We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Milford, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice location, great room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a lovely room with a partial view of the River Shannon (Ennis St. side). The decor is modern but very comfortable, with plenty of desk space. Shower was very good with decent water pressure...spacious en suite bathroom.

I would've rated this excellent had our room been ready near check-in time. We arrived about 30 minutes early and were told that our room "might" be ready at the 3pm check-in. No big deal. Breakfast was provided as a discount for the 'inconvenience', so all was well. The restaurant, which we only had breakfast in, has a great view overlooking the Shannon.

Anyway, while the hotel doesn't have any shops, pubs, or restaurants in the immediate vicinity, they're only a short walk across the River Shannon. The hotel is also just a brief drive or slightly longer walk to King John's Castle, which was a plus for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,470
    611
    177
    71
    40
See reviews for
514
754
106
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

I was at a private party in the hotel and used the hotel car park.On entering I asked would I pull a ticket and would they validate it on my exit for free parking,they said YES. But when I went to reception when leaving to get my ticket validated,I was told I had to pay €7.A DISGRACE. I have to say it ruined my night.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Churchillmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We chose the Strand Hotel as we were looking for a spa hotel in a good enough location to travel around County Clare. The hotel is in fact conveniently located in the heart of Limerick, by the River Shannon, just a 5 mins' drive from the main road, and an hour from the Cliffs of Moher and the Rock of Cashel.

We had an extremely pleasant stay. The room was big, clean and bright and I loved the colour and overall interiors too. The bathroom was new and included both a bath and a shower.

There is a handy lift that connects the floors (the 2nd in our case) with the spa, pool and gym which are located on -2. The use of all the facilities is free for hotel guests and it is exactly what you need at the end of a day spent walking by the cliffs.

The buffet breakfast at the River Restaurant is very good and you can choose from all sorts of fruits, cereals, jams, honeys, breads, yogurts or you could go for a full Irish breakfast.

All staff, both at reception and the restaurant, were extremely friendly and helpful.

If you are planning on visiting the west/southern part of County Clare and the nearby Counties and you are looking for a great value for money, I highly recommend staying at the Strand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlerea, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had the good fortune to stay at the Limerick Strand Hotel and we would recommend it to anyone visiting Limerick. It is a beautiful hotel with well decorated bedrooms and very comfortable ,duck down quilts and lovely soft pillows which you struggle to find in many hotels. Slept like a log it was so comfortable. The food was absolutely fantastic and the breakfast was of the highest standard . It was quiet and peaceful yet there was a real good atmosphere in the bar area and foyer. The view of the river shannon from the suite was so refreshing and relaxing. The staff were the the nicest we have ever encountered anywhere we have ever been. The girl who was the pastry chef making the pancakes on pancake tuesday was so friendly made us feel right at home and the pancakes were delicious, Peter one of the managers was so nice and accomodating and Sean Foley I think that was his name the deputy general manager was a real gentleman and couldnt do anymore for the guests in the hotel. All the staff in general were the friendliest we have ever encountered and they are a real asset for the Strand Hotel. I could write several A4 pages on the Strand and it would not do it justice it was so wonderful. It is so convenient just walk across the bridge and you are in O Connell Street. Car parking is excellent and safe. We will return to Limerick soon and there is no decision on where we will be staying The Limerick Strand will be the choice and we would recommend it to anyone you will not be dissapointed. P and H

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank POC14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Went to my staff Christmas party here, great big crowd but we all still managed to be treated as well as if we were a small crowd. The night was fantastic. A mulled wine reception, as much as you liked, in a beautiful lobby. The whole place was amazingly decorated for Christmas, it actually felt magical. Had a beautiful meal with complimentary mince pies. The dining room and dancefloor were spacious and perfect for the entertainment. We weren't kicked out until we were ready to. I hadn't booked to stay but i wish I had!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oggyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

I was at a hen party in Limerick and was staying in this hotel, and while the receptionist I checked in with was lovely, when my mother-in-law had an issue with her card key, the receptionist tried to fob her off and asked if she had had it near her phone, then before he would give her a new key, he insisted on checking it as if he didn't believe her. The next day at breakfast there I didn't want to take up a four-person table on my own but there were no other tables with cutlery. When I asked where the cutlery was, one of the staff snapped at me that it was on the table. So I had to sit at a four-person table alone. Then I was waiting about 10-15 minutes for someone to come and take my order for coffee. When it didn't arrive 15 minutes later, I tried to get the attention of passing staff and was studiously ignored. Also a lady asked me if she could take some of the cutlery at my table as she had been waiting 15 minutes to be given clean cutlery. My breakfast was delicious, my room was clean and comfortable, but the staff were so rude and unfriendly I wouldn't stay here again.
Suzy from Dublin

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a fabulous birthday celebration in the Strand Hotel. We booked 4 rooms including a suite and we had a fantastic time. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Amazing view of the river from suite. Hotel Bar buzzing at 2am with a lovely atmosphere. Excellent breakfast service and we got a lovely table for 8 to round off our celebrations. I would highly recommend the Strand Hotel for a girls weekend away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Roisin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing