We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel for a visit to limerick.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Oakland, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel for a visit to limerick.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment we checked in at the Limerick Strand we felt like real guests. The location is along the Shannon River, almost directly across from King John's Castle. King John's castle is a premier location when visiting the area. The only issue we had was the air conditioner/heating system seem to be out of whack. Which seem to be an issue across Ireland. Perhaps the Irish government might seek to employee more HVAC technicians? We found a side window that could be opened, and the room was perfect. Quiet, the food in the pub was excellent and even had live music on one night. It is very centrally located to visiting the city, and it was our favorite destination for our Ireland visit.

Room Tip: If you are in Limerick, the Strand Hotel is an exceptionally good value. Close to everything, and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrBill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,470
    611
    177
    71
    40
See reviews for
514
754
106
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel at the end of March with a group of friends as we were all attending a match at Thomond park and this hotel seemed to be the best Limerick had to offer in view of the price, location and grounds.
We booked 4 rooms, and the reservation team was very helpful and made an effort to keep all rooms on the same floor, and in the same corridor nearly, which was truly appreciated.
On arrival, we parked in the adjoining carpark, which was not free, but convenient (the hotel offers a special guest rate of €6).
We were checked in quickly even though there was a wedding, and were not disappointed when getting to our rooms as they were modern, cosy and very spacious. Great bed, big flat TV, big desk, and cool armchairs; we really loved the theme/decoration of the room!
As we were attending the Munster/Treviso match, we decided to have our meal at the hotel; the food was nice and reasonably priced. Thomond park is only 10-15 minutes' walk from the hotel, which is really convenient and saves the bus/taxi fare.
After the match, we went out and again the hotel was only 10 minutes' walk from the town centre.
After all this, we had a great night's sleep at the hotel, the room was ever so quiet, and the breakfast on the morning after was really good, if only we could have had more! We arrived 20 minutes before they stopped serving breakfast, and the breakfast buffet was not really replenished and we missed out on a lot of the continental and cooked delicacies. We ended up having a -great but sparse- Irish breakfast, and the only complaint would really be that it would have been nice if they had carried on replenishing their breakfast stations until at least 11am as it was a Sunday and most hotel would expect their guest to show up that little bit later.
Overall we had a great stay, and while the hotel is a little bit pricier than some other hotels in Limerick (Jury's Inn or the Best Western), it is of much better quality and is in a much nicer location.
Great hotel, great staff, great stay!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a river view as it was nice to be able to look into the river when in the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location.
Its right on the shannon but on the north side and far enough from the town to be quiet but close enough to make everything accesible.it has a private secure car park, free wifi throughout.
The rooms are smart, well equiped and quiet and the bed very comfy.
I ate from the bar menu and the risotto was very good and the chowder even better.
If you face the river and walk to the left follow the road oposite the castle you will reach a very nice little pub, i was told afterwards that the seafood menu is excellent. I stopped for a drink and it seemed very friendly, much beeter than some of the town pubs in Limerick.
Hotel breakfast was very nice, with a good buffet and a chef cooking omlettes / pancakes to order.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: I think that they are all nice, i heard people comparing at breakfast and all seemed good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west of ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed in this Hotel from 31st March until 3rd April for Business. I would like to compliment the staff at Reception who could not have been more helpful as I needed there assistance on numerous occasions and nothing was too much for them. So professional and efficient. The rooms are well maintained but for a treat I would recommend you book the Junior suites with Balcony over looking the River Shannon beautiful views. A short stroll over the bridge brings you into the heart of Limerick City or a ten minute walk from Hotel is Thomond Park heart of Munster Rugby.

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siomha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dexter, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I were booked at the Strand through a package purchased on Groupon. Of the three hotels we stayed in, it was definitely the best. We took the 40 euro upgrade to a Junior Suite and it was well worth it. We had an enclosed balcony with views of the city centre and the River Shannon. We could see King John's castle as well. The room was very large in itself, with a well appointed bath that had two sinks, a nice shower and a soaking tub. Everyone we came into contact with at the Strand was very helpful and courteous. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend a junior suite with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graiguenamanagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed overnight again in this wonderful Hotel, the staff are lovely and the room and leisure centre are first class, near the city centre and all other amenities, very well priced, and the breakfast is to die for.

Room Tip: Always had a room overlooking the bridge and city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank finnybol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Strand Hotel on Saturday 12 April, the rooms are fabulous and the breakfast was first class. The staff are so helpful and friendly. We stay at the Strand Hotel whenever we are in Limerick. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing