We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good option!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A very good option!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located on the river and as such views from river view rooms are very nice. At night the river bank is lit up as are the bridges and it looks beautiful.

The room we booked was a family room... this had 1 double bed (this was actually 2 single matresses put together!) an two single beds. We were based on the 9th floor, (the highest available for families rooms).

The bathroom was also done to a very high standard. The shower pressure was very good but a shower curtain would have prevented water going on the floor.

I was disappointed to see that the room didn't include complimentary bottled water nor the disposal the slippers which can be found in many hotels.

The bathroom would need a soap tray for putting the soap on.

breakfast was very good and the restaurant is done to a very high standard with excellent views of the river.

check out was very easy but check in was long and drawn out due to rooms not being ready. When I asked for the front of house to check to see if the room was ready, it was miraculously ready.

The parking is discounted at 8.50 euros for the night and is opposite the hotel.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonnyCash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    403
    181
    67
    44
See reviews for
195
378
46
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just returned from a business trip and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is right on the river with great views from the rooms. The rooms are large and light, with super kingsize beds. the only downside was the carpet needed some attention and so did the shower, could only use it on one setting. Breakfast on the included menu was a little basic. The hotel is ideal for the centre. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: pay the extra and upgrade to a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_foulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donard, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Fabulous hotel in the centre of Limerick.
The Asian Cuisine seved in the restraunt was wonderful Had 3 different types on each night of stay.
Rooms are well equiped with Mod TV's including usb port.
Staff very friendly

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking city give fantastic views of River & city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our Kudos Lounge does offer an excellent menu and is extremely popular with our guests, I’m delighted to read that you experienced the same during your visit. Thank you also for you lovely comments regarding our staff, we do get excellent feedback on our team and their friendliness is one of the main reasons why so many of our guests return to stay with us again. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Munster, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went to the Clarion for lunch. The location is beautiful right on our river Shannon. It was very quiet. The staff were both hospitable and kind. We placed our order for the roast of the day. Twenty minutes later no sign of anything and this was a working lunch. I approached the server who was not aware of anything. She went searching and eventually arrived back with our lunch. The plates were cold the chicken was hard and tepid; the veg namely carrots were insipid and dirty and the mash was equally cold. There was neither any apology nor when we were finished were we asked if we liked our meal. My friend paid. I certainly would not have done so. So pass on lunch in the Clarion Limerick!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your recent dining experience with us. The roast of the day is cooked to order and may take a little longer than other menu items depending on the dish on a particular day. I would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced with your meal once you received it and assure you this is not the standard which we endeavour to provide to our guests, we do receive excellent feedback regarding our food and service. I will be bringing your comments to the attention of our team to ensure such a situation does not arise in the future and that our food & beverage team are advising customers on ordering of the amount of time which may be needed to prepare this menu option. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and location. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A modern hotel in an old city but does it well. The view is wonderful and the location is an easy walk to most things. The restaurant is spacious surrounded by windows overlooking the Shannon river and the food is very good. Staff were very accommodating and efficient and the night that the whole group took over the lounge they were STILL nice! Rooms were a good size and comfortable

Room Tip: on a stormy night try for the east side...that wind from the west is powerful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the view and our city centre location, all our rooms have panoramic views over the River Shannon, as does our restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and staff, we do receive many compliments on both. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We only stayed one night in the Clarion, and it was very pleasant. I did take advantage of both the gym and the pool, which is always appreciated during travels. The food was good, and the service was also good, The only drawback when we were there is that they only had one elevator in service for all the floors which made it quite a wait at times, especially if you were not willing to walk up 10 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallysue1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you had the chance to use our Sanovitae leisure facilities. I would like to apologise for the issue with our lift during your stay, we do have a fulltime maintenance contract in place but on this occasion the part needed to fix the elevator is being custom built and we are awaiting its delivery from Italy. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and staff I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Clarion Hotel is a contemporary steel and glass property with just under 200 bedrooms located quay-side, overlooking the River Lee and Cork’s impressive, neo-classical City Hall. Its purpose built meetings and events suites, accommodating up to 350 delegates, provide the city centre with a dedicated MICE hub that connects easily with the airport, train station and socio-cultural life of the city. Clarion is the anchor tenant in a quay-side development that along with one of the hotel’s 3 restaurants also includes two additional restaurants, The Club Brassiere and The Boardwalk. These often combine to provide pleasant water-side dining for larger conference groups. It's an excellent hotel for meetings and events. - See more at: http://padraicino.com/mice-cork-growing-potential-irelands-2nd-city/#sthash.BEGRRwwe.dpuf

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClarionHotelLimerick, Front of House Manager at Clayton Hotel Limerick, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks you for your 5 star review on our Clarion Hotel Cork. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your Meeting & Events experience at our sister property and will pass your excellent comments directly to them. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you to our other properties in the future. Kind regards, Laura McNamara, Front of House Manager, Clarion Hotel Limerick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,495 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,143 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing