We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Won't get a good nights sleep if your room is over the bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Won't get a good nights sleep if your room is over the bar”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel. First night was ok because of jet lag. Next night could not sleep. Our room was over the bar and loud voices were audible from our room which was on the floor above the bar. We called down to the front desk three times. The last call was made at 4:30 AM and they said that the party was just breaking up!!!!! At 4:30 in the am it is disturbing the peace. We did not get any slept and we were with CIE tour and needed to be up early. Did not get the wake up call but we did not need it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1315linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,472
    613
    178
    71
    40
See reviews for
515
754
106
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located on the banks of the River Shannon, just outside Limerick city centre, the Strand Hotel is ideally located to explore the city and the wider area. We used this as a base to explore along the West coast (Burren, Ailwee Caves, North/West Clare) and the city itself.

It's a modern hotel, that's well kept with helpful staff. The Executive Lounge on the fourth floor is a nice touch as is the breakfast room (coffee/tea, cereal, toast available at no cost) on the fifth floor. The pool/gym area tends to be a little busy as it's open to the public. The restaurant and bar area are also quite good, although care is needed when the bill is presented as mistakes can happen.

Overall it's a lovely hotel, but a little on the pricey side. There is on-site parking but this costs €6 per day for residents, which is a little cheeky considering the price charged for overnight accommodation! Hence 4 stars rather than 5 for the review.

Room Tip: We stayed in "river view" rooms which are to the side of hotel, but with a nice view of so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling-Ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haltwhistle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

we stayed here one night, everything you could possibly want.,Good food and very friendly staff
would stay again if we are in the area. The choice of restaurants was a good and the food was excellent I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: there is a lift from the car park into the hotel we found it when leaving
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mar1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, PA, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This modern hotel, comfortable and quiet, was a welcome rest our first night in Ireland.
It is near Shannon airport, St. John's Castle and other interesting historical sites. Full hot and cold breakfast buffet in the morning was quite a treat. I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CindyKingston_PA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently had a family dinner at the Limerick Strand Hotel, the food was excellent and the staff and service very pleasant,and understanding.
The menu choice was very good with a wide variety of dishes available at very reasonable prices.
The overall atmosphere and experience was very good, and I would reccommend a visit for dinner when you are in Limerick.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for three nights with several family members,we booked a superior room but were disappointed to find it had a connecting door and we could here our neighbours talking clearly,the beds were comfortable but we thought the room a little small for its superior status,we had a lovely dinner in the bar,the staff there were very attentive and efficient,we found having to track down three flights of stairs to the loo when having a drink in the bar a little much,we had an elderly blind aunt with us so found going back to our rooms a better option,why are the bathrooms so far from the bar especially in such a modern hotel?other than the room and loo issues we had an enjoyable time here and in Limerick City.

Room Tip: Dont pay too much for a superior room not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eily18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Undoubtedly the Strand Hotel should be at the top of your list when you choose accommodation in Limerick. The views from the rooms overlooking the city are wonderful. The city center is a short stroll across the river. The rooms are superbly comfortable. The restaurant offers many selections to delight a gourmet diner including the option of selecting two or three creatively prepared courses in an attractively priced fixed price menu. The staff is uniformly wonderful, friendly and truly interested in making your visit special. One of my colleagues opted for a room with access to the executive lounge and this choice was a good value for a slight upcharge. The business center is comfortable and open to all. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Depending on rates at the time of your visit, consider the slight upcharge for a room with access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomHustad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing