We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad first impression, but overall very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Limerick
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed one night in The George Hotel. When we arrived the man at reception was rude and ignorant, he treated us like we were an inconvenience. This created a very bad first impression. However, everyone else we dealt with throughout the hotel was extremely friendly and efficient.

The room was nice. It was quite small, but we were only staying one night so that was ok. The bathroom was nice and the shower was very good. The temperature in the room was comfortable. There was little to no noise in the room or outside the room which was great.

Breakfast was good. There was a good selection of breakfast food and the hot food is cooked to order, which is good. The juices and milk on display in the breakfast buffet were not refrigerated, they were just sitting out, which is not ideal. The milk should definitely be refrigerated. The decor of the restaurant is very nice.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the location is great, and the staff (bar one) are very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbforde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests. I am disappointed you had a bad expereience on check in as of the 85 reviews posted this year, most complimentary about the friendliness of our staff.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Altaf Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,579 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

The entrance to the hotel is not well marked. It was impossible to find a place to park to check in. The parking accommodations are terribly inconvenient.

The rooms are disgustingly dirty. We put out the service sign on the door and phoned reception twice the second day, to get our room serviced. It was finally somewhat serviced around 6pm.

The huge restaurant/bar have only 1-2 servers, who seem to do a million odd jobs. They are unbelievably RUDE! Terrible service, terrible food, dirty restaurant.

So. Rey happy to be out of this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJevelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear NJevelina

I am sorry you chose to give us such a poor review on Trip Advisor. Of the 85 reviews posted this year 95% of the guests writing about us chose to rate us either as excellent or very good and were most complimentary about the quality of our food and the friendliness of our staff.

The Hotel is situated on a junction of the main street in Limerick. There is a large sign measuring 45 feet down the side of the wall on the main street which reads 'The George Hotel'. The Tourist Office have placed a public authority sign on the corner of the junction which also reads 'The George Boutique Hotel'. A 15 foot vertical blue sign hangs directly over the entrance. A search of Trip Advisor will show that being able to find us has not proven difficult for other guests.

There is a set down area with space for three cars directly outside the main entrance of the hotel, which most guests use to unload luggage at.

None of our rooms are dirty and again a glance at Trip Advisor will show that the majority of guests compliment our cleanliness. I apologize that it took so long to have it serviced that day which is inexcusable on our part.

The food in our restaurant is excellent and we constantly have people note the quality on Trip Advisor, Facebook, Twitter and among friends. The restaurant has seating for 70 people so it can hardly be described as large. It is bright and very clean.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests.

I hope that I will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Altaf Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel has a great location near the main intersection of Limerick and close to the Shannon River which you can walk along for a ways. We spent one night at this hotel with our tour group in April of 2014. Room was small but comfortable. We ate dinner in the bar area of the restaurant and there was some special for dinner which included salad, entree and dessert - I can't recall the price now but I do recall thinking at the time that the price was good - good value and the food was very good.

Room Tip: We were with a tour group and had a random room which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Altaf Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

... so disappointed in very poor shower pressure and paper thin walls, I could literally join the conversation couple next door had. The room was stuffy and loud when opened the window. But if you don't mind any of that, the location couldn't be any better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fibix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was very surprised by the hotel! Great location to o connell street parking was easy. Our king room was lovely big and the bed really comfy .staff were very friendly and even posted my work post for me as I'd Forgotten to do it rushing off Friday. Will definitely stay again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

We strive to get it spot on from reservation to departure and are always delighted when we get it right.

We hope to see you again very soon at The George Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards
Altaf Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The hotel is called The George. I repeat, The George.
Not the 'The George Boutique Hotel', so when you're driving past desperately trying to find it don't be tricked into thinking the place is called, The George Boutique Hotel, as I was.
I also say this as the entry point for this Hotel isn't even on the rd advertised, its on a side street, very confusing until you know.
What complicates matters is the parking for this hotel, which you have to pay for yourself (although validated to make it cheaper), isn't at the hotel, its a 5 min walk away. Very annoying and confusing when you're on holiday and entering a new city. You have to find 2 places. Its not clear if you should drop your bags off first then park. I would suggest parking first. But then you have to walk with your bags. I didn't see a place where you could pull up outside the hotel.
They should make it clearer about the parking because most people coming to the city have surely driven there and will want to park. To be fair the parking cost me 7.50 euro for 36 hrs, not bad.
I ordered food downstairs and when they brought it up it was missing my soup. When I went back down to order another Guinness I told them and they apologised and gave me the Guinness for free, they were very genuine about correcting this mistake, and also very quickly got the soup. It was good soup actually too.

The hotel is pretty good value for money, slightly rough around the edges. The coffee in the room is plunger coffee which i think is a nice touch, most hotels provide instant. The food menu downstairs wasn't amazing, I had been travelling and to be honest I didn't really feel like any of the food, but i think this is a case of most hotels serving the same type of food rather a failure of The George.

I would come back to The George, even though it isn't the boutique hotel it is trying to be.

Room Tip: My room didnt have a view, except of other rooms. There isnt a fitness centre or swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliverlstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

As regards your comments concerning our parking arrangements - unfortunately we don't have our car park as we are located right in the city centre.

We do have a Set Down Area located outside the door of the hotel if guests decide to drop off their bags first. We also have an agreement with 2 multi story car parks located just around the corner from the hotel.

Option 1: Howleys Quay Car Park - Entrance is located on Henry Street
Contact Details: +353 61 401 833
Overnight parking is FREE
18.30 to 08.00 weekdays – Free
18.30 to 10.00 weekends – Free
Maximum Day Rate or 24 hours is €7.50
3 day pass: €15
Weekly pass: €20
Weekend pass for €15.00 Friday till Sunday, park anytime on Friday until anytime on Sunday.

Option 2: Harvey’s Quay Car Park (Above Dunnes Stores) Entrance is located on the Quay Side: +353 61 468 240
19.00 to 09.00 – €5 payable at pay station in Car Park
Day Parking (8am – 6pm) – €6.50 payable at pay station in Car Park
24 Hours Parking – €8 payable at pay station in Car Park
Evening Parking (6pm – Midnight) – €4 payable at pay station in Car Park
Weekend pass for €15.00 Friday till Monday
Weekly pass 7 days €18.00

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a treasure. Great location in downtown limerick and the best service of our trip so far. The lovely Reelika could not do enough for us. I booked a disabled room which slept four and it was very roomy. Reelika came down to the car upon our arrival to help us with our suitcases, how good is that! She then offered to book us a medieval banquet we had expressed interest in for that night, so helpful. Then when we had overslept on the last morning she offered us to check out at 12pm instead of the usual 11am. This hotel is beautiful and it has a lovely restaurant and bar. We had tea one night at the restaurant it was lovely and not pricey. The breakfast was buffet style and had all you could want, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, tomato, potatoes, porridge, cereals, fruits, pastries, toast, even a pancake machine where you can make your own pancakes with the press of a button, lots of spreads and they will bring you a pot of tea or coffee to your table. Great location, great hotel would definitely recommend it. Only downfall is if you have a car the carpark isn't actually at the hotel but close by and whilst it's free from 6pm to 9am outside those hours you need to pay.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

We strive to get it spot on from reservation to departure and are always delighted when we get it right.

We hope to see you again very soon at The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

Kind Regards
Altaf Khan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,728 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Limerick City Hotel
Limerick City Hotel
#14 of 20 in Limerick
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Limerick

Address: Shannon Street, Limerick V94 FC65, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range: £70 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located of Limerick hotels, The George Limerick Hotel is a luxury 4 star Limerick hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. Located in the heart of the commercial district in the centre of Limerick city, the George Limerick Hotel sets new standards in lifestyle hospitality. Our Limerick Hotel gift vouchers are the ideal gift! A luxury hotel that will not disappoint! Boasting an eclectic mix of contemporary style and comfort, guests can experience the perfect match of cutting edge cosmopolitan boutique hotel style and an unparalleled standard of service in swish luxury hotel surroundings in the heart of Limerick City. This 4 star Limerick Hotel in Limerick City Centre offers world class luxury accommodation sure to impress even the most discerning traveller. Our central location will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore vibrant Limerick City. Free overnight parking and free WiFi in our luxury boutique Hotel Limerick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The George Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing