We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No flavour”

Absolute Bar & Grill
Ranked #16 of 310 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$53
Cuisines: Irish, Contemporary, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: You don't need to go far to find a great Limerick restaurant because on the first floor of the Absolute hotel you will find the Absolute Bar & Grill which is as vibrant and diverse as Limerick City itself. The ABG as it is known locally, is overseen by Chef Martin Crownan. Martin uses only the finest quality regional produce including Adare Farm ice cream, Rene Cusack seafood and steaks from Noel O'Connor's farm in Ballyneety. In fact Martin can trace the beef right back to the field from which it came. Enjoy a fresh made-to-order lunch daily, served Monday to Saturday from 12.30Pm to 5.00Pm or bring the whole family for Sunday lunch between 1.00-3.00Pm. Our relaxed surroundings are like no other you will find in Limerick City. The atmosphere is inviting, the food and drink lively, with some flair and humour in the presentation. The bartenders have great skills, shaking up perfectly blended cocktails with the city skyline in the background. The ABG has a unique combination of indoor and outdoor seating with the bar flowing into the outdoor terrace where guests can enjoy alfresco dining overlooking the rarely-seen aspect of the pretty Abbey River.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“No flavour”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Had the crabmeat for lunch. It didn't have any flavour. And it was very dry. Disappointing meal. The restaurant has a lovely view of the river though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mari-ocono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    52
    25
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Vegetarian friendly!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have enjoyed the pesto pasta and flat cap mushrooms 2 times during our stay. We also had the amazing bruschetta with tomato pesto, beet hummus.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food was average and service was terrible”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I went here last night with my husband and child. I booked early in the day and the man on the phone told me that there was a table of 50 and 10 in around the same time. I was re-assured that it would not effect the service we would be given. It massively effected the service from start to finish. We had a show to go to and I thought that giving us 1hr 30min would be sufficient time. We constantly had to call a member of staff over to speed them up. We found we couldn't enjoy our average meal because we were so worried about being late for the show. The food was overpriced for what it was. I did mention to the waitress about the bad service when leaving. Will not be back as I don't give restaurants a second chance. I should have stuck with going to Freddie's Bistro where food and service is excellent but wanted to try somewhere new.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ew1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
So first off a big Sorry. There’s nothing worse than trying something new and being let down, I understand that. Poor service and average food do not help to start a night out in a good way.
You’ve given some very clear feedback but I would welcome the opportunity to discuss further and particularly on the average food comment so that I might action. I am happy to call you if you contact me via Donnacha@absolutehotel.com.
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not the best ”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Chips were overdone, as if refried to heat them up. Burger was more like a frozen one rather than a homemade fresh one. I ate here a few years ago and remember thinking the burger was lovely - definitely not this time though.

Helpful?
Thank efcbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, not the best service”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Food is good, decent prices...but the waitress and hostess are kind of rude. Tip: they have a coffee/tea with scone or pastry deal for 4 euro, but it is not available in the morning until around 10am.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Checkers_Domino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Absolute Bar & Grill also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Absolute Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing