We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful break”
other travellers have booked this property
Wood Stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wood Stove
Eco Natural Design
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
68 reviews
Wood Stove
Eco Natural Design
Dining Room
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Living Room
Forest
Swans
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Limerick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lmbarry72
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We spent 3 wonderful nights in one of the luxury lodges over new year. The couple who own and run ballyhoura lodges were welcoming and very helpful. The lodges are gorgeous. Spacious, spotless and fully equipped. A huge open plan kitchen, dining and sitting room with a wood burning stove, gigantic couch and sky TV. There were 3 bedrooms all en suite with the most comfortable beds. We brought our two dogs with us who adored the walks of the area. It was a complete break from it all. There is a discount of 20% for returning visitors. We are booked again for March.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fs434
Bruchsal, Germany
1 review
“Perfect holiday in a perfect ambience”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

After travelling around in Ireland we stayed one week in Ballyhoura Forest Luxury Homes. First thing our children said when entering the house: "It looks nicer as at home." That was a good start already. Everything was just perfect. The accomodation had all the comfort needed - washing machine with dryer included so that we could get all our clothes ready. All the interior was of high quality and we really missed nothing. Mary and John have been perfect hosts and were flexible with late check out in the evening as suddenly we had to leave at night due to a cancelled ferry. We can only recommend this place and we did so with our friends. If we come back again one day to Ireland, we will definitely visit Ballyhoura Forest Luxury Homes again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road23716...
Maynooth, Ireland
1 review
“Great accommodation, location and facilities”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Myself and a group of friends (with small children and a dog) stayed here in September 2016. We found the house to be very spacious, modern, clean and in a great location. There was lots to do, both on the grounds itself and in the nearby village. The kids loved the zipline and swings, as well as lots of muddy puddles to jump and splash in! The walking trails were fab, while us big kids loved the mountain biking. Our hosts John and Mary could not have been nicer and were very accommodating with anything we needed, quick to recommend places to visit and eat.
I would highly recommend these lodges as a great getaway for a group of friends, a family gathering or as a base for a activity based holiday!
We will definitely be back in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities on site and the location.
Liked least: No phone coverage or wifi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances_M...
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in July 2016

John accomodated all my requests, he allowed 2 families side by side, allowed a stay for an unusual date, he allowed us to bring our dog for 25 euro fee, wine and logs provided.Highly recommended, it is secluded but that was what we wanted and you cannot get a phone signal not to mention wifi but again that suited us, but was hard to book horse riding etc.. but that was not Johns issue..we had a lovely holiday and went to caves and donkey sanctuary and the adults only went mountain biking.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal-pip...
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Highly recommended ! We booked three lodges for a big family get together and with the open spaces it suited the family get together meals which was brilliant ! I dealt with John who was lovely and very helpful ! Loads of activates for families in the area we brought bikes and went to the fantastic ballyhoura forest bike trails just a few minutes away and we loved Donnrail park . Kids loved the small zip line and playgrounds ..clean comfortable and we will be back :-)) it's a beautiful part of the country and the houses are a great base to explore !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked 2 houses for a family weekend away. We asked for houses close together and the houses that we received were as requested. First impressions driving in its the recreation areas for the kids. There are plenty of play areas and a zip line. On reaching the houses they exceeded our expectations. We stayed in a 3 bedroom which had 1 room with a double bed and 2 rooms with 2 singles in each. Each room was ensuite. The house was spotless. The kitchen has all of the appliances (modern ) and equipment that you would need (again everything was perfectly clean).
I was very surprised to see that the TV came with the full sky package. It was Ryder cup weekend. It was a very good touch.
I can't complain about any part of the house. It was very clean and had everything anyone could need. I commend the owners (John and Mary)for their attention to detail.
The area is very nice. There is a small wood to wander around. We visited mitchelstown caves and had a great morning. Kids loved it.
We brought the kids bikes and we wish we'd stayed longer to explore more.
To finish I would recommend ballyhoura forest houses to anyone. Whether your looking for a quiet family or adventure weekend (mountain biking) you couldn't go wrong with basing yourself here.
Just a heads up though. There is little or no mobile phone network on site so don't plan on being on the phone which is also a very nice change.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Majestic,hospitable and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great time.the houses are nicely laid out and you feel right at home.john and Mary made the family feel very welcome. We enjoyed the walks and the simplicity of nature. If you want a chilled out getaway this is the ideal getaway.looking forward to the next getaway.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing