We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I have used this hotel for a number of times for business and it always delivers a high level of customer service for us. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable! The food we had for dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. We both had the rib eye steak which was perfectly cooked and the pepper sauce was delicious with beautiful creamy mash. Starters and dessert were also delicious and the service was first class. Will always bring my business back to this hotel !

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank PB2Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,502 of 2,713 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We arrived at the Hotel at 12.30 am, very tired having endured a changed flight time which mean we got into Shannon very late, had to pick up a rental car, drive an unfamiliar car on unfamiliar roads to a place we had never been before. Got there, finally and the staff were great. We had a wonderful, airy, spacious room with a closed in balcony which was perfect for morning coffee and relaxing. The breakfast was exceptional with a chef on hand to produce freshly cooked eggs and also to make your own choice of omelette - always a good sign. Tom Flavin, the Head Chef had that week won yet another award and it was richly deserved. We only had time for one evening meal and it was just first class. Only thing which has reduced my rating from 5 to 4 was that the pillow cases did not fit leaving the pillow inner very visible and a bit uncomfortable. The bed linen and towels were also well used, somewhat tired and really needed to be replaced. Their quality did not match the rest of the hotel but other than that, we will certainly be back. For rugby fans, it is an ideal place to stay if you ever find your team is away to Munster at Thomand Park.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and airy. Superior rooms are excellent but if you want the best, go for a Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

we stayed there 1/5/14-5/5/14 in a executive room.The hotel was lovely,the staff attentive and attentive although the hotel was very busy,the food was great especially the breakfast.The only downside was the executive room it was not good value for the extra cost we thought we getting a river view but it was side on and distantthe only benefits we could see from the upgrade was firstly slippers and a bathrobe,sand access to the executive lounge,a nice areabut much too warm the hot water was tepid at best

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STORMONTGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

recently attended a wedding reception in your hotel, the manager was less than useless ringing a bell like an old school headmaster. Then came the food, unseasoned and bland with the main course cold and overcooked, as for the coffee I like mine in my cup not the saucer. The wedding itself was great with a stunning bride and groom but the whole experience was let down by the lack lustre food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed in the Strand Hotel with my family for a couple of nights recently during the Great Limerick Run, and found it to be a nice hotel, with fantastic public areas, good bar food, friendly staff, and a good location. I found the facilities could be better maintained though, especially the pool / changing rooms areas. The carpets in our room also looked like they could do with a good clean, and we found a shoe under one of the beds! Good Wifi, and plenty of secure parking, though you need to be aware that this costs extra. Breakfast is very expensive, and we found it far better value to have breakfast at the hotel just over the bridge on the Limerick city side. Overall, I was happy with it, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandWharton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was at the Limerick Strand on business, the hotel is nice and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The location was central to town with easy parking and access.

The lobby bar was nice as well, good crown and decent wine list.

Room Tip: My room overlooked town and the bridge, the noise level was non-existent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorij1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Lovely hotel, very big and comfortable rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful. Location is central. Lovely views of the river. Car parking reasonable price and you can stay parked there for the full of the day you check out. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £83 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing