We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only for view and design”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Came here with my partner for a meal in the restaurant, which the strand really had done a lot bragging about on their website and in brochures etc. I ordered fish and wasn't given a fish knife. The food was decent but far below what we expected. Went into hotel bar afterwards with the hope of a quiet drink. Television was blaring and there was a seedy drunk man sauntering around the bar who should have been thrown out straight away. Its really a shame because the design and coziness of the bar is very appealing and there's an outdoor terrace with a view of King John's Castle and the Shannon. Overall hotel style and design is good but service and food could do with a rigourous overall...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed here recently with my husband on a trip from Dublin. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is about 2 minutes walk over the bridge to the city centre - so it is in an excellent location. It's a modern hotel, with a nice foyer, glass lifts and overlooks the river Shannon. The rooms are quite large - with comfortable beds and good sized bathroooms.

We didn't eat at the hotel as we were heading to a barbeque on the Friday evening - but we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast experience. The staff were very friendly and accommodating - and I love to see a chef on duty ready to make you an omelette or freshly fried/poached eggs to suit. The range of fruit, yogurts, meats and cheeses in addition to the hot buffet was really excellent.

The sun was shining, the city was alive and a great buzz - I would recommend this hotel to families and couples - or groups of girls travelling to Limerick. The only disappointing thing was that the spa has recently closed! The other facilities are great.

Room Tip: Choose a sunny room overlooking the river - even if you have to pay a small supplement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hellie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. The food was excellent, staff extremely attentive, friendly relaxing atmosphere . The rooms are large and the bed is soo comfy!! Was delighted we chose the strand for our stay. Looking forward to returning there

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Choinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and found the hotel to be very comfortable, clean and a great location.
Just a short walk to cross the bridge into town or to walk along the River Shannon. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, with a good selection of meats and cheeses, along with the hot selections. We did not have lunch or dinner in the restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trixie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Strand hotel and booked a double room for three nights. The room was overlooking a main road which lead to a lovely bridge over the river Shannon. The hotel itself is very modern and well designed with a glass elevator which you can enjoy a lovely view of the river and the city. The staff were lovely and very helpful. The pool was great, as it had the same depth in the main pool. The large jacuzzi was very warm and relaxing. The Liscannor stone tiles around the pool floor were fantastic as they were not at all slippy and looked clean compared to other hotel pools.You could see your wet footprint on the dry ones which was fun. I rooms were clean and comfortable and the shower was large enough to fit two!! Lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom overlooking the river....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a junior suite on level 1 and it was simply amazing. Staff were great, food was lovely, hotel was spotless and the suite was amazing. In a great location, town is literally across the bridge. The hotel is so comfortable and modern. I would definitely recommend booking a suite, it is well worth it with access to executive lounge. Such an enjoyable stay. Cant wait to return!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Ylally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

ive stayed here for two months and counting and the stay has been very good.
the location just beside the river is excellent, the town is just a bridge away, that way its not to far and still separated from its hustle and bustle.
the room set up is nice, wifi is good, u have to log in tho, the TV channels are pretty standard, am happy i was able to watch some of the world cup games from my room. they have a lounge where u can relax and set up coffee, excellent idea. bar and resurant are great, there is also a gym, pool and saunas..awesome
a few cons here and there tho
*the bedside plug is taken up by a lamp and the socket is different so u cant use it to charge your phone or laptop. i work from the bed at times and batt runs out.. they gave me an extension fro this atleast
*dont know why but the HDMI port to the TV dint connect to the laptop. usually like using it to watch movies in stead of using my laptop screen
*for a long stay customer id appericiate if they put in a microwave in the lounge, that way i can heat up a late night pizza or something
*again if you here for more than two months loundry get quite expensive. soem hotels ussually have a small access controled loundry room with the machine and a dryer.

other than that... i am doing this review from my hotel room, two months down two to go... :-)

Room Tip: pick a room with the road view or the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Moses M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £88 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing