We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need, clean & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Everything you need, clean & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Clarion sits right downtown on the river Shannon in Limerick. It is within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and bars. Within the hotel, the rooms are clean and you have access to a gym and pool. Keep in mind for international travelers, you need a swim cap if you are going to swim. The gym hours are only during the day, which stinks if you like to exercise before breakfast or late in the evening. Something else that was useful, the laundry mat is about two blocks away. It is not a self-serve but it is convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river for good scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czematis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our convenient river-side location on the Shannon, It’s great to read that you had the opportunity to relax, enjoying our pool and leisure facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    383
    176
    63
    42
See reviews for
188
362
44
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

really enjoyed the views from the 12th floor room - great views and the bed was great. We had thai bar food an it was really enjoyable; breakfast was good and the staff were friendly, helpful and polite at all times

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayKilkennyDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review. It’s great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. We do receive excellent comment on our panoramic views, our food and our staff and I’m glad to read you had a similar experience, thank you for all your very positive comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here with my son ahead of a rugby game in Thomond Park. The hotel was extremely busy with match goers, hen parties & other guests. Check in was very quick & efficient.
The room was clean, spacious and had everything we could possibly need.
The Asian cuisine served in the bar area was absolutely divine, I highly recommend it.
Breakfast was buffet style and there was something for everyone.
The location is great, staff are friendly & efficient and the price was right. This is an all round hotel catering for any type of visitor.... Solo, couples, families, groups. Would recommend & also return

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mheg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 start review. I am delighted to read your excellent comments from your recent stay with us and that you had such an enjoyable experience during such a busy time. As we are the official hotel of the Munster Rugby Team, we are extremely busy on match days and the fans always create a superb atmosphere around the hotel. I hope you and your son enjoyed your trip to Thomond! Thank you also for your lovely comments on our staff, service and food, our Thai food is extremely popular with our guests, as is our European menu. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had our civil partnership reception in this hotel last September 2013
From the very first meeting with the events organisers to the time we check out day after the big event we were treated with the upmost respect and professionalism .
This hotel and it's staff were nothing but amazing and made our special day a day we will never forget .
We had 165 guests on the day and all agree that the venue was perfect .
The events room itself overlooked the Shannon river which added to the romance of the day .
The events room was beautifully made up with lovely round tables with white table cloths and chair coverings and beautiful centre pieces on each table .
The food was buffet style and was delicious ( though I couldn't eat much with all the excitement ) our guests couldn't stop talking about the lovely food that was served .
The staff couldn't do enough for us and were on hand all day / night to make sure all our needs were looked after .
We had a lot of guests from far and abroad staying in the clarion on the night and they couldn't stop raving about the beautiful rooms they stayed in and many have gone back to the hotel since for a romantic getaway .
We were given the penthouse apartment on the night . Oh my god ! What a romantic setting .
I would HIGHLY recommend the clarion hotel limerick for a civil partnership .
And would personally rate this hotel and staff a five star +

Room Tip: Need no help . Ye got it right !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minniejennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and your lovely comments regarding our staff, venue, food and service. Our meeting & events team do work very hard to ensure all our guests have a delightful experience on their special occasion and the view from our function room, which overlooks the River Shannon, offers a fantastic setting for any such event. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your special day and that our Penthouse Suite added to the romance! I would like to wish you both the best for the future and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here with the gf for a night over the weekend and thought it was very average, and would seriously struggle to call it a four star hotel.

The location is good, five minute riverside stroll into the city centre, although the initial walk from the hotel towards town is past a very unsightly bunch of apartments and empty shop units. Very off putting. The car park is a public multi storey across the way from the hotel and costs about €7 per night.

As for the hotel itself, it was fine. The reception area was standard, bar had nice views across the river. The elevator was unbelievably slow every time we used it. As for the room, it is definitely worth upgrading an extra €20 to a King Deluxe (sounds better than it actually is!!!) for a corner room with excellent views. The room layout is good, although work definitely is needed. But again, the views from the 12th floor were great!

Bathroom small and dated. Beds were nice, walls very thin. Breakfast was poor.

Hard to believe this place has the same four star rating as The Brehon in Killarney or a few other spots I can think of! Would be perfect for stag's/hen's or a night on the beer. Overall, wouldn't rush back really.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks you for your review. Our hotel is very central to the city centre, only a five minute walk from Limerick’s O’Connell Street. The walk along the boardwalk from the hotel to the city centre is occupied mainly with medical practices, dental/eye surgeries, elderly care and special needs offices. These are all operating during office hours and are closed after 5.30pm, even though it may have appeared that these units were unused in the evening time, there is in fact only one shop unit that is currently not occupied. I am sorry to read that you found your breakfast poor; we work very hard to ensure our breakfast offers guests a variety of good quality food and I am very disappointed that you did not experience such on this occasion. Also, we have been experiencing issues with one of our elevators recently, we have a full maintenance contract with our lift company and the elevators have been working without incident for the past 13 years. However, the part needed to fix the elevator this time had to be custom built in Italy and this has taken nearly 6 weeks, the part arrived this week and the elevator is currently in the process of being fixed – this issue has meant that the other lifts were experiencing more traffic than usual and so delays may have occurred. I am glad to read that you liked your room and enjoyed the views from the hotel, our river side location does give our guests picturesque views of the River Shannon. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Unfortunately not quite what we expected from a 4 star hotel. The bedroom we were allocated was quite shabby with a good painting & general make over required. There was also dust in quite a few areas but what worried me more was the blood stains I found on the pillow when the pillow case came undone, more attention needed in the overall cleanliness of the rooms. Food was good both at dinner & breakfast & staff were very pleasant to deal with. The pool area is quite small for such a large hotel but was fine. Overall theres a general rundown feel about the hotel, really not at standards required for 4 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunsterProv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you found your room to be of a poor standard with regard to its cleanliness. This is certainly not the normal standard in our hotel; we work hard to ensure that the hotel is kept very clean and that it is presented well at all times. I have brought your comments to the attention of our accommodation & maintenance teams. Thank you for your very positive comments on our staff and your dining experiences. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I recently visited the kudos restaurant for the tapas on a Thursday night, between us myself and my friends ordered the paella ,grilled prawn skewer ,potatoes and pork and and the mixed meats platter. Firstly there was quite a long wait, 25 minutes had passed before the meal was served! Each dish was as bad as the other, the paella was cold and tasteless and tasted like boiled rice, the prawns were bland and the potatoes and pork were watery and oily! There was no flavour off any of the dishes and the meal didn't taste of anything remotely like tapas! I told the waitress we weren't happy and she sent over the manager who returned the price of 2 out of the 3 meals! Although I was disappointed I have been told other dishes from the bar menu are really good! I however won't be returning for the tapas any time soon!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlumberRyan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience when eating from our Tapas Thursday menu. I would like to sincerely apologise for the delay you encountered with service and the issues you had with your Tapas dishes when you recently visited. We usually do receive excellent feedback on our food and have had great comments on our Tapas menu in the past; it is disappointing to read that you did not experience the same on this occasion. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing