We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the rooms but not the bar area”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Co.Kerry
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love the rooms but not the bar area”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Have stayed here on several occasions , the most recent at the start of January.
Got a great internet deal so jumped at the chance to have a night out in Limerick.
Love the bedrooms at the Absolute - large , spacious and quirky details make them interesting.
We rarely spend any time in the bar even though we do like to have a drink after dinner. It lacks atmosphere and is actually quiet small so on this occasion we had dinner in a restaurant in town and sat in the lobby to have an after dinner drink when we got back to the hotel.
Breakfast is the usual buffet style - all ok but nothing very exciting. Didn't like either the sausages or pudding on offer but as I usually don't eat a full breakfast I opted instead for eggs which were cooked to order.
Our internet deal had included free movies but after checking out we noticed we had been charged for them. The fee was refunded when we pointed it out but I sometimes wonder if it's charged on purpose and left to the customer to spot the error ? My suspicious mind working overtime - maybe it's time for another night away !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotwhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnachaGM, General Manager at Absolute Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thanks for the overall positive feedback. Fair point on the bar and when we can that area is earmarked for reformatting. Just to put your mind at rest as part of the licensing arrangement with the movie the charge must be processed but it should be adjusted off before checkout. we don't try to generate new revenue lines by that method - we're fairly straight to the point!. I hope you'll make it back at some stage.
regards

Donnacha Hurley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    505
    96
    21
    22
See reviews for
283
895
66
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Unfortunately I only spent one night on a business trip in this fantastic hotel. What a gem, the location, the parking, the staff, the rooms and the food in the restaurant were all first class.

However I wouldn’t like this to become too popular just in case there are no rooms left available the next time I visit Limerick….

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This hotel really is a gem in Limerick and it stands out from the outside and in. The vibe is modern but relaxing. The room itself is very modern with nice lighting and up to date furnishing. It may be a little dark for some people but I thought it was perfect. The one thing that sets this hotel apart is how modern and how well it was designed. Everything flows and there is not one thing I would change. The showerhead that they have installed is like a flood (I think the name is tsunami shower) and the bathroom has two sinks. On site there is also a gym, even though it is not big it is still enough to get in a casual workout. The location itself of the hotel is central to the city and other attractions near by like the castle. I would recommend anyone stay a night or two.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I spent four nights here over Christmas with a family group. We only had breakfast in the restaurant but it was always fresh and well prepared. The rooms are excellent, staff friendly and helpful and the secure on site parking is an added bonus. The hotel is adjacent to the city and within easy walking distance. Although the surrounding areas are a bit run down they are safe by day but caution would be advised after dark. All in all a great choice for Limerick city.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DERRATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

During the last year the best hotel I stayed in was Absolute Hotel & Spa in Limerick City. It is a 4-minute walk from King’s John Castle. The Standard Room was wonderful in all respects -- spacious, cozy, clean, comfortable and beautifully designed in modern minimalistic style. Absolute provided, as all decent Irish hotels, the tsars beds, very clean wall-to-wall carpeting, good light for reading in bed, fresh air if you care to open the window, and good air conditioning. WiFi was fast and available everywhere in the hotel. Superb service was provided by reception and at the fancy restaurant. Absolute was the only hotel during our Ireland trip with a 24-hour gym. I regret only one thing – that we didn’t stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina_swims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed for one night in early November 2013. Very modern hotel close enough to the city centre but its location is not in a very attractive area and coming back to the hotel walking late at night was of some concern with some rough looking young men on the banks of the river who had to be passed to get to the hotel.Distant to short to take a taxi. Walking in a summer evening would probally be ok. Rooms were very modern with all items one requires for a pleasant stay. Evening meals were reasonable and satisfactory, breakfast was good. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, giving me very good directions to get where I needed to go. Will use the hotel on my next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the river, very pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed here for one night in November. We landed in Ireland at 5am, did some sight-seeing in the morning, drank a lot of coffee, and got to the hotel around noon. The front desk staff were great - they let us park in the garage, and did what they could to get us checked in early; the room, however, wasn't ready yet. Not a big deal, we walked around the area, had lunch, and checked in at 3 and took a nap. While in the middle of the city, you didn't hear the noise...in fact, it was raining out (I know, a shocker in Ireland) and was actually kind of soothing to listen to. The hotel bar was great and reasonably priced, the breakfast the next morning was outstanding, the hotel itself was immaculate, the staff was phenomanal, and we would definately stay there again!

Room Tip: If the rest of the hotel was like our room, I don't think there's a bad room at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFEMT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,499 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,483 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing