We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“July 2014”
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“July 2014”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel is centrally located within minutes of city center, short walk to king John's castle. Hotel is modern with generous room space. Located overlooking river. Breakfast is excellent in the top tier of Irish breakfasts, in my top 3 of all hotels I have staid in..
Restarant food is very good and excellent value for money. I had a goats cheese peacan nuts and strawberry salad starter which would be on my list of one of the best courses I have ever eaten.
Staff are friendly and helpful and overall I would have no hesitation in recommending for a short break in Limerick or as a base for exploring Limerick/Clare.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,304
    507
    96
    21
    22
See reviews for
292
903
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I really enjoy staying in this hotel. I'm just back from my 3rd visit there and will definitely be back again. We were a group of 8 girls away for the day and night. On check-in our rooms were available early and we then relaxed in the hotel bar with a glass of wine and nibbles.
Our rooms were spotless, the floors are quite warm being the season we are in but the air con in the room balances everything out.
We also booked our dinner in the hotel as part of our hotel package which came with a bottle of wine. The dinner was very tasty and the house wine was very enjoyable.
We headed into the town after dinner, you can walk but we were girls in our high heels so the lovely lady in reception called us a taxi and they charged 2 euro per head into the city centre.
Breakfast was equally delicious, you can choose from a menu or alternatively help yourself to the hot buffet or continental style which has those lovely mini pastries and my friends who are chocolate lovers were delighted to find Nutella sachets available with the other condiments.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meady80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here for one night while in Limerick for business. The staff at reception were very friendly and welcoming, and I was able to store my suitcase at the front desk after I checked out but was still in town for a few hours. I was in a standard double room, which was incredibly big and spacious! The bathroom was large as well, and the shower pressure was fab, which is sometimes a rarity at hotels, so I definitely notice when it's good! Breakfast was included in my room rate, and there was quite a large selection to choose from. I also asked for two poached eggs which I received quite quickly. Though perhaps too quickly - I'm all for a runny yolk, but parts of the egg white was raw as well, so I had to pick out bits here and there. The only other downside or weird thing was that my TV turned on for some reason at about 7.20am - I hadn't asked for a wake-up call and was letting myself sleep in til about 8am, so this was a bit of an unwelcome annoyance. Otherwise, I had a lovely stay and would definitely book here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagle_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights last month. Our room was very spacious and modern over looking the river. A great TV for watching the late world cup games when our kids were asleep! The bathroom was nice with a great shower and a good supply of towels etc. We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant and the bar had a great atmosphere. We opted for the three course set menu meal deal which was keenly priced. We availed of the underground car-park. Staff were friendly and all in all we really enjoyed our stay and will choose this hotel the next time we are back in Limerick. I have already recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DNDL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I only generally take the time to write a review when I'm very impressed by a place. I booked this hotel last minute as a treat for my boyfriend and myself. We just had the one night and I really wish we had a few days staying here.
We are from Clare so not too far to travel and often stay in limerick. I have stayed in numerous hotels in the city and they are all very nice( no complaints) but now that I have stayed in the Absolute this will be my choice from now on. We were so impressed we said we will make it a monthly thing to get away for a night and have a nice dinner to relax from busy lives and that we will be choosing the Absolute to do this in.
The hotel is very modern and we got a fabulous room on request , it was very spacious, very clean and nice and quiet. It had a lovely bathroom, very comfortable bed and great television.
We ate in the restaurant that night we were on a package that included a two course meal. The food was delicious I got chicken and he got the fish, really tasty , very well presented and NO corners cut, which I think is very important. We got a bottle of wine and there was a good selection reasonably priced. We shared a starter and desert and we loved the desert so much( Apple and berry crumble with cream and ice cream-presented so nicely ) we ordered a second one.

The breakfast the next morning was equally as impressive brilliant selection of hot and cold food. The fruit, seeds and yogurt were all fresh and tasty.
This is a lovely hotel , we really enjoyed our stay and would like to say thank you and well done. We will certainly be back and recommending your hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MariaEnnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel was a bit difficult to find, even with GPS since it doesn't stand out very well, and there is a one way road that surrounds the hotel. Go into the parking garage as soon as you see it, for ease of accessing the hotel and not doing another lap around the property. You access the hotel from the garage.

Once inside, the hotel is very contemporary, and the rooms are great. We had a suite, with a patio (complete with table & chairs) overlooking the water! There were two nice flat screen TVs.
We enjoyed our evening meal at the hotel, and used room service for breakfast and were pleased with everything.

We were only there one night, so we didn't have a chance to walk into town and discover what was nearby. However, it's only a 30 minute drive from the Shannon airport, and a great hotel to stay at in association with the airport.

We would recommend the hotel!!

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room that overlooks the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with a group of friends for 1 night spa package. A good deal but the spa was very disappointing . No robes/slippers provided which meant undressing in treatment room & putting back on your clothes ;after a massage-difficult & uncomfortable when oiled up!! There is no thermal area which is norm in any spa I've been in & where we were looking forward to spending some girly time. 1 member of group asked for a robe which was provided but was grubby & not clean.
As we were only people in the spa these were not oversights due to being busy.
Lunch , dinner & breakfast were fine- nothing hugely exciting & basically same menu for lunch/dinner.
Staff were polite but not friendly in the main.
Rooms were nice, clean & well maintained. Rain head shower was lovely.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Asusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
1,164 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,503 reviews
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing