We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First class”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed recently in Savoy on their 2 night package and dinner in Hamptons restaurant,next door.
The staff are really polite from the moment you enter reception.Tthe executive double room so nice and comfortable.The breakfast is excellent with efficient waiter service for main breakfast.The choice for breakfast is excellent and nothing is a problem for staff. Will definitely re visit though I think it may be booked up for the 16th July when Bruce plays Thomond Park ! I've meal booked in Hamptons so that will go down well !The food in hamptons is excellent and their early bird menu is great value. Have been back to hotel and hamptons before and always look forward to going back. Staff doing excellent job.Location is excellent, right in city centre and parking at special very reasonable rate at nearby Dunnes Store when you stay in Savoy

Room Tip: Stayed on 7th floor and found it excellent no noise and a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    744
    263
    104
    33
    20
See reviews for
179
475
33
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It is a superb hotel so clean and modern, location was excellent as us based in centre of the city, day staff were so friendly and helpful made us feel so welcome, the rooms are very spacious and spotless clean. Only issue we had was with the night shift, we checked in late enough and were greeted by the gentleman, he checked us in and observed we were staying for 3 nights and told us to enjoy our stay he was very professional, on our second night we decided to go out in the city centre for a few drinks to see what the night life was like we had a great time, on return to the hotel approx 3.30am myself and my partner along with 4 other guest were entering the reception to get the lift to our rooms , the gentleman stopped me and my partner out of the group of guest walking in and asked us where were we going, at first I taught it was some sort of misunderstanding as he checked us in on our arrival, we told him we were guest and gave him the room number, he was very ignorant to us then he must have remember who we were and changed , he was all apologies to us but we were mortified and extremely embarrassed to have been put in that situation , a group of guest walking into the hotel and we got stopped for no reason as he was the person to check us in he should have remember our faces. We like this hotel and would recommend it but we won't be staying here again, is a pity because it is a fabulous hotel and 99% of staff are lovely and very friendly

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales,maine
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed at the Savoy from April 9th- 12th along with my daughter and family.We found the rooms very nice,the baths nice and plenty of towels.Also the bed was very comfortable ..The people working there were extremely helpful and understanding.It would have been nice to have a continental breakfast with the room ,but everything else was very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeMaine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Traveling with sister/brother-in-law, we booked two rooms. We were all pleasantly surprised at how luxurious our rooms were. I particularly liked the walk-in shower, separate from the bathtub. Initially our rooms were on separate floors but, at our request, we were moved to the same floor (7th) which has a balcony and a wonderful view of the River Shannon and King John's Castle. The Savoy is within walking distance of The Milk Market, a farmer's market - not to be missed.

We had no wifi in our rooms and did not check out the wifi in the public areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The savoy is located in the centre of Limerick close to the river Shannon. I stayed on a Saturday night. My room was on the 8th floor - only drawback was that it had a disabled bathroom which I was not told in advance. Otherwise it was a reasonable size, well furnished and clean. There was no external noise during the night. In the room there was complimentary spring water and also a tea making facility.
My room had access to an executive lounge on the 7th floor which has snacks and a comfortable seating area.
Breakfast was excellent and served until 12pm.

Room Tip: Rooms at front on 7th and 8th floors have a great view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed there for two nights. Had dinner in the hamptons restaurant food was lovely. Good choices on the menue. Room was not five star only had one robe and no slippers. The wall was all marked with black lines on it, would probably come off if washed. Stayed on fifth floor the noise of cars and car alarms was very loud so we did not get much sleep, not good enough when on a break. The shower was poor not a bit strong. Towels a bit rough, hot water slow to come in. Rooms nice and big. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely quiet a variety on menue, freshly squeezed orange juice. Staff were polite. Had coffee and my friends had afternoon tea in dineing room and was amazed and not impresses with the dust on the display units. One of the staff moved an ornament on them and did not notice the ring of dust!!!!!. Hotel very central to shops. Would not return because its too noisy bar very small not enough seating area when hotel is buzzy.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th and 5th floor noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catwalk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my hubby's birthday and everything was top class fab room upgrade and the food was Devine loved its location to will be back thank you for a great stay and having great deals on at these very tough times well done

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybe_girl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,503 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing