We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic Respite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Limerick
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
“Idyllic Respite”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful welcoming break away from home this is the hotel for you. I stayed here for two nights with breakfast and a dinner. I have a mild physical disability and this hotel really had the facilities that supported me to enjoy my stay as independantly as possible with minimum fuss. It is one of the first hotels I have stayed in that has managed this aspect of my stay so well. The staff were all really friendly and accommodating and any request I had was met. The food both in the bar and restaurant were excellent with great choice and variety for those who want to be healthy or people like me who like to over do it sometimes - it was gorgeous.

Room Tip: For people with a disability the hotel has rooms with wet rooms which are really well equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriama979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick and that we could accommodate your needs.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    444
    161
    54
    38
See reviews for
180
481
78
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
159 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed in this very modern and chic hotel, right off O' Connell Street, excellent location for shopping area and restaurants and bars. Our room was on the 5th floor so we had a good view over the city. Room was very spacious and fresh. We had a special offer meal in the bar/restaurant before going out. food good and value for money. Excellent and friendly staff ! thanks to you all.
Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. We will probably be back again in the Autumn

Room Tip: The higher the floor - the better view you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Right in the heart of the city, this hotel is modern, chic and stylish. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great food. Fantastic bar. Only one slight let down was the very small amount of English speaking staff. And air conditioning in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slawrence2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Lovely hotel, looks great, friendly staff and right in the city centre. Can't ask for much more. Nice breakfast and coffee.

The only negative comment I have would be in regards to parking - the nearby car park is complimentary for hotel guests only until 8am. After that you're being charged hourly rate, especially that breakfast starts serving only at 8.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel8509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

As regards your comments concerning our parking arrangements - unfortunately we don't have our car park as we are located right in the city centre. However we have secured reduced prices with 2 multi story car parks located just around the corner from the hotel.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

we had a 2 night stay-Fri-Sun, parking is v nearby in public car park for €15 per weekend stay.
Great city centre location,close to all amenities and bars and restaurants nice rooms, v nice and clean bathrooms too.
Did not have food there but the bar was packed every evening so it must be good!
Only 2 complaints really, noisy air conditioners in room and on Sat night we were woken at 5.30 by some Dubs knocking on someones door, was going to ring downstairs but just left it so maybe its a kind of place for stags and hens so maybe need to avoided if you want a quiet stay.

Room Tip: superior dbl on side street maybe better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel.

It’s great to hear positive feedback, our team will be delighted to see your comments.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon at the George Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the George Hotel on Sunday 31st of March for One Night ( 2 rooms ) a group of 4. We found the Staff very friendly and Helpful but we found the Food very average and the Menu choice very poor. The Breakfast was a buffet Style and not very good as I believe it was cooked and left sitting for too long. I opted for 2 fried eggs from the kitchen which were fine. The Car Parking is only paid from 6pm to 8am and I ended up paying 7.20 the next morning to retrieve my Car ?

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

As regards your comments concerning our parking arrangments - unfortunately we dont have our car park as we are located right in the city centre. However we do have an agreement with 2 multi story car parks located just around the corner from the hotel. These details are clearly visible on our website.

Option 1: Howleys Quay Car Park - Entrance is located on Henry Street
Overnight parking is FREE, 18.30 to 08.00 weekdays – Free, 18.30 to 10.00 weekends – Free
Maximum Day Rate or 24 hours is €7.50, 3 day pass: €15, Weekly pass: €20
Weekend pass for €15.00 Friday till Sunday, park anytime on Friday until anytime on Sunday.

Option 2: Harvey’s Quay Car Park (Above Dunnes Stores) - Entrance is located on the Quay Side: 18.00 to 08.30 weekdays – €6 (discounted charge) – payable at pay station in Car Park. €8.50 twenty-four hour charge payable at pay station in Car Park, Weekend pass for €15.00 Friday till Monday.Weekly pass 7 days €18.00.

As regards our menu - we have a wise selection of starters, mains and desserts. here area sample of what we have on offfer every day at thte gBK Restaurant:
Starters
Irish Oak Smoked Salmon Roulade, Toasted Garlic Ciabiatta, Bacon Caesar Salad, Fresh Cream Soup of the Day, Atlantic Seafood Chowder, gBK Greek Style Salad

Mains
Traditional Fish and Chips, Atlantic Salmon Darne, Thai Red Curry, Red Pepper Chicken, Spicy Fajitas, Prime Irish Beef Burger, Sirloin Steak, Wild Mushroom Penne Pasta, Kayleigh Yeoman’s Tagliatelle Chorizo and Stone Baked Pizzas

I am disappointed you didnt feel that this was adequate.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JACKSON
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at the George Boutique Hotel in March 2013 on the last night of our trip before flying out of Shannon. It was a great spot to get to the airport. It was walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We ate at Bambu right around the corner and it was unreal! Loved it! The hotel had a great lobby, parking 1 block away, and great staff/service. The rooms were not as nice as the pictures and the bed was not comfortable, but overall it was a good pick to be close to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhtraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#15 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Limerick

Property: The George Limerick
Address: Shannon Street, Limerick V94 FC65, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located of Limerick hotels, The George Limerick Hotel is a luxury 4 star Limerick hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. Located in the heart of the commercial district in the centre of Limerick city, the George Limerick Hotel sets new standards in lifestyle hospitality. Our Limerick Hotel gift vouchers are the ideal gift! A luxury hotel that will not disappoint! Boasting an eclectic mix of contemporary style and comfort, guests can experience the perfect match of cutting edge cosmopolitan boutique hotel style and an unparalleled standard of service in swish luxury hotel surroundings in the heart of Limerick City. This 4 star Limerick Hotel in Limerick City Centre offers world class luxury accommodation sure to impress even the most discerning traveller. Our central location will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore vibrant Limerick City. Free overnight parking and free WiFi in our luxury boutique Hotel Limerick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The George Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing