We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great Value”
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I stayed that the hotel in February with 2 friends. Firstly would like to mention what a great deal we got - B&B and evening diner (4 course) with a complimentary drink for €50 Per person. Bargain of the century. When we arrived at the hotel, the receptionist was very nice and pleasant. And offered us free newpaper and complimentary drinks each with dinner. Our room had 3 single beds which was ideal. Fantastic views, clean and spacious room, with all the facilities youd expect. Dinner that evening in the restaurant was very tasty, and again the views were looking out at limerick city were fabulous.Again breakfast next morning was very well organise with excellent varity available.

We did use the pool,jacuzzi, sauna and steam room which were only ok! but the one downside was the showers and changing rooms were small and a bit manky which was bit disappointing- but all in all we couldnt complain! we didnt leave the hotel while we were there!! Going back again in May for another night away.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeansterIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    386
    178
    64
    43
See reviews for
192
365
46
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork , Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed as a group of seven ladies on a weekend away and I really must say the staff in the hotel were the nicest Ive ever met, they were just incredible. Every single staff member we encountered over the weekend was helpful & smiling! If I could give them six stars I would! The rooms were beautiful & spacious. The beds really comfortable. The meals (breakfast, lunch & dinner) were great value, made with fantastic fresh ingedients and the service was wonderful. The leisure facilities were lovely , clean & not crowded! I couldn't reccomend this hotel highly enough & I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siubhanmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Rooms were lovely and clean and had big comfy beds. The hotel itself was lovely it was their staff that left a lot to be desired. We stayed the night before Valentines so granted it was busy but the waitress in the bar serving food was rude and we were charged twice for all drinks that we got in fairness they did refund but it was a lot of hassle. The receptionist was sarcastic. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a romantic stay they didn't seem to be able for the pressure of a full house.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abitofanoddball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I stayed at the Clarion for a week on business in October 2009 and later for another two weeks in Jan, 2010. Both times they overcharged me. I was told at checkout that there was no manager there so they couldn't adjust the bill and that they would do it later. Right! I'm still waiting...
On the October trip there was a large soccer game in town. One of the rooms had a party until midnight with incredibly loud music. I called the desk several times but they could have cared less. The other's in my group with were awake all night also. One of my top priorities at a hotel is a good nights sleep, and I certainly didn't get it and the staff was of absolutely no assistance.
My company normally uses this facility, but next time I'm going to demand to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Spent one night with girlfriends at the Clarion recently. We got a great deal on dinner, bed & breakfast in twin rooms. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were both of good quality, especially given the rate we paid. We stayed up late in the bar and had a great night chatting, catching up and laughing.
We've stayed before at this hotel and would go back again and again, at the right price, at the right rate, and for the right occasion.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lakecounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

We had a private family birthday party in the Clarion at the weekend, and several of us got rooms. Although I'm living in Limerick myself we still decided to book in, if only to get the full benefit of the night...a bit of a novelty I s'pose!

I had been a guest at a wedding before in this hotel, which was superb in every way from the decor to the food, and also at another private function a few years ago which greatly impressed everybody in attendance. This weekend was no different, their attention to detail is top notch, and the staff are very helpful.

This was the first occasion that I was to see the rooms. My girfriend and I were delighted to get such a large spacious room, but best of all was the view of the city. We were quite blown away to be honest. Must be impressive for a tourist, but even better for a local! We had breakfast brought to the room, which I have to say was possibly the nicest morning feed I've had in any hotel in years.

All in all, we only had the one night here, but would have been glad to have several more. Pity we only live out the road because The Clarion is a place we'd come back to on a city break. No point in me harping on to visitors about how good a spot Limerick is, but this hotel definately would be a great base from which to explore. This hotel has a very good reputation in the city, and I'm glad to say that it more than lived up to it.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casdertysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

We stopped in this hotel five years ago and loved it. Came for another stay for 3 nights for the Nortampton/Munter match at the end of January. The room was not as we expected. It was rather small and not like the room we had on our previous stay. After a word with managment (Laura) we were moved to another room for the following 2 nights. This was much bigger and had two lovely views of the river.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel is fairly central to the town and I would recommend a visit to the nearby Dolan's pub - live music, good value for money food and a warm welcome.








taff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.9 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Hotel Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Hotel Limerick

Property: Clayton Hotel Limerick
Address: Clarion Hotel Dock Road Steamboat Quay, Limerick, Ireland (Formerly Clarion Hotel Limerick)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#8 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clayton Hotel Limerick 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Irelands Tallest Hotel. 4* Hotel with 158 Riverside Bedrooms located in Limerick City Centre. Full leisure centre, 15 minutes from Shannon Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clayton Hotel Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Limerick
Limerick Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing