We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Limerick Strand hotel the night before my wedding with my sister so that we could have some "quality time". I booked a junior suite which overlooked the river Shannon and was extremely spacious. We ate in the bar and both the service and quality of food was superb. The following morning the management sent a champagne breakfast to my room which was enjoyed by the make up artistes, hairdresser and my family. I would highly recommend spending the extra money on a junior suite as having seen the double room my sister booked there is no comparison as regards space.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vonniemacmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,464 - 1,470 of 2,716 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Limerick Strand Hotel was excellent. The staff was super, the food, especially breakfast, was outstanding and the rooms were large and clean. We would stay here again. Elevator service was plentiful and efficient.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mkraus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel deserves its four stars. The staff are so efficient and friendly. Food good. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Recommend the executive floor where we always stay. Lovely views of limerick city. Near to King Johns Castle which is worth visiting for ten euros. Well managed hotel, no faults at all to be found here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank campers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel. First night was ok because of jet lag. Next night could not sleep. Our room was over the bar and loud voices were audible from our room which was on the floor above the bar. We called down to the front desk three times. The last call was made at 4:30 AM and they said that the party was just breaking up!!!!! At 4:30 in the am it is disturbing the peace. We did not get any slept and we were with CIE tour and needed to be up early. Did not get the wake up call but we did not need it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1315linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Located on the banks of the River Shannon, just outside Limerick city centre, the Strand Hotel is ideally located to explore the city and the wider area. We used this as a base to explore along the West coast (Burren, Ailwee Caves, North/West Clare) and the city itself.

It's a modern hotel, that's well kept with helpful staff. The Executive Lounge on the fourth floor is a nice touch as is the breakfast room (coffee/tea, cereal, toast available at no cost) on the fifth floor. The pool/gym area tends to be a little busy as it's open to the public. The restaurant and bar area are also quite good, although care is needed when the bill is presented as mistakes can happen.

Overall it's a lovely hotel, but a little on the pricey side. There is on-site parking but this costs €6 per day for residents, which is a little cheeky considering the price charged for overnight accommodation! Hence 4 stars rather than 5 for the review.

Room Tip: We stayed in "river view" rooms which are to the side of hotel, but with a nice view of so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling-Ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we stayed here one night, everything you could possibly want.,Good food and very friendly staff
would stay again if we are in the area. The choice of restaurants was a good and the food was excellent I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: there is a lift from the car park into the hotel we found it when leaving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mar1348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This modern hotel, comfortable and quiet, was a welcome rest our first night in Ireland.
It is near Shannon airport, St. John's Castle and other interesting historical sites. Full hot and cold breakfast buffet in the morning was quite a treat. I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CindyKingston_PA_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,216 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £83 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing