We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Limerick

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Limerick
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel was rated as a 4 star hotel, I didn't feel it earned the 4 stars.
The bedroom was very small but well decorated. Our bed was 2 single beds pushed together which was a little uncomfortable sleeping. The hotel itself was very glam on the entrance but then let themselves down.
Also the part I look forward ALWAYS when I go away is the breakfast.
The break fast was a let down the hot food was served in a moveable heated cart, we went down at 9 and the food was dry. The upside was a pancake machine but no lemon out for this only chocolate and maple syrup ( and let's face it, not everyone's choice)
The price of the hotel was good but having to pay extra for a bad breakfast.
We prob won't stay again or recommend it was one of our "wow" stays which we have had recently.

Room Tip: The wifi took over night to connect .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LollyGes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback as we take all feedback seriously.

We have a very good selection of buffet items in our hotel - the idea behind our buffet is that you can revisit the buffet as many times as you like and always ask for more food as a lot of our guests do. On our menu we have: Pork Sausages, Black & White Pudding, Grilled Bacon, Rustic Potatoes, Baked Beans, Grilled Tomatoes, Sautéed Mushrooms, Scrambled Egg, Orange/Apple Juice, Selection of Cereals, Croissants, Fresh Fruit, Yogurts, Breads, Assortment of Jams & Honey. We also have an open kitchen where you can get omelet’s, pancakes and waffles which we feel is great value for money and receive very good feedback on our offerings.

The other cafes etc in the area offer a full breakfast for around €7.00 which only includes full Irish Breakfast (one egg, two rashers, black and white pudding, grilled tomato ,mushrooms, toast and tea or coffee. They do not include fresh fruits and selection of fruits or choice of breads) as compared to list of items listed above.

The room you got was a king room and the beds in these rooms are bigger beds than a standard room and are zip and linked together. I am delighted that you enjoyed the bedroom facilities.

I hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    432
    157
    53
    38
See reviews for
176
474
78
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at The George for one night in June. Our room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Parking was not at the hotel itself, but at another location. The hotel is well located, and it was easy to walk to nearby restaurants and shops. The price we paid for the room was very reasonable given the quality of the hotel room and its surrounds. Free wi-fi worked fairly well. Breakfast is not included in the tariff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njh2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cancun
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I recently stayed at The George Boutique due to business and I felt the accomodation were very comforting. The location is in the middle of everything you could possible need. Shops and eateries are everywhere. We arrive at a rather late hour and the staff was as happy and friendly as ever. The breakfast was hot available at a very accomodating hour. The tubs are large and the rooms are cozy. Overall, I had a very good stay at the George Boutique

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Grimes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel.

It’s great to hear when we hit it spot on, our team will be delighted to see your comments.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon at the George Boutique Hotel.

Kind Regards

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The staff at the George were amazing. They helped us get our lost bags from the airlines. They helped us with driving directions and tee times. They could not have been better. The room was very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to Limerick.

I hope that due to your positive experience we will be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We found ourselves in Limerick for the night and passing the George we decided to see if they had rooms. They did and we were glad we stayed. Nice room, a lovely bar and a great location. I would give it 5/5 except for the fact they advertise free parking, however parking costs €7.20 per day. They do have a limited free overnight offer but it's not made clear at check-in. Having said that I would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thesraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to receive your comments and feedback as it is through these comments we can continually improve on the service we provide to our guests.

As regards your comments concerning our parking arrangements, unfortunately we don't have our own car park as we are located right in the city centre however we have secured reduced prices with 2 multi story car parks located just around the corner from the hotel which also offer Free overnight parking. We make this very clear on check-in and on our website.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The George Boutique Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Location great, Staff professional, room clean, and a/c works great. Being in middle of everything makes easy to park, leave car for awhile and walk everywhere. Agreement with Howleys Quay is very close, nice, and convenient and relatively inexpensive when pay by week.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TXGoose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel.

It’s really great for our team to see positive feedback.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon at The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

Kind Regards

Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have used this hotel on a number of occasions and find the staff are always courteous. The hotel is very clean and modern. It is a great spot if you would like to go to the shops or walk to St. John's Castle or the Hunt Museum. At the moment the city looks beautiful with lots of flowers.

The breakfast is always great. I certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the front with a view over the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AA1and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The George Bout... H, General Manager at The George Limerick, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your stay at the George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

We strive to get it spot on from reservation to departure and are always delighted when we get it right.

We hope to see you again very soon at The George Boutique Hotel, Limerick City.

Kind Regards
Altaf Khan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
The Pier Hotel, Limerick
#14 of 20 in Limerick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Limerick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Limerick

Property: The George Limerick
Address: Shannon Street, Limerick V94 FC65, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Limerick 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located of Limerick hotels, The George Limerick Hotel is a luxury 4 star Limerick hotel inspired by leading boutique hotels around the world. Located in the heart of the commercial district in the centre of Limerick city, the George Limerick Hotel sets new standards in lifestyle hospitality. Our Limerick Hotel gift vouchers are the ideal gift! A luxury hotel that will not disappoint! Boasting an eclectic mix of contemporary style and comfort, guests can experience the perfect match of cutting edge cosmopolitan boutique hotel style and an unparalleled standard of service in swish luxury hotel surroundings in the heart of Limerick City. This 4 star Limerick Hotel in Limerick City Centre offers world class luxury accommodation sure to impress even the most discerning traveller. Our central location will ensure that you have the perfect base to explore vibrant Limerick City. Free overnight parking and free WiFi in our luxury boutique Hotel Limerick. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The George Limerick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing