We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to explore the area north of Dublin”
Review of Killowen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killowen House
Ranked #7 of 13 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Killowen House is located in a housing development just outside of the town of Drogheda. Angela, the owner, was lovely and very informative about historical sites in the area. The house was very clean and well-maintained, with nice touches like magazines in the bedrooms. Breakfast was good. Angela suggested we get up and leave early in the morning, as we wanted to tour Newcastle. She was right, we were able to get right in without any waiting; as we were leaving, however, the tour buses were really backing up. We only stayed here one day, but I would have been happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilfordLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

This very nice B&B has a lot going for it. It is a short drive to the Boyne Valley historical sites. It's off the main road and very quiet. The host Angela is very nice and informative. The room was very comfortable and the Full irish, or made to order breakfast was great.
It is an excellent location for your first or last night in Ireland. If you are leaving or arriving at Dublin Airport, It is only 20 minutes away without the traffic you'd encounter if you were staying in Dublin. This is one reason we choose it for our last nights.
The only negative is that the shower volume was anemic, which was common to almost all Irish B&Bs we stayed in. I believe in water conservation, so I cannot complain too much. But it took a long time to wash the shampoo out with that trickle from the shower head.
We actually liked the downtown of Drogheda with its shops and riverside locations, but it is not within walking distance, so have a car. I highly recommend this B&B for couples or families as I found out they have a nice for-families room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_DRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed here for our first night in Ireland and were made to feel very welcome. The room was a good size and very comfortable, so we slept really well. Our host, Angela, was helpful with suggestions of places to see and seemed so happy to have us staying with her. The breakfast next morning was a very full (and very filling!) traditional Irish which kept us going for the whole day. We would highly recommend this B&B if you are travelling by this way.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

From Canada, this was our first night in Ireland. A wonderful experience at Killowen House, with lovely, helpful hosts, Angela and Eric. They made you feel right at home in a very quiet residential area. Our hosts made suggestions of places to see, that we would have driven right by,
Terrific Irish breakfast. You do need a car as the home is a few Kms from places to eat. If visiting the ancient sites of Newgrange and Nowth, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Like the title says, if you plan on waking from this location, plan for a long walk. That said, I didn't find the town very appealing itself. However, the surrounding sights are well worth a trip to the area. The hosts at the house are very kind and helpful and make you fell very welcome in their home.
If you do stay here, be sure to get good directions. We didn't get the email about the location until after we arrived (our fault not theirs), which made for some confusion as we tried to locate the house.
Overall, I do recommend staying here if you plan on doing some sight seeing at the local and surrounding historical sites, but the town wasn't nearly as enjoyable as others.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColeDog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed one night in Killowen House. It was our last night in Ireland and we were looking for a place close to the airport. Killowen House is in a great location (around 30 minutes to the airport) and Angela, the owner, is a wonderful host. We felt comfortable and the room/bathroom were really clean and comfortable.
The breakast was very good with a lot of choices.
We have forgotten a mobile phone in our room and Angela contaced us straight away to inform us that she found the phone in the room. She has been so helpful in getting it back via courier service, too. We can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miniadventure2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We arrived after passing through the busy city center so we appreciated the quiet neighborhood where the house is located. The owner is a kind woman who welcomes you with a plenty of information about the interesting places to see around Drogheda. The room was very clean and confortable.The irish breakfast was really good. We strongly recommend this b&b

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anto62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Drogheda hotels
2.3 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
387 reviews
2.2 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
2.0 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Spoon and the Stars
Spoon and the Stars
#2 of 13 in Drogheda
72 reviews
15.4 mi away
Windsor Lodge
Windsor Lodge
#1 of 13 in Drogheda
238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Drogheda Townhouse B&B
Drogheda Townhouse B&B
#6 of 13 in Drogheda
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killowen House

Address: 7 Dublin Road | Woodgrange, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range: £75 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Killowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing