We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday weekend away”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We have had a wonderful weekend here 17th- 19th August 14. A lovely surprise for my birthday organised my my boyfriend. We stayed in a lovely junior sweet. Which was gorgeous, lovely big room with huge bathroom and a heavenly big bed. We wer greeted with a warm welcome from the staff at front desk. And Christie couldn't have done more for us. We enjoyed beautiful cocktails at the savoy bar served my lovely staff. On our first night we ate in the Hampton restaurant. One word 'AMAZING '. Breakfast was on that iv never seen before amazing food and a huge selection. The only negative would be that the leisure facilities were a little disappointing. Tiles cracked around the jacuzzi and the water could do with a change there was a skim around the edges. Also the pool edge had a little scum around the edge. This did not take from the amazing time we had during our stay ☺

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vivien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The suite was wonderful. Every amenity, very quiet and a terrific first floor lounge / breakfast room along with a fine restaurant downstairs. The staff was all very cordial and efficient, especially the breakfast restaurant manager, Ewa Mazur, and waiter Saroj. The quality of all the food and service we had at this property was top notch. Limerick is a small town so from here you can walk to all the main sights, King John's Castle (don't miss it), the Hunt Museum, the bus/train station, not to mention numerous neighborhood shops, pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: Opt for a mini-suite. It's well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ta2zman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Just arrived after 14 days traveling around Ireland and Scotland. We were pleasantly greeted and upgraded to a room that had complimentary access to the executive lounge. The room is quite large and the bath had both a tub and shower.

After traveling for two weeks we just wanted a light snack and a drink. The Savoy Bar was quite comfortable and offered food from the Hampton Restaurant. Mathew was quite helpful and engaged in pleasant conversation. A good way to bend the day.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tpdittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I could type so much about this hotel but I'll try to be brief. One of the nicest hotels we've stayed in in a while, it was pure luxury. We had a fab room with a balcony on the 7th floor and it was lovely, so clean it gleamed. The Bathroom had Molton Brown toiletries!! And the bed...we just sunk into it, it must have been super king and the pillows & cushions were unreal, to top it all off we got a great rate for the one night. And I should mention having spent the previous two nights in a paper thin walled hotel we'd a completely undisturbed sleep, didn't hear a thing!

The bar is lovely and although pricey to us country folk (11.50 for a pint and a glass of wine) we did get served complimentary nuts so that was a nice touch. Lovely staff also.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but we had a voucher for breakfast, if you get it, use it!! It was superb & the choice was too much! We were sorry we only stayed here the one night, it was a whistle-stop on the way home from Cork. The hotel is in the centre of everywhere; shops, bars restaurants etc, five minutes was the most we'd walked in any direction.

We'd def come back to Limerick if only to stay in this hotel, its the sort of place you'd totally unwind!

Room Tip: Ask for a 7th floor room if they have them available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 82Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Such a nice hotel to end a nine day Ireland vacation with. Location was great to restaurants and bars. Very close to Shannon Airport. Bar was very active and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel rooms were updated, clean and bright. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Have stayed here twice now. Most recent visit was with the family and we all loved it. Staff are very friendly and bedrooms are very spacious and well maintained. Beds are extremely comfortable and daily delivery of ice to the rooms is very welcome.

Good selection of food at breakfast.

Only negative I would have is that the pool is very very warm! It's very small, which is fine but even the kids found it too warm. Slightly cooler would be lovely. The pool also had lots of loose tiles!
Changing areas at the pool are spotlessly clean but there are only 2 showers and one was broken

Would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to visit again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank YoungFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for three nights recently in The Savoy Hotel ,Limerick and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was large and comfortable and our bathroom was equipped for guests with mobility problems,for which we were thankful. However the bathroom had limited shelving, placed in an awkward position and only adequate for bathroom tumblers, a small circular table which was completely inadequate for personal toiletries and a small soap dish in the walk - in shower which meant that shampoo ,showering gel etc had to be placed on the floor. It surprised me that more attention wasn't given to the needs of older guests with limited mobility. The view was deplorable. Older guests usually spend longer periods in their rooms so some consideration should be given to view from the bedroom especially for a three night stay.
The rooms were very clean but the furniture was chipped in places and the carpet,though clean had seen better days. Let's not dwell on the weary net curtains.
I don't wish to be overly critical but this hotel advertises itself as five star and we certainly expected a much higher standard. Our room had one bathrobe only and the turn down service did not always happen. A nice gesture was the complimentary bottled water.
The breakfast was delicious,especially the continental buffet but the cooked breakfast was a bit hit and miss .The dining room decor is beautiful and the waiters friendly but the dining room managers are cold and unwelcoming. A smile would make such a difference to the aloof dining experience. I do appreciate discreet, unobtrusive dining but this treatment borders on indifference. With the exception of the dining room managers,the staff throughout the hotel are excellent, polite,efficient and helpful. They are the five star aspect of the hotel. I particularly say thank you to the day staff at reception.
Parking is across the street in a shopping centre car park and while it's not ideal, the inconvenience is minimal especially with the cooperation of willing hotel staff.The hotel Iocation is excellent for everything but this hotel needs to rethink its star quality

Room Tip: One which doesn't overlook roofs of houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IRISHMAGGIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,987 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,177 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range: £103 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing