We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value 5 Star Hotel”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Savoy last week with if wife for one night. The reception staff were welcoming on arrival and helpful.

The rooms were spacious but could be freshened up a little some marks on the walls.

We went to a lounge area upstairs for a glass of wine and received a mixed reception from staff, the manager was not friendly or welcoming but the servers were most pleasant and helpful we were waiting a while for service also.

We did not eat in the restaurant Hamptons buy it looked nice and priced well. We had a drink in the downstairs bar that evening and staff were pleasant and the bar was quiet and had a nice atmosphere. Overall a lovely stay and I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sescommunications
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is my first trip to LImerick and so I have nothing to compare it against. I was told that this hotel used to be a Marriott, and when that closed a local consortium bought it and kept it open. Certainly the robes in the rooms still say Marriott on them which is a little unusual. The decor is typical Marriott style, and is beginning to show some wear (chipped corners, some stains on the carpet etc). However the service was fabulous - genuine Irish warmth from all staff. I ate in Hamptons next door one night and that was also good and reasonably priced. I had access to the "Executive Lounge" which was strange - obviously a leftover again from the Marriott, but now just a room with sofas and a small minibar with soft drinks in it, no service or food served etc.

Room Tip: Pick a high room to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I'll start by saying that I didn't stay in this hotel but a large group of us had Afternoon Tea and it was absolutely fabulous. They were so accommodating of our group of 24 and popped us in a small suite of our own. It had floor to ceiling glass windows and was just off the restaurant/bar upstairs so that we didn't feel totally out of the loop. Afternoon Tea was 18euro per person or 35 per pair. There was unlimited tea/coffee/hot choc/lattes etc. and they topped up the food for no extra charge. It was such a great price considering the luxurious surrounding, very professional service and top quality food. We had the added bonus of being entertained by a man who played the piano in the lobby for a couple of hours also. Lovely experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed for one night at the Savoy Hotel, all about this hotel was excellent. It is very central to the city centre just walking distance. The manager Damien Harnett was most helpful in accommodating us when we had booking difficulties and ensured our stay at the Savoy was most enjoyable. The room was first class and the food in the restaurant was superb. All of the staff were very friendly and most helpful. I would recommend this hotel and I hope to return there in the near future for a longer stay this time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for one night at the Savoy, room only. The room was a good size with two queen sized beds. The beds were turned down when we arrived. There was a mini-bar which we did not use. It was excellent value for money at about 37 Euros each.The hotel does not have its own car parking facility so we used the Dunnes multi-storey but there was a very good discount system so overnight parking came to 5 Euros. The reception staff were very friendly and curteous. Good, central location and Dunnes massive store is across the road and Laura Ashley is next door. Didn't use the spa.

Room Tip: With it being a city centre hotel, we asked for a high floor (there are 5) which we were givern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroleannesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a "mini-Gathering" and dined in the Savoy Restaurant on the first floor with excellent and friendly service, a professional pianist and first class “Masterchef” food. If it's on the menu go for the pork belly, black pudding and scallop starter followed by the seasoned beef – this was rated best by my fellow guests.
A discreet resident’s lounge with complimentary soft drinks and tea/coffee is on the 7th floor - worth gathering there for pre-dinner privacy.

Room Tip: The pillows provided are very soft - so don't be shy and ask for firm ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Nice property which is very central, just make sure to get directions to the carpark before you arrive (directly opposite but not easy to find). Good facilities however swimming pool is very small more of a pool for a dip then a swim. Well worth considering as a place to stay if visiting Limerick.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank culruaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,579 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#9 of 20 in Limerick
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: £97 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing