We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I travel for a living and I liked pretty much everything about this hotel. Great location, excellent hotel staff, super quiet, great views of the city, great bar, good value, etc.... I will definitely be back when I'm in the Limerick area. Go have a pint in the hotel bar and say hello to Joe for me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,688 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Ask for a junior suite...breakfast is included and you'll get an enclosed balcony with a river view. Lovely! Walking distance to town shopping and some good restaurants and pubs! King Johns castle which is a five minute walk is a must see!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

stayed here on a room only basis in April. Grand hotel with well equipped rooms (complete with shower and bath!). Didn't get breakfast but bar food was nice. Bar staff and check-in staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently had the opportunity to stay at this hotel, and the experience was just fantastic!
The staff is one of the friendliest, knowledgeable, and professional you could find, especially Julie Moscone, the Front Office Manager. She and her staff made every extraordinary effort to make my family and I feel as comfortable as possible during our stay.
The breakfast buffet is included on the room rate, and is just perfect, with a complete line of hot and cold items. You can also order a la carte omelets.
The hotel has a rather good location too, at walking distance from the city center, with lots of pubs and good restaurants around.
I definitely found a home in Ireland!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a family room overlooking the river. View is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francisco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

we stayed in a superior king room with our two boy(1 &4) and it was a great place to stay, new hotel , comfortable beds, nice pool, lovely breakfast and the manager Sean was lovely to deal with, It is very central just walk across the bridge and you are in the city centre, breakfast was delicious,
all in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

What this hotel had to offer was simply splendid. Its location in the centre of the historical town of Limerick was perfect for what we planned to do and the facility itself was impressive. The many lounges served their purpose by giving our school group an area to hang out instead of only staying in our rooms. There was a wide array of traditional buffet breakfast foods served in the clean, large dining area. Every night the hotel was enlightened with live music and happy staff members. The rooms were properly maintained and never once was there a problem.

Room Tip: Some rooms have significantly a better view than others. Ask for a river/town view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutdoorLife16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment we checked in at the Limerick Strand we felt like real guests. The location is along the Shannon River, almost directly across from King John's Castle. King John's castle is a premier location when visiting the area. The only issue we had was the air conditioner/heating system seem to be out of whack. Which seem to be an issue across Ireland. Perhaps the Irish government might seek to employee more HVAC technicians? We found a side window that could be opened, and the room was perfect. Quiet, the food in the pub was excellent and even had live music on one night. It is very centrally located to visiting the city, and it was our favorite destination for our Ireland visit.

Room Tip: If you are in Limerick, the Strand Hotel is an exceptionally good value. Close to everything, and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrBill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £84 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing