We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Stay!!”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed in the Absolute Hotel a few weeks ago.
The hotel itself is very modern and the room was lovely!
We had a few issues however, Over the course of the 3 days we had to keep going back to reception to get a new key card. It wouldnt work to make the lift go up or the key card wouldnt let us in. The Key card also didnt work in any of the vending machines. In Total went to reception 5 times regarding the issue!! Although the reception staff were very nice and helpful!! I had a dealrush voucher with this hotel and the voucher was taking off me by the receptionist when i arrived. With the voucher it included a dinner and brekkie! We booked dinner at reception with a gentleman. When we went up for dinner the girl at front of house asked for my dealrush voucher, i advised that i left it in with the hotel receptionist and the front of house girl replied ''Strange'' as if she did not believe me. She rang down to reception and asked us to sit. She never came over to apologise for not believing me, i had to ask after dinner did she get the voucher from reception and she responded ''ya''.. still no apology. I wasn't feeling well at the time so it really annoyed me!! On checkout we were advised the door of the carpark wouldnt open and they were waiting on someone to fix it, so it delayed our long trip back by 45 minutes. Even though the Duty Manager was very nice and gave us complimentary drinks.
Overall the rooms are nice, reception staff and Duty manager were lovely.. but i would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! We didnt have one so it was disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenBling2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Dear Helenduc
Thanks for the feedback though it always disappointing to let guests down. It is unfortunate that the issues with keycards kept arising. We are not experiencing consistent issues like you have experienced although that is not to say you appear to have been very unlucky in experiencing the issues you did. The cards can also demagnetise in certain circumstances.
The restaurant should have dealt better with the voucher issue. Reception appear not to have given you the voucher to hand in to the restaurant team. I have followed up.
Lastly it is again unfortunate that the barrier broke and you had to wait. The manual mechanism jammed and we could not force open.
Its really disappointing to read that you would not return again as I hoped you could review that most of the issues aside from the restaurant interaction were bad luck more than poor service.
In any case we are here if you ever change your mind
Regards
Donnacha Hurley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,206 - 1,212 of 2,018 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Myself and five of my girl pals came here for a one night stay. We are all mums with young families and picked this hotel for its location. We spent most of the day shopping, had lunch and came to check in late afternoon time. We couldn't believe the friendly and helpful welcome we received. We were thrilled with our rooms, which were all slightly different in layout even though side by side. The rooms gave us the feeling of New York loft studios. Luxurious ,spacious, bright, comfortable. We cancelled a booking for dinner in the city and dined in house. Each of us received a €5voucher towards dinner. We had three courses and tea and coffee for €20' and it must be said the food was very good and the menu options to suit all. The restaurant is modern with plenty space between tables, great big windows gave gret views and lovely light. Breakfast next morin g was very good and check out was quick and efficient. Of note, there is a great Spa here, a good gym,albeit small. there is not a pool. its located about a ten minute stroll to city centre. Big thumbs up.i will definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sindo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights, during a week long trip to Ireland.

The hotel is pretty easy to find and is located next to the river which is pleasant. The hotel is very modern and clean, and our room was modern and nicely designed with a big comfy bed. The receptionists were very pleasant and helpful.

Town was a 5 minute walk from the hotel, but unfortunately we didn't find much to do in Limerick. The milk market is worth a visit, it has a wonderful selection of food on a Saturday and we did find a great little pub whilst strolling around, called Katy Dalys (near the castle) which was great!

All in all, a good value, well presented hotel if you are looking to stay in Limerick, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: You only need one night in Limerick, if you are touring around Ireland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckyboo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

this is a very modern hotel, found the staff to be friendly and helpful, the hotel has it's own underground carpark, the food in this hotel was excellent and very well presented. rooms are bright, modern and very clean. i would definatly return for a stay in this hotel and would highly recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deesha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

booked this hotel for a group of 14 and we had a great time, rooms were all spacious and very modern, location great only 5 minutes from everything, lovely bar area, didn't eat in hotel but the food looked lovely and reasonably priced, check in was very quick and efficient and all staff very helpful and polite....will be returning to limerick and will defo stay here again, fantastic for the price.

Room Tip: corner suites are excellent...rooms 221/321/421 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I booked this hotel through a pigsback.com online offer. Great price and all looked good when i checked the reviews. I must say the reviews dont do it enough justice. This is a great hotel, perfect central location (5 minute walk to the main shopping area) and we really enjoyed the two nights.

We arrived Good Friday and got parking in the underground carpark. Spaces are limited but the overflow is a two minute walk across the road if you are unlucky not to get one. Might also help if people can park properly as one car had taken two spaces! You walk straight into reception which is bright, modern and real funky. We were greeted by two friendly faces and proceeded to be checked in. Our room wasn't ready and one of the gentleman went and found another room for us rather than leaving us wait around. The room was fantastic. Bright, airy, big bed, big bathroom etc.

We had dinner in the restaurant on Friday night. Had a small issue with the server hence only the four stars but the food was quality. I had Goats cheese bruschetta, the the cod goujons and ice cream for dessert. My wife had chicken wings, chicken and ice cream to. 3 course for €25.00 and happily would have paid more for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theredarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I really liked the design, starting from the lobby with warm lightning to a big room with a sitting area, 2 plasma tv's and balcony. One thing - the door to the bathroom didn't close properly. Also the vegetarian omelette for breakfast was not very tasty, but overall experience is very good and I highly recommend to everybody.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,687 reviews
4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
891 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,198 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#2 Best Value Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: £73 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing