We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Limerick Strand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2010

on a family trip around ireland, we stayed here for 2 nights. very nice modern hotel, great location close to the river, downtown. rooms were relatively large. service was fantastic - they found exactly the right golf place for 3 of us, and worked for an hour and a half to find a horse-riding place for two others. we'll definitely stay here again when we go back. there's a nice little pub on the hotel side of the river, just down the street (curragowers).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canambrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,450 - 2,456 of 2,728 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

I stayed in the Limerick Strand Hotel for a night in June and thought it was a great hotel for the money. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. Also had the Irish breakfast in the hotel restaurant, which was pretty good.

The location was perfect as well. The hotel is about a two minute walk from the River Shannon, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the downtown area which has plenty of shops and restaurants. It's also about a 10-15 minute walk to King John's Castle, which was a great sight to see.

I'd definitely consider staying here again if I find myself in Limerick for another trip.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDawgTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

i recently stayed in the strand hotel and found all the staff very freindly and helpful the restaurant had a variety of dishes all reasonably priced and food was delicious and plentyful the bar was well organised and service was quick no waiting the gym and pool were excellent plenty of equipment in the gym to suit all comers the rooms were spacious and very comfortable all in all this hotel was a real eyeopener for us and we really had a great time there and we will return later in the year with a few freinds to enjoy the hospitality they offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddyk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

From the minute we got to the Hotel things went downhill.I stayed here 2 years ago when it was "The Hilton" and gave it a great review.I was really looking forward to going again.I didn't look up any other Hotel in Limerick.1st thing is that they now charge for Parking. It isn't expensive €5 per night but you have to ask the charge.Then when we went to book in they had no record of us booking or having paid in full.The receptionist was neither friendly or unfriendly.I was told that she would let me know later if breakfast was included in the price when she spoke with her manager but I never heard from her.We got a room which was on the 5th floor but if the window was open you could still hear the cars below.The room was ok.The shower was awful,it kept going hot/cold and the shower head had lime scale on it as did the inside of the kettle.One of the cushions had a hole in it.It wouldn't have if it was still a "Hilton" We didn't get chocolates the 2nd day on the tray with coffee.The Bar staff were nice but the person in the Coffee shop was very unfriendly.The location is great but I will be looking for another Hotel in Limerick.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Professional, rapid check-in an out, comfortable.

Excellent follow-up on request for VAT Invoice and recovery of personal belonging left at hotel by mistake. Top marks for General Manager, SeanLally!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnabelLaRioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This was out third time staying at this hotel love the leisure centre and the spa area for my wife.
They usually have good offers for the weekends that there is not a concert or soemthing on in the city.
Staff are friendly place is spotless, loation is good 3 minutes walk to the city yet away from the hustle and bsutle so no porblem sleeping with noise.
down side is I dont understand why we have to pay € 5 for overnight carparking sorry this is just me i hate paying for parking

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkdonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a 6 night package in Ireland. I was very impressed with this hotel. The location was right across the river from the downtown area, which was nice because it avoided the noise and traffic while still offering convenient access to everything. The room was very nice and comfortable as was the bathroom. Common in Europe, the bed was two twins pushed together, but this was the first one that didn't have a gap in between so it was still comfortable.
Only a couple complaints - the hotel didn't have any body lotion bathroom amenities available. Housekeeping only left us one towel after our first night. And the hairdryer kept overheating after a few minutes use and I would have to wait to let it cool down before it would work again. Other than that we had a very nice stay, and the front desk recommended a great restaurant (can't remember the name though).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,214 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Limerick Strand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Limerick Strand Hotel

Address: Ennis Road, Limerick, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £92 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Limerick Strand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Limerick Strand Hotel is an award winning 4*hotel ideally located on O'Callaghan Strand in the heart of Limerick City Centre, Irelands National City of Culture 2014. With stunning vistas of The River Shannon and a birds-eye view of every landmark in the historical city the Limerick Strand Hotel is the ideal venue for both business and pleasure trips. The hotel offers a friendly, inviting atmosphere where guests feel comfortable and well taken care of. Executive Head Chef, Tom Flavin winner of Best Chef Limerick 2013 & 2014 (Irish Restaurant Awards) and his culinary team pride themselves in serving the finest quality of Irish and international cuisine, with an emphasis on fresh, seasonal produce with all the food traceable and where possible with an emphasis on using locally produced products. With incredible conference and banqueting facilities the hotel was awarded "Best Business Hotel in Ireland 2015,Irish Hospitality Awards, the Limerick Strand is the preferred venue for weddings, events and meetings. The Energize Health Centre is the top spot in Limerick to boost your fitness levels or simply enjoy laid-back leisure. Energize boasts not one but four pools, including a 20 metre swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The hotel also boasts an onsite hair salon & beauty salon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Limerick Strand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing