We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The George Limerick
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well located but.....”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is well located in downtown Limerick. The rooms were small and the beds were saggy. Last night we ate our dinner in the hotel, early bird special, and it was delicious and very reasonable. The salmon was the best ever! We had breakfast in the same dining room this morning and it was the worst breakfast that we have had since we arrived in Ireland, two weeks ago! There was no fresh fruit, only canned. The only eggs available were scrambled, in a lot of liquid. The bacon looked like it had been thrown in the oven in a lump and just heated. To get a cup of tea, there was only one server who was pleasant enough when you could get hold of her, but that was very difficult. For the coffee drinkers there was a carafe of coffee on the table.
We are on a tour with 33 people. For the breakfast they made us wait until a set time before we could go in even though the room was almost empty. We then had to sit very crowded together.
I do not think I would recommend this hotel to friends for sleeping but for dinner it would be a definite "yes"!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFluxOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to you, our guests. Can you please contact me directly on altaf.khan@thegeorgeboutiquehotel.com.

Please accept our sincere apologies and our thanks to you for bringing the matter to our attention. We look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Kind Regards

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    443
    161
    54
    38
See reviews for
179
480
78
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Having spent the extra to get a king room. I would have hoped for king bed rather than two singles pushed together. This was uncomfortable for us both.
The lack of air conditioning would also be negative for a room whose windows nearly open

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We arrived at this hotel in company with 33 Australians on June 16th. The hotel foyer is very busy and had to be reached by an escalator. A lift took one further up and this was operated by the room key. The room (5017) was large and over looking the street and the bed was two singles pushed together so felt spacious. Our bathroom had a shower fitted over the bath which had to be operated by mixer tap. A little difficult at first. Liquid soap in a dispenser was provided.
Breakfast was adequate, buffet style but portions served by a waitress. There was free Wi Fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmydeeinhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through your comments that we can hopefully improve on the standards and services we are offering to our guests on a daily basis.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

my boyfriend and i stayed in the George hotel for 2 nights, on check in we were asked for any type credit card number if we want to charge anything to our room when we left after dinner i as told i wasn't allowed charge anything to my room? (little embarrassing)

The dinner i have to say was nice but the breakfast was a let down the first morning it was a help yourself buffet but everything was nearly gone and was cold. the following morning it was cooked to order which i was happy but still the food seemed cheap and re-heated.

the staff on numerous occasions were having loud conversations behind the bar, didn't seem professional as they were louder then the guests. one waiter in restaurant was ni9ce and polite but the female waitresses and bar staff were unfriendly and rude.

also the room was at an uncomfortable h

This hotel is in a good location parking is slightly disappointing but good location for shops. i'm not sure i would stay there again.

Room Tip: choose a room high up away from streets as very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests. We are disappointed to hear your comments about our staff as we usually receive great praise and recognition for our staff members.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I like this hotel, it's very central with funky decor. I have had good experiences staying here and it's excellent value. I had my 30th birthday party here a few years back and a couple of my friends have also had theirs in the same place. It's a nice place!

My boyfriend and I stayed at the beginning of June, they had an excellent special offer of 80 (total) for B&B for two people with breakfast in room and late checkout included (AND it was valid for Bank holiday Sunday night).

Two small things: when we came in from our night out (not terribly late and neither of us drunk) we were quizzed up and down by the person behind the desk - even when we had presented our room keycards - he insisted that 'the lady staying in that room said it was two women occupants'. I was a bit embarrassed as there were people in the bar area and he was obviously suggesting I was trying to smuggle someone in.... not too pleased.

Breakfast the next morning was OK but not as nice as what they serve in the restaurant so I'll do that the next time.

I will stay again but would not be impressed if the late night inquisition happened again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiGoesWalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests. We have taken your comments on board and will ensure this does not happen again.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A beautiful hotel in Limerick City. I stayed there with 16 other girls on a hen night. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a great size. The staff were just wonderfull, especially when there were so many of us. Very helpful when checking and even gave us extra time to check out the following morning when many of us had sick heads. The meal was a fantastic deal with a 3 course meal and half a bottle of wine each for 25euro. The waiting staff and kitchen staff were great, especially getting involved in some dares which we all appreciated. It is very central with The Sinbin Night Club not to far away. Would definately recommend The George Boutique Hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineO8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsonville SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The room was small. This was the only Drawback. The bathroom was a great size. The hotel location was very convenient and the staff really friendly and helpful. The bar area was excellent. The band was good and the whole atmosphere lively. A bigger room and I would have given a five. But if. Was in the area again I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#15 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Limerick

Property: The George Limerick
Address: Shannon Street, Limerick V94 FC65, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located of Limerick hotels, The George Limerick Hotel is a luxury 4 star Limerick hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. Located in the heart of the commercial district in the centre of Limerick city, the George Limerick Hotel sets new standards in lifestyle hospitality. Our Limerick Hotel gift vouchers are the ideal gift! A luxury hotel that will not disappoint! Boasting an eclectic mix of contemporary style and comfort, guests can experience the perfect match of cutting edge cosmopolitan boutique hotel style and an unparalleled standard of service in swish luxury hotel surroundings in the heart of Limerick City. This 4 star Limerick Hotel in Limerick City Centre offers world class luxury accommodation sure to impress even the most discerning traveller. Our central location will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore vibrant Limerick City. Free overnight parking and free WiFi in our luxury boutique Hotel Limerick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing