We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We had a private family birthday party in the Clarion at the weekend, and several of us got rooms. Although I'm living in Limerick myself we still decided to book in, if only to get the full benefit of the night...a bit of a novelty I s'pose!

I had been a guest at a wedding before in this hotel, which was superb in every way from the decor to the food, and also at another private function a few years ago which greatly impressed everybody in attendance. This weekend was no different, their attention to detail is top notch, and the staff are very helpful.

This was the first occasion that I was to see the rooms. My girfriend and I were delighted to get such a large spacious room, but best of all was the view of the city. We were quite blown away to be honest. Must be impressive for a tourist, but even better for a local! We had breakfast brought to the room, which I have to say was possibly the nicest morning feed I've had in any hotel in years.

All in all, we only had the one night here, but would have been glad to have several more. Pity we only live out the road because The Clarion is a place we'd come back to on a city break. No point in me harping on to visitors about how good a spot Limerick is, but this hotel definately would be a great base from which to explore. This hotel has a very good reputation in the city, and I'm glad to say that it more than lived up to it.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casdertysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stopped in this hotel five years ago and loved it. Came for another stay for 3 nights for the Nortampton/Munter match at the end of January. The room was not as we expected. It was rather small and not like the room we had on our previous stay. After a word with managment (Laura) we were moved to another room for the following 2 nights. This was much bigger and had two lovely views of the river.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel is fairly central to the town and I would recommend a visit to the nearby Dolan's pub - live music, good value for money food and a warm welcome.








taff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My husband and I are just back from a one night dinner and B & B special offer at the Clarion Hotel. Our room was lovely , very clean and comfortable. The set dinner menu had enough variety for both of us and was gorgeous., Even though the restaurant was really busy, the staff were excellent and we did not have to wait long for our food. We did find our bedroom to be very warm which made it a bit difficult to sleep but with such cold weather in Ireland for the last few weeks, complaining about heat seems to be so wrong!!! there was a small queue in the restauarant for breakfast in the morning but we got seated within ten mins and the breakfast food was all fresh and delicious.
overall we were delighted with our stay and we would definitely return and recommend to friends too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadMaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed in the hotel the night of our friend's wedding. The staff at reception were extremely friendly and when i had a problem with my credit card they were very helpful and accommodating. Our room rate was very good, and it included breakfast - the view from our room was spectacular - especially at night when the city lights are reflecting on the Shannon River.
I would recommend this hotel for definite - going to stay in their sister hotel Suites on my next visit and will review in due course (Clarion Suites)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suewap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Stayed here recently for a last minute wedding meal. we were part of a party of 40 to 50 people and we had a meal organised in the hotels restaurant. As this was all last minute a lot of the details were left to the hotel ie we booked the rest for a group and asked for a champagne reception!!! Arrival times, numbers and other such details were vaugely given to the Hotel... So on reflection we shouldn't of of expected much!! However the hotel was brilliant in every way from from arrival to check out the level of service and friendliness of staff was second to none nothing was a problem and no detail was too small.

All in the party loved the food and commented on the care and attention towards everybody in the party from all staff menbers in every department. Also a lovely touch from the manager was to give the penthouse suite for the night!!! Folks if you have one night in limerick stay in this room!!!! perfect for anyone who just wants to staqy in there hotel room for the night1 Well done to all the staff keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thinksink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Though Limerick as a whole was thoroughly enjoyable.
This hotel lacked planning and control.
On both nights of our stay, noise levels (from the function room several floors below) were intolerable and management appeared unperturbed by our complaints!
My Advice is; if you plan on having any sleep while in Limerick, stay elsewhere!
Don't expect a refund for a sleepless night!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Hotel staff were very good and restaurant served very good food but unfortuanately when you avail of B& B+1D offer (which in our case was quite expensive at €85 per person) you have a limited dinner menu. Upgrade costs €40 per couple extra and other than tiny box chocolates and bottle of wine the room was only like other standard rooms. Hotel needs to remodel their hallways to rooms - when you get off lift to your floor you are greeted by unappealing corridors. Overall we had a great time in Limerick but hotel accomodation was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalwayDaisy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,712 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,216 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
899 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick V94 H6HN, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: £77 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing