We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Best Bread in Limerick”
Review of The Wild Onion - CLOSED

The Wild Onion
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American
Description: No longer the popular Cafe, The Wild Onion has a new location and has focused wholly on Bob's baking: breads, cinnamon rolls, sticky pecan rolls, brownies, fudge, cookies, and more to take home and enjoy.
Restaurant details
Description: No longer the popular Cafe, The Wild Onion has a new location and has focused wholly on Bob's baking: breads, cinnamon rolls, sticky pecan rolls, brownies, fudge, cookies, and more to take home and enjoy.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Best Bread in Limerick”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Just WOW to the brown bread.
Just wow.
Just a bakery but they have quite a selection.
That bread. Oh my. Have to have to try it. It's across the Strand hotel so easy access.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Cornbread! Scones! Peanut Butter cookies! Oh my!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Too many good products available here to name. Each day they bake something different so each trip there is something new to try. And then there is the fudge and the peanut butter cookies...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MC_4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a light breakfast to take away”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We popped in here to pick up a couple of bits for a quick breakfast and i am so glad we did. It may not look like much from the outside (or inside for that mater) but the owner is fantastic, very welcoming and gives great service and the food is amazing!

We had a banana muffin the size of a small car, some very good peanut butter and choc chip cookies, all washed down with coffee (free if you also buy food).

There's not much to this place (nowhere to sit and eat) but it certainly left a very happy memory!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blueberryruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bakeshop”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great experience in this little limerick gem, bought a rye bread & a bacon cheddar muffin, coffee to go & they even gave me a cookbook for free, gotta love these guys & gal
Thanks so much Ruth & Bob & Guy

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles75Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yummy Yummy Scones!”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

What is it about homemade baking that makes us all feel good. I havent shopped at this bakery but on two occasions someone brought purchased goods to my house when they visited.

Homemade scones - to die for, and delicious Jam too. So if you are having visitors, or friends call over - treat them to these scones. They'll be very happy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Elgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Onion also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing