We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel convenient to downtown Limerick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel convenient to downtown Limerick”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in July. Location was perfect. You cross the Shannon River bridge and you're downtown Limerick. Close to the pedestrian mall, milk market, restaurants and shops. It's a lovely hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was exactly as pictured on their website, no surprises. Rooms were very nice, shower & tub, air conditioning, comfy beds/pillows, refrigerator and tea/coffee available in rooms. We did not use the pool. Most pools in Ireland are open to public memberships. You also need to wear swim caps. We did have a drink in the bar overlooking the river. Paid 6 euro a day for parking. The underground parking garage is right next to the main entrance and you can access it from the hotel. We did day trips to Adare and Cliffs of Moher. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Shannon River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,491
    625
    180
    71
    40
See reviews for
521
765
107
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August. It is modern with lots of seating areas to sit around and chat. staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was very good ( we had dinner and breakfast)
Breakfast was of a very high standard with a choice of fruit toppings, breads and jams but go well before 10am on weekdays as all is cleared away shortly after 10am.There is a great leisure centre with sauna and jaccuzi. It is a very short walk across the bridge to the city centre. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room with a view of river, but put air conditioning on as rooms are very warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 943MaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed just one night and picked this hotel because it was close to the Shannon Airport which we were flying out the following day. It was a good pick for that reason and also because it was a large, nice room which was on the 5th floor and a beautiful view of the city. It was centrally located and walking distance to King John's Castle and downtown shops & restaurants. Also it was nice to have free Internet and get up to date before we headed home.

It started raining that evening and since we were very tired from traveling the past 2 weeks we decided to stay in and eat in the hotel restaurant. They had a tour group in the restaurant that night with a buffet, but were able to sit us in the bar area with the full menu. The food was pretty good. Not much of a wine selection, but we still ordered a bottle of red. Breakfast buffet in the morning was good as well.

Not too much to see in Limerick, but a good overnight stay especially if you travel in and out of Shannon Airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnaDeClemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My family and I stayed here August 2014. Two adults and two children.
Good sized bed for the adults, one single bed and one of those fold out beds. Our youngest didn't mind the fold out bed.
According to Georgina Campbell this hotel offers the best breakfast of any hotel in Ireland 2014. I don't know what benchmark she is using but she is very, very mistaken. It's average hotel fare.No better, no worse. In future I'll take her guides with a large pinch of salt. Stick to TripAdvisor for real reviews.
Breakfast aside, this is a relatively new hotel. Clean and comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Very good location in Limerick City centre. I would say it's a central location, yet quiet. You won't be kept awake by noise outside. Also of note the rooms have air conditioning. So you won't be too warm in bed at night. You will pay for parking, but it's not excessive.
I almost forgot the WiFi. It was erratic in our room. The reception in our room was very poor. Which was unfortunate. I needed to keep an eye on work, but had to leave my room and go to reception to get a reliable connection. I would regard myself as tech savvy and would say with a degree of certainty it was the hotels setup which was lacking.
All in all I wouldn't dismiss going back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank someguyinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Wow such a beautiful room, modern and large. There was a safe, fridge, iron, kettle and air conditioning. We had a Queen bed which was very comfortable. There were extra pillows and blankets in the room.

The restaurant was very good, loved the BBQ Chicken Pizza and breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had a lovely stay, centrally located, walking distance to restaurants and historic sites. Mr. John Kelly took the time to show us the view from the top floor - a wonderful perspective of the city. Reasonable rates, and many choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huntington beach ca
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our room was wonderful. We upgraded to the junior suite with the enclosed balcony and it was worth every penny and then some. We had great views of the river and the city across the river and on the balcony could see King Johns castle. The TV did not work at first but they came right up and fixed it and really who goes on vacation to watch TV? The location was within a 10 minute walk of everything we wanted to do and every where we wanted to eat so a nice central location. Not so sure I would want to go to Limerick again but if so I am DEFINITELY staying at the Strand.

Room Tip: Get a jr suite and be sure to request a balcony as they have 14 jr suites but only 10 have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fishtacomagazine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing