We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the strand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the strand”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My sister, my mum and I recently stayed at The Strand hotel for one night in mid November.

I have to say it was an extremely pleasant experience and the only complaint we had the whole time was how hot the room was. Otherwise our stay was next to perfect.
Greeting on arrival was friendly and efficient & our rooms were lovely and clean. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar around 5pm and were pleasantly surprised when we were offered a complimentary drink by one of the bar staff as apparently someone had recognised my sister from having her wedding there. It was a lovely touch.

Our meal that evening was next to perfect and the staff in the restaurant were so helpful & friendly. My sister has many dietary requirements and the staff handled it brilliantly, in fact it wasn’t even an issue. This is seldom her experience when eating out.

Breakfast the next day was also excellent.

All in all I have to say our experience was wonderful and we will definitely be back.

It was also excellent value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    634
    183
    72
    40
See reviews for
538
776
110
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Strand Hotel a few weekends ago with my boyfriend and we both agreed we will definitely be back. The hotel is luxurious and modern and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We got an upgrade to an amazing room. We loved the private balcony overlooking the Shannon. I just wished we could have stayed there longer. We made great use of the leisure centre chilling out in the Jacuzzi and enjoyed the food in the bar (& the friendly staff) and later just chatting in the spacious lounge area at the front of the bar. Last but not least the breakfast was amazing there was a fantastic choice on the buffet & there was even an egg chef :) it kept me going for the whole day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0zzy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This very modern and luxurious hotel is located directly across a bridge from the city center. Limerick itself was a delight, lots of history and the feeling of being in a city without the relentless traffic and pervasive litter of Dublin. Locals expressed surprise that that anyone would "holiday in Limerick", but we loved the two days we spent there.

The hotel experience was first-class from the check-in through the condition of the room. Very clean, spotless bathroom, comfortable beds. The breakfast was a marvel of efficiency. While it is buffet style, the food is very high quality we indulged in it both mornings. We ordered room service one night and had a decently priced sandwich and dessert. They kitchen mixed up the order and sent a salad instead of a similar sandwich, but they made it right immediately.

Our one problem was a very loud music event going on somewhere in the hotel. We thought it was coming from the room next door, but eventually determined that it was from somewhere downstairs in the hotel. It sounded kind of like traditional music just amplified way too much. It ended promptly at midnight, but we were very tired from our flight and just wanted to go to sleep.

Aside from this minor problem, we found the hotel to be excellent in every way.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NR12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had my stag weekend at this hotel. I must say the staff could not have been more restrained in dealing with us. They politely removed from our table in the residents bar the white stuffed owl that we had stolen from the lobby . At no stage were we met with disapproving looks or comments despite our daft behaviour all weekend. Even though we were a drunken disgrace at breakfast at 7am the staff dealt with us professionally and curteously. Apologies to the mother and infant child that had to put up with our inane giggling. In summary this hotel is about as stag friendly as it gets as is Limerick in general.

Helpful?
Thank Dev & Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over last weekend. This is a lovely hotel. The staff on reception are very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, warm and had tea ad coffee facilities. It was also nice to have a fridge in the room and wine glasses and an ice bucket. Breakfast was great, loads to choose from and again the staff are very nice and helpful. We had an evening meal on saturday night and it was delicious. We had drinks in the bar and lovely cocktails. There is a lovely atmosphere throughout this hotel I would happily recommend it and look forward to a return visit .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernadette48Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Last weekend myself & my partner stayed at your Hotel and without a doubt, it exceeded our expectations in so many ways. Firstly, we had the pleasure of being upgraded to the Junior suite. The room was amazing with fabulous views of the Shannon. We had dinner in the River Restaurant that evening. The service was exceptional, especially Sarah who was a little gem & made sure we were well looked after. The following day we had lunch in the bar & again the food was of top quality. It certainly was a memorable staff, full complements to all the staff in the Strand for top quality service.

Room Tip: The junior suite is of exceptional value...Fabulous view of the Shannon,spacious & very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our schedule didn't allow for much time in Limerick so our visit was brief but very relaxing. We had dinner at the hotel bar.....food was excellent, service was good and the bar area was very nice. Room was very nice, clean and "modern". We would not hesitate to stay there again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,906 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,464 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing