We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killowen House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Killowen House
Ranked #3 of 15 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Killowen House. Drogheda. A large and spacious room and bathroom, which was most welcome after the limited room size we had experienced at some other B&B's. Rooms were very clean and pleasantly decorated. Most importantly, a great heater warmed the room quickly – important for shivering Aussies. Hostess Angela is gracious, very kind and helpful. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and coffee was great. The dining room is very pleasant. A large table brought various guests together and a very interesting conversation resulted. Highly recommended and great value for money.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leoni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    21
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I spent a night with Angela on our recent trip to Ireland. Her welcome was typically Irish - happy to see you and offering anything she had to make our stay more enjoyable.

Perfect location for enjoying the surrounding wonderment of Irish history. Great base of operations for Monasterboice, Newgrange, Hill of Tara, etc. You can *not* go wrong by staying with Angela. She was quite knowledgeable about not only the general region, but other areas we were traveling to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick,ri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family in Drogheda and we did have a car. This property is a beautiful large home. Yes, there are signs for payment and water, thats expected when online is the booking choice and when you arrive is your first communication. Angela is wonderful. She is like having a private tour guide that seems to know everything! Breakfast was plentiful. We left at 6am for the airport and she even left cereal, fruit, yogurt and the coffee press ready for us so we would have a good breakfast! This is also off of Dublin Rd and a direct drive to the airport (25 min). The rooms are so nice and clean and the bathroom is larger and modern. LOVED this property and would recommend to anyone wanting a B&B in the Boyne Valley/Dublin area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gulliver03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Great B&B with friendly owner. Nice and big rooms. Great breakfast. The only negative point is that the B&B is outside the city and not in walking distance to the sights and restaurant. But it is a great spot to visit the boyle valley with newgrange, monasterboice etc.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siliarpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Angela is a gracious hostess. She made sure we knew how and where to go during our stay. Breakfast is to order and rooms are clean and well appointed. Bathrooms were large and comfortable. The only issue was too many signs around about times to shower and payment on arrival. This could be addressed in the reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalbonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Our stay here was perfect!! It's a great location not too far from the Dublin airport. Our room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. The owners were so nice and helpful and full of suggestions. They sent us to a great place for dinner and if it weren't for them we would have missed the New Grange monolithic tombs and the Monasterboice Crosses.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for only one night. We arrived late in the morning. Angela and her husband give us a warm welcom. They were very helpful nothing was too much trouble. They give good advice: restaurant...seaside...and more!!!
Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet... Free Internet access at the B&B.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone with hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucienne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
1.1 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
0.8 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
1.8 mi away
The Glenside Hotel
The Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.6 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killowen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killowen House

Property: Killowen House
Address: 7 Dublin Road | Woodgrange, Drogheda, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Killowen House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Killowen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing