We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great staff & service”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Warm atmosphere thanks to the friendly staff. The facilities were of a high standard and the food was of a good quality. The room was spacious, well laid out and if you are working there is plenty of space for laptop. WIFI was excellent and seamless in all parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryMcG_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    634
    183
    72
    40
See reviews for
538
776
110
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stayed here recently while working in Limerick. Staff were brilliant, room is ultra modern, swimming pool and gym are top drawer, and had a bite to eat in the bar, and again it was good.
Nothing more needs to be said! highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddytrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed in the Limerick Strand Hotel over the Halloween holiday period. We were pleasantly surprised by the family atmosphere at this hotel; we arrived to find a Halloween kids disco in full swing! There was also a kids club at an extra charge of €10 per child which we didn't avail of, but it was nice to have the option. The room was lovely; we had a fold away bed for our second child which took up quite a lot of room, but otherwise the facilities were excellent. The only complaint was the heat, which did start to feel quite oppressive at times despite having the air-con on at full power. The food at the River Restaurant was second to none; the set menu was great value given the quality of the food. We ended up eating there on both nights of our stay as we don't know the city and failed to find anywhere nicer. The breakfast was also great; adequate choice and good quality. We found that we didn't need to eat again until 3 or 4pm after eating our fill at 9 that morning!! The staff were really nice and friendly, and were very accommodating. We also enjoyed the leisure facilities; the family changing rooms were a handy addition that you don't always see. The children's pool was a little bit of a let down; it didn't seem to bother my 2 year old though!! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel - it's great location makes it easy to walk to the main sights in Limerick and it's also only a short drive from Bunratty Castle. We would definitely consider returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcsloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickStrandHotel, Manager at Limerick Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear rmcsloy,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel on your recent visit. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate your family's needs during your stay. We value all feedback from our guests and we are resolving temperature control difficulties in some rooms that we have identified.

We hope to see you and your family again with us in the near future, and we aim to exceed your expectations again on the next visit.

Warm regards

Brendan O'Connor
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish |Highlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

we were privileged to be speakers at a Christian convention in this hotel in November 2011. Our expectations were high after reading the review and we were not disappointed by the standards of cleanliness and comforts we experienced. the food was excellent, but it was the personal touch which the staff, when they served us at mealtimes and at other times, which made this hotel exceptional. They treated us so well that it was hard to say goodbye to them. They became as family.

Room Tip: It has everything you need for a wedding, a holiday or a conference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dabbeag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickStrandHotel, Manager at Limerick Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear dabbeag1,

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. I am very pleased to know that our team was accommodating and personable during your visit. We pride ourselves on providing a warm welcome to all our guests and to the best of our ability ensuring a wonderful stay for all.

We look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Warm regards

Brendan O'Connor
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at The Strand as a family of four--2 adults, 2 older kids. We had a large room with three single beds and a rollaway bed. The room was large, spacious and very luxurious. It had all the amenities. The staff was wonderful--the rollaway collapsed when one of the kids went to sleep and the staff brought up a new bed a few minutes after we called. The hotel is close to the city centre and also made it easy to go outside the city to farther away attractions. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Ireland. Lovely, lovely hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lailasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickStrandHotel, Manager at Limerick Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear Lailasmom,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and for your kind feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate your family's needs during your stay and that you enjoyed the Limerick area.

We hope that you have the opportunity to return to Ireland soon.

Warm regards

Brendan O'Connor
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Only one little bad thing: rooms are too dark with artificial lighting. About everything rest 5 stars, great ambience, very good food (even if very slow service, at minimum 40 minutes to wait!!) kind people, very clean rooms and corridors. Free wifi, free internet and pc room. Very nice conference rooms! Swimming pool and gym are ok. Few things to eat for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrZm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LimerickStrandHotel, Manager at Limerick Strand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Dear drizmo,

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback and have already begun to upgrade the lighting in our guest bedrooms. We are continually looking for ways to improve our guest experience and we embrace all the feedback we receive.

Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warm Regards

Brendan O'Connor
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We were traveling to Limerick to take part in a football tournament and chose to stay in the Strand as it was hosting the function after the tournament. The tournament organisers had agreed a special deal with the hotel for the weekend so we thought it was great value. Reservations were very accommodating with booking more rooms as our numbers grew. The location of the hotel is central and there are nice views of the Shannon and the city. Rooms are very spacious and modern. The hotel is also very modern and well decorated. Breakfast was very good and the food at the function was superb. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,906 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,464 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing