We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Happy with this hotel”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

We had this hotel pre selected as part of a package deal to visit Ireland from Wisconsin. We were somewhat concerned after reading a few reviews. My wife and I had absolutely no complaints during our three night stay at this truly 4 star hotel. We really loved the free internet access and had no problems at all with it the entire stay. You get a daily password at the reception for the internet. Our package included a free Irish Buffet breakfast each morning and even though it was the same thing every day it was plentiful and their service was outstanding.
They had a very modern design through out the building, the bar area was very nice with good food. They has a great view of the city from the top floor. Remember to bring a swimming cap if you plan to use the pool. Which is actually part of an entire spa and small gym. Very Nice. Parking was reasonable at 5€ per night and very safe underground the hotel. We never felt uncomfortable walking out side the hotel over the Shannon River bridge into the town center at night. They have an in room safe to keep you passports etc. This was my first trip to Ireland and glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packerdave99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    624
    180
    71
    40
See reviews for
521
764
107
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2009

My boyfriend and myself stayed at the Strand for valentines weekend. Fantastic hotel at a fantastic location. Hotel is situated c.a. 2 mins from o'connell street which is main street in Limerick. Although it is central, it is a quiet and safe area. Our deal included 2 nights b&b plus one evening meal so we had dinner at the restaurant on valentines night. Meal was fantastic. Greeted with glass of champagne and brought to our table which had lovely night view of limerick city and shannon river. Meal was top notch and very nicely presented. Boyfriend had beef which he commented was nicest he has had in long time... which says a lot because he loves his steak!!! I had chicken which was divine. Hotel rooms were very spacious and comfiest beds ever...Bathroom has bath and large modern power shower! Bar down stairs is very funky and also friendly. Barman kindly turned up volume on plasmas so we could watch rugby match! Bar also has live music in evenings. There is not a whole lot to do in Limerick except for shopping so was nice to chill out in bar, which serves food all day. Breakfast in restaurant was great. If you do not like a fry every morning also has cereals, croissants, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and other preservatives etc.

Cannot say enough about hotel. Staff are friendly and organised and waiting staff in restaurant are very courteous and polite. I used gym which was very modern and equipped with everything you need. Will definetely return and make use of spa!!!!Cannot comment on pool, sauna etc but would reccomend hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dirtyminx2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2009

A great good choice for business people. Very nice ambient, great location, some rooms have a wonderful view on the river Shannon and the city. I had high speed wi-fi in my room. Huge breakfast available although the quality was not terrific. But food in Ireland is generally low-quality (except for meat) so The Strand must not be worse that other places. On the contrary, I guess.

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Joko-BXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

good hotel in an excellent location over the bridge to clohessys what more could you ask for in limerick.
stayed on business recently and will definitely be back on a weekend break.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dingleKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

where to start?? stayed in the strand hotel for a weekend with friends. our first impressions were that the location was good and the actual building and decor were nice. first of all the receptionist couldnt find record of our booking and we explained that it was our friend who had made the reservation, her attitude was less than helpful and when it turned out that she was spelling the surname incorrectly she tried to imply that we were at fault, no big deal but this attitude set the tone for the weekend.

the spa and pool area are very nice and that is one positive about the hotel. we then had lunch in the hotel after check in which wasnt up to scratch at all, the food was cold and not that appetising.

our main issue was with the "dinner" that was included in our deal. one of the worst meals i have ever had, firstly the menu is quite bizzare and trying to be all fancy and doesnt hit the mark in any shape or form. from the starters to the main course the food was utterly disgusting, an over complicated menu, extremely cold food and slow service made this a dinner from hell. when meat is served swamped in a thick lumpy sauce you have to wonder what they are trying to hide! there were 5 adults at this dinner and none of us could eat our meal. we informed the waitress and wanted to make no issue of it as it was a free meal anyway, but the manager came to our table seeking an explantation. we told her our concerns and her answer was "its just not your type of food so" and "see ye in the bar later girls". both of these comments were totally out of order, firstly, whose type of food is cold and inedible and secondly to imply that we were just out to get some free drink was totally unprofessional behaviour. we made this point to the manager and she did apologise, and then admitted that the food was rubbish and that they have to change the menu!!!
other small annoyances continued, like we needed another small towel for our room, there was only one small towel and 2 girls sharing the room, we generally need a towel each for our hair! when we rang down to request a towel it was like the spanish inquisition! why do we need a towel? there are towels in the press?? on and on!!! we had to ring twice and both times the same thing happened! if a guest needs an extra towel, GIVE THEM THE TOWEL WITHOUT GOING THROUGH 20 QUESTIONS AND DRIVING US CRAZY WHEN WE ARE ON A WEEKEND AWAY TO ENJOY OURSELVES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
those were the main problems, needless to say we didnt avail of the breakfast but some of us ordered food up to our room and that was as bad, burned toast etc..
those were our main concerns about the hotel, most of the reviews are positive on the site but i can only assume they didnt eat there, the leisure centre and the bar are nice so that must be why.
our complaints were considered and we appreciated that but would never stay there again or recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food and service
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jennyjenny321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connemara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed at the strand in Limerick , last Friday for the Munster vs Sale match en route to visit family. As we were told on booking " it's really easy to find" and what a perfect location on our way into Limerick from Galway and walking distance ( over the Shannon) to all the pubs, restaurants etc .
We found the staff to be really friendly and the atmosphere in the bar was excellent, there were supporters from both camps and the craic was great, and the service good. The pre-match buffet offered great choice and value and warmed us up for the evening, breakfast was also good. We didn 't use the spa or leisure facilities but had a look and definitely will on our next visit which will be sooner rather than later

  • Liked — location, value, plenty of parking
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

stayed overnight on a business trip,it was home from home,excellent.

Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ianfogerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Property: Limerick Strand Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing