We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great night out had”

Brimstone Steakhouse Bar & Grill
Ranked #29 of 298 Restaurants in Limerick
Price range: US$21 - US$32
Cuisines: Irish, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the most amazing and unique cocktails downstairs at the beautiful FIRE Cocktail Bar before you head upstairs to enjoy the stunning views overlooking the Shannon at Brimstone. Enjoy the widest variety of steaks in Limerick, carefully selected from local craft butchers and prepare for one of the tastiest experiences of your life. At Brimstone we specialise in freshness and taste. Every dish from appetizer to dessert will set your pallet alight. #EatDrinkChill #InfuseTheNight
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great night out had”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I went out for drinks for my birthday with my friends and we decided to go to the Brimstone for a quick cocktail!! We were greeted by the manger of the bar and restaurant and he showed us to a booth where we sat all night drinking the nicest cocktails iv ever drank in my life. The barman or should I say mixologist was great craic all night and he even put on a bit of a flare show for some entertainment for us. All of my friends could not get over how we had never came to this cocktail bar before and that we should go for all of our birthdays!! We didn't get a chance to eat here bu in the near future we will be back to try out there mouth watering food we saw here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donaghoshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Guest Relations Manager at Brimstone Steakhouse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for your review. Our Mixologists are experts behind the bar, as are all our staff. Hope to see you for the next celebration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    59
    24
    30
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great entertainment and friendly fun staff!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Visited the brimstone for the "cocktail experience" great atmosphere from staff... Very enjoyable live music. Something different to your average night out. Very enjoyable and great Craic!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CH12188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline M, Guest Relations Manager at Brimstone Steakhouse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for the post. We like to offer something a little different on your night out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rare Scallops !!!very Average Restaurant”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked restaurant for a party of 8, placed our orders . Service was good and very pleasant staff. We didn't get bread or breadstick before our entree. Specials sounded appealing and menu offered a good selection. But there was too manin elements to the menu the chef just couldn't deliver. 4 of the party ordered the starter special- Fish Cake with Scallops What a disaster the scallop. My husband's scallop was cold and another party just couldn't eat it. We told the waiter - she told the kitchen and they relayed to us that they cook the scallops RARE - well that was an interesting comment. I had chicken on shewers with pineapple- the chicken was very average disguised by the marinade. Then i ordered seabass - two generous pieces but again the minute i cut it and tasted it - not very fresh and didn't leave its skin- potatoes were cold. The desserts salvaged the meal and all agreed a very average meal . The restaurant could do with a maitre dee to lift its level. Atmosphere was okay - with music downstairs i asked for our table near window when booking - we didn't get it . Good choices for house wine. It was a shadow of THE Glasshouse its former name. Alot of work needs to be done - menu very wide and deliverance needs to tightened. Work on a smaller menu and better quality. Overall a very disappointed food experience. A 37 Euro gratuity fee added to our meal very steep indeed for a very average meal. I noted other reviews of meal deals - 3 course meal values. We were not advised of this when we started ordering.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Largely disappointing”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

- Nice dining room, good views

- Poor menu. The menu is not very well balanced and a large number of both starters and mains all seem to have the same “Captain Morgans” sauce accompaniment. While this is a nice, sticky BBQ sauce, to have it on such a large number of dishes, from steak, to wings, to salmon, is too much and restricts choices.

- Service wasn't great. One starter dish was sent back yet still remained on our final bill.

- The main courses were adequate but unspectacular.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Eamonn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“false advertisement”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

5 of us went here on Sunday 22nd for a birthday dinner. menu was very good with a good variety on offer. we were seated and offered a jug of water for the table while we read through the menu. this is where the problems started, the water never arrived and we asked a further 2 more times before we got it. the website states value meal available Sunday 2 to 8 we were seated well before 8 but told that this was a "typo" and we had to order from the a la carte. we pressed our point they must honor what they had stated but to no avail. the food was sub par for the prices apart from the dessert which was quite nice. i emailed the restaurant to provide a reasonable explanation why they wouldn't stand by their mistake but although the website has been updated since i have heard nothing directly back. i find this customer service lackluster at best especially with the quality and value offered by the competitor texas steakout. i also have to say that the fact on their Facebook page they encourage positive review posters to write a review on TripAdvisor as-well but they cant find time to smooth things over with people with a less favorable experience is ridiculous.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank philquinn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brimstone Steakhouse Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Brimstone Steakhouse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing