We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best in town bar none”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Garryvoe, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best in town bar none”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Have stayed in Limerick on a number of times but this was my first time at the Strand and great time had. Great location on the river mins from town centre and 10 min walk to Thomond park. Booked the day before and at €65 for B&B&D it was great value. The hotel is beautiful in side and out and the staff so friendly and a great manner. Dinner was great and breakfast brilliant after a night out on the town. The Strand has parking only €6 per night and all you would expect of a 4 star hotel but at a 3 star price. Free wifi with no codes need. The only place to stay in town and book on their web site as I found it cheaper and many great bargains.

Room Tip: Use the hotel web site, also only €40 extra per night for the suites and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,493
    626
    180
    71
    40
See reviews for
522
765
108
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Strand hotel is in a perfect location in Limerick city. I only stayed for one night, but it was great. The staff are excellent, rooms beautiful, location brilliant. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishLouise12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed on a recent business trip to Limerick. I knew from the friendly welcome at Reception that my stay was going to be good, and I was not disappointed. The Strand facilities generally are excellent (rooms, restaurant/bar, leisure complex). I had dinner in the River Restaurant at a great table overlooking the Shannon and served by another of the hotel's friendly and efficient staff (she knew my name when I arrived, without looking at her computer screen - how did she do that?). What a treat in Ireland to be served by well trained staff who take a pride in their job. I was more than a little surprised by the high quality of the food (both taste and presentation) and wine. I had a great night's sleep in a most comfortable bed and an excellent Irish breakfast served (hot) in my room the next morning. What more does one want on a business trip? Oh yes and there was free broadband in my room. When I checked out, the receptionist remembered me and asked if I had enjoyed my dinner in the River Restaurant. And she was asking because she really cared. Well done to the management and team in The Limerick Strand. You get a 10 out of 10 from me for going the "extra mile". I stay in many hotels in UK and Ireland and The Strand is now my favourite.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerciaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the above hotel for a wedding. Everything from the food to the room was superb. I have never had a meal at a wedding like it before. The staff were friendly and prompt. I would heartily recommend this hotel to any couples looking for a wedding venue. Also it's location in the city of Limerick is ideal for shopping, nightlife and a relaxing break away. We will be returning :-)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beemurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed for my graduation ball with friends and family. The deals on accommodation when very good and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. The ballroom was beautiful and the service was impeccable. This was a fantastic experience and we recommend this excellent venue to all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I have just returned home from a memorable trip to Limerick. Myself and family were in Limerick for the UL GEMS Graduation 2012 and we stayed in the Limerick Strand. I had to make changes to our reservation before our arrival and found the staff very accommodating and easy to deal with. Upon arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a very friendly 'Simon' who made us feel really welcome. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and although the rate did not include breakfast we really didn't mind as the food and service was very good. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future and would also recommend it to any of my friends. Fine hotel, well trained and excellent staff, all in all a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Excellent location, just a walk across the bridge to the center of town to see King John's Castle, the Cathedral, the Tourist Info Center, and for shopping and restaurants. Safe environment in hotel, as you need your room key for elevator. Reception staff were very attentive and nice. Since elevators are all glass enclosed, you can see the river and King John's Castle while in them. Rooms are large and colorful. We had a partial river view, as we didn't upgrade for the full view, but we would in the future. We can only imagine that it would be wonderful, as the windows in the bedrooms are almost floor to ceiling, and you get a beautiful panoramic view of the city. Our breakfast buffet was included in the price, and it was an enormous spread with a variety of food for all tastes, especially custom-made omelettes. It was restaurant week in the city while we were there, so we ate at some of the "good" restaurants in town. The River Restaurant Manger, Trevor O'Connor, convinced us to give the restaurant a try when he overheard us inquiring about other restaurants in the city. Therefore, the final night of our stay we ate at the River Restaurant, and the dinner consisted of 3-4 courses for Euro 35, and the food was as good as anything at the so-called "in" restaurants. We weren't disappointed, and my husband says it was the best steak filet he had in all of Ireland. We had a table facing the bridge and the river, and it was beautiful and romantic. The desserts were also very good. The bar area is large and very hip, and again you have a beautiful view. Finally, neither the hotel nor the restaurant disappointed us, and they lived up to the 4 star rating, and maybe deserve a 5-star rating with the pool, gym, and other facilities offered. The only downside was paying for parking, and that comes with staying at a hotel in a large city.

Room Tip: Splurge and upgrade your room so that you have a full river view. When eating breakfast or dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caterina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing