We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience all the way round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 November 2008

I had the pleasure of staying in this great holel earlier this month, the experience was outstanding from once i arrived to when i left. The rooms, Food and of course the bar were better than i expected

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank irishguyinphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,494 - 2,500 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2008

Stayed in this hotel in early Nov 08 and I have to say the rooms really are fantastic and as for the bathrooms - it's like a spa!! Couldn't recommend The Strand Hotel highly enough and of course the Rugby team stayed there for the last match so I guess you'd never know who you'd meet!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuddles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

I had the great pleasure of staying three nights in the New Starnd Hotel in one of Limericks Finest Locations,Fab, Secure underground Parking (Great especially in Bad Weather), Fast Lift to the reception area where a very efficient polite member of staff checked me in despite a very busy reception area , a good sign! I took the well appointed lift to my room on the higher levels , The room was wow! I had a enclosed Air conditioned Balcony over looking Limerick city & The Shannon River.The Room had a very comfortable double bed with wonderful Duvet and Pillows to die for.
There was also a very modern red leather sofa infront of this very Large flat screen T.v.The Room was so comfortable that I wasnt sure if I actually wanted to leave it ! I dined two evenings in the hotel food was excellent with a great choice of menu.

The bar had a good atmosphere and was spotless, and the Pint wasnt bad either.I used the Swimming Pool for the three mornings of my stay , Very Clean and well maintained.

All round a Great Stay stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GalliamhAbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I recently stayed at Limerck Strand Hotel for the Munster/All Blacks game on 18th November. From beginning to end, my reservation was handled perfectly. I booked directly with the hotel and my booking was handled with a high level of professionalism. On check in, even though the hotel was extremely busy with the All Black team and crowds of people converging there before the game, we were again handled quickly and professionaly and given a full explanation of the hotels facilities. THe atmosphere in the hotel was second to none and every staff member that we encoutered was courteous and polite and nothing was a problem. Given the occassion that was in it, we partied late into the night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ELyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Was in this hotel on the sunday and monday of a long rugby weekend in limerick had to stay on a friends couch in limerick on the tuesday as the place was fully booked.
A great spot only a stones throw to the city and all of its watering holes definitely recommend clohessys bar and the white house as places you should visit.
The place was hopping for the munsrter new zealand match and I even got my photo taken with Daniel Carter as they were staying in the Hotel.
Fine leisure centre and spa and a large underground carpark with access to the hotel reception.
Rooms were top notch but corridors were very very warm not sure what was going on thankfully there was air conditioning in the bedrooms. They let breakfast run late at the weekends which is great eventhough a little busy but a good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice and natural orange juice.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dunnersjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

Myself and my 3 friends have just returned from a weekend break in the Strand Hotel In Limerick. The rooms were lovely very clean and warm . The bar food was excellent. We eat there the first night and on Sunday afternoon. We ate in the restaurant on the Sat night and the food was great. I have however two complaints. The first is the car parking fee. Normally this would be wavered for hotel guests. The second is that normally an imprint of your credit card is all that is needed to charge food or drinks to your room, however if you wanted to do this you had to pay cash to reception in advance.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MimiCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2008

I recently stayed in the strand hotel and found it excellent. When we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. When we opened the door I was struck by how big the rooms were. The bed was large and very comfortable. There was plenty of desk space and a nice comfy chairs to relax. The bathroom was nice and spacious and the shower was very refreshing. The tv had many of the basic channels e.g. RTE, BBC1 etc. The hotel bar was really nice and the staff very friendly. I did not get a chance to try the food in the bar but it looked really nice. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant and I must say it was delicious. The hotel was situated in a perfect location only a 2 min stroll to city centre.

Internet in the room was quite expensive at €20 for 24 hours. Along with the €5 car park per night does add up. I think these additions should be offered free to hotel guests.

I would defo reccommend staying at this hotel and hope to get a chance to return in the near future. An all roun excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CorkJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,986 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
859 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £88 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing