We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freddy's Bistro to the Rescue”
Review of Freddy's Bistro

Freddy's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 304 Restaurants in Limerick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$32
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Freddy's Bistro is in the Bridgestone Top 100 Restaurants, in Ireland. All our foods are sourced locally and cooked fresh. We cater for any special diet, including wheat free sauces and desserts.
Adare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freddy's Bistro to the Rescue”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Forgot to Book the Restaurant 'Mea Culpa' phoned Freddy's Bistro in the heart of Limerick City. Fully Booked for the Saturday night - That's a good sign! I asked if any cancellations were to come up would they please call me. Saturday evening 6pm phone rings Liz to the rescue table for two 8.30pm - back in business bacon saved! Beautiful meal Crab & Fish cakes to start delicious Medallions of Fillet beef and the best slow cooked Pork Belly I have tasted for our main course - Well done Chef. Lovely atmosphere and we were so so well looked after looking forward to dining again @ Freddy's Bistro, Limerick..........Thanks Des & Ruth

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    737
    172
    62
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Returned to freddies again last night, as usual food and service fantastic, looking forward to a few more nights there over the christmas season, the seasonal menu is brillant value and has great choice. Only problem is it is very difficult to get a booking so plans need to be made well in advance but its well worth it!
Also we brought home the lamb shank bone to the dog who loved it................ thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernadette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place in Limerick!!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

After reading the reviews here I was eager to check this place out. The results were as descibed by most of the reviews!
The restaurant had a large reservation for the evening but our eventual server told us if we could manage eating in 1.5 hours she would squeeze us in. Lucky us since the two women in front of us couldn't make a decision so we were seated directly.
Shared the Tandori Wings and Garlic Mushroom appetizers. Both were seasoned well and tasty.
Mains were the Clonakilty Chicken and the Banana Leaf Wrapped Sea Bass. My chicken was vary moist and I've taken a liking to the Irish breakfast pudding, even stuffed into chicken!
Service was really fantastic, one of the owners, Liz, came by and made sure we were satisfied with our meal. Desert was the Apple/Blackberry Crumble, great finish and under 1 hour 15min, which OK for this Californian!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mad58285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cant wait to go back!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I recently ate here with a group of 20 from work. All I can say is from start to finish the food atmosphere was second to none! The chefs must be exceptional as everyone of us got beautiful hot delicious food beautifully presented. The Fillet steak was just divine. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Limerick. The atmosphere is fab! The stone walls have character. Ill be returning very soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely food and atmosphere, and we felt very welcome for our family get together. Nothing was too much trouble. It's great for Limerick to have a restaurant as good as this.

Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Freddy's Bistro also viewed

Limerick, County Limerick
Limerick, County Limerick
 
Limerick, County Limerick
 

Been to Freddy's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing