We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to fault”
Review of The Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
2 reviews
“Hard to fault”
Reviewed 22 December 2009

Great location, very well built hotel, great rooms, nice bar, great rate of €89 on a Sturday night, really hard to fault this hotel, will definately be back in the New Year, wouldnt stay anywhere else in Limerick

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    257
    101
    32
    20
See reviews for
175
464
32
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We had booked into a King Superior room, when having a shower the water leaked out all over the bathroom floor and out into the bedroom. Within minutes the staff had come to sort it and upgraded us to an executive room,this is a problem that could happen anywhere but the staff were so professional and apologetic, really good service.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galwaydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This was my first time to stay for leisure purposes having stayed twice previosly on business so I knew it was a nice hotel. However, while everything was up to the usual high standards, the staff surpassed all our expectations......they were helpful, interested in us and very professional at all times.
We cannot wait to return....the Limerick Marriott is simply the best!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We got tickets to see Munster play and stayed at the Savoy (used to be Mariott Limerick). We location is super – right in the centre of Limerick and the rooms were lovely. We stayed bed and breakfast and the brekkie set us up for the day – everything you could want and more. Ate at Hamptons beside the hotel on Saturday – delicious. Hopefully will not be too long before we spend a night here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarenceDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I stayed at this hotel last year (with husband) while it was still a Marriott and didn't have a great experience(noisy party in function room kept us awake late into the night) for the cost at the time. I've stayed here again last weekend, this time with girlfriends. We decided to splash out on single rooms as two are mammys and were looking forward to a nights sleep. One had to be moved straight away because of a blocked toilet and unbearable smell in the room. The other rooms were fine, although the toiletries are of a basic quality. The free valet parking is a thing of the past and much missed as you have to park accross the street over Dunnes Stores and cart your bags over and back, also you have to pay for parking (€7 24hr fee). The room rate has reduced since our last stay but the little extras are gone, which is a big loss. We enjoyed our one night stay and had a good time in the Hamptons restaurant next door which was very busy with lots of big groups and a good atmosphere. We finished off with cocktails in the Savoy bar which were very good. Breakfast next morning was beautiful, when it finally arrived as service was very slow. It didn't bother us as we were in no hurry but this may be an issue if you were there on business and with time contraints. My friend used the pool which she described as a big bath, again with a notable absence of staff. All in all an enjoyable experience, however it seems there have been considerable cutbacks in staff and it shows.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakecounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Have been in this Hotel on numerous occasions, nice surroundings,but service and speed in my bexperience is slow enough especially during peak times

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We stayed just one night in this hotel and were very impressed - by a number of things. Firstly the staff are very friendly, professional and efficient. We were allocated a suite on the 4th floor as we had requested a quiet room and were impressed how spacious it was and nicely decorated. The hotel is in the middle of the city with easy access to all the shopping areas. The only minor inconvenience is the parking for the hotel is the Dunnes Stores multistory opposite. However as were only staying one night, this did not put us out too much. The breakfast was really good - we had a freshly cooked omelette - no luke-warm buffets here. The fruit /cereal etc is a self-serice buffet with yummy pastries are kept warm which I had not seen before. The bed was very comfortable and we really could not find any fault with our stay. I believe they are separating from Marriott franchise so may be coming out under a new name soon - Savoy? By the way the Hamptons restaurant next door was very good - busy on a Sat night so worth booking - also owned by the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babserella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limerick hotels
0.5 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,499 reviews
0.3 mi away
No. 1 Pery Square Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The George Limerick
The George Limerick
#7 of 20 in Limerick
1,483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Limerick
Clayton Hotel Limerick
#8 of 20 in Limerick
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel

Property: The Savoy Hotel
Address: The Savoy Henry Street, Limerick, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Limerick > Limerick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limerick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limerick
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limerick
#6 Business Hotel in Limerick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Savoy Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Midwest Ireland, the Limerick Savoy Hotel on Henry Street is located in the centre of Limerick City close to the River Shannon. The Savoy, one of the finest hotels in Limerick, is just 12 miles from Shannon International Airport and 1 mile from the train station. Our guest rooms and suites offer luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet and a spacious work desk for the busy traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Limerick
Limerick Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing