We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Absolute Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Absolute Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Staff are great. Rooms are spotless. Restaurant is delicious. I'm always happy to stay here. It's tucked in an area that has a small village feel, but is just down the road from shops, restaurants and other 'things' to do. A nice bonus is the grocery store just around the corner and over the bridge!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usblueflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    484
    95
    18
    21
See reviews for
272
853
62
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

The hotel itself was modern and the room clean and functional. On arrival found one member of staff at reception to be extremely unhelpful and this carried through every time we had anything to do with her. We then made the effort not to deal with her and found everyone else to be extremely pleasant and amazingly helpful.
The hotel itself is extremely well situated and an easy walk from the centre of Limerick and King John's Castle. We did not dine in the restaurant, but instead chose to eat in Limerick. Found the Lock Bar (just up the road) to be fabulous and within easy walking distance.
We were warned about the high crime rate and told not to walk any distance at nights, so were vigilant but experienced no problems.
Overall our experience at The Absolute Hotel was positive and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was not on the main road so was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel in June of this year. For the many tourists who fly in and out of Shannon airport, this hotel is an outstanding choice.

The hotel has a beautiful contemporary design which carries through to the restaurant and lounge. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and well appointed. The location is well within walking distance of museums, shops and pubs.

Do keep in mind that Limerick's crime rate is somewhat higher than other major Irish cities, so be careful as always. That said, I and the families I was traveling with felt safe at all times.

Finally, the front desk staff was welcoming, informative and always helpful. I'll certainly stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, NJ 08527
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Absolute Hotel is a very modern type hotel. Room was large and comfortable.
Very clean and new. Staff was very friendly.

Since this was a trendy type hotel the bathroom door was frosted glass and there wasn't any lock on the door. Not crazy about this but I have seen it in other modern hotels.

The hotel is situated right on the canal in Limerick. There are plenty of restaurants around the area of the hotel and it is in walking distance to King John's Castle. It's also about 30 minutes from the Shannon Airport which is why we used it for our last night in Ireland.

The only downside to the hotel is that it is right in the heart of Limerick so the traffic can be heavy with very little parking. The hotel does have an underground parking lot for people staying at the hotel but the lot is small and probably can fill up quickly. We were lucky in that there were a few parking spots when we arrived.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant but instead walked to an Irish pub for dinner.

I don't know if I'd stay for a week here but it's a good hotel to use to be close to the airport.

Room Tip: Hotel can be a little difficult to find using a GPS and the road it shows isn't a thru road so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhotosFromNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed in Limerick for only two days, and overall had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and gave great advice for a tour to the Cliffs of Moher, as well as guidance to getting around Limerick itself. The in-house restaurant was nice, offered a pretty reasonable deal for appetizer and dinner, or dinner and dessert for 25 Euro. The Pork Belly Confit was delicious as was the Ribeye my friend had. The only negative, and this is subjective, was that the beds were really hard. We were supposed to have 2 beds and were given one queen and a sofa bed. The sofa bed was slightly softer but both were hard. But I would stay here again and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I came to Limerick for a conference. Online registration was a breeze. I needed an additional night and they accommodated me via email with ease. When I arrived I was upgraded to a beautiful large room. Hotel and restaurant staff were all excellent. Very professional and friendly. Food in restaurant was very good. Having breakfast included is a good choice as well. The location is very convenient to the Hunt Museum, downtown restaurants and King John's castle. It is an easy city to navigate and the bridges over the Shannon are beautiful. I would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for above the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A very comfortable bed in a large modernistic room with excellent shower. On-site parking and restaurant. The morning breakfast was extensive but the lovely room was extraordinarily hot. The staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbpTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#4 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#5 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.8 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#6 of 20 in Limerick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
1.8 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Hotel

Property: Absolute Hotel
Address: Sir Harry's Mall, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#2 Business Hotel in Limerick
#2 Family Hotel in Limerick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Absolute Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great rooms, gre­at food and friendly service in a really stunning hotel situated on a bend on the Abbey River in Limerick City.­ Here in the Medieval Quarter of Limerick we are only minutes walk away from King Johns Castle and the Hunt Museum, not to mention the amazing Milk Market with its artisan producers. The Absolute Hotel Limerick is the perfect base from which to get the best out of the city­ be it business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Absolute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Absolute Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing