest and were back on the tour bus ready to continue our journey.

Room Tip: Ask if your room has a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the views from our hotel, our river-side location does allow all of our guest experience beautiful views of the River Shannon. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff, we do have a very friendly and helpful team and I’m happy you enjoyed your breakfast before heading off on the rest of your journey; I do hope you had a wonderful time on the rest of your trip. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,683 reviews
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,015 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
1,196 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick V94 H6HN, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: £79 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing