We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Windsor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Drogheda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this b&b with 4 other friends, plus cats, and we were welcome with open arms. Te fact that we had animals with us did not daunt the staff and we felt reassured that this was a pet friendly hotel.

Breakfast was a traditional Irish b&b affair, a choice of cereals, toast, tea, coffee and a cooked breakfast. There is no negative comment to make over the food.

The main house is beautiful and when we arrived we felt it was more reminiscent of a hotel! Unfortunately we were in the 3rd house, and quality visually demonises as you move along the row. Our house was slightly neglected looking but it was clean (except for an old toothbrush left behind and some ironing burns on the carpet) and suited our purpose. There was a kitchen downstairs with a fridge which was handy for a to store raw meat for our cats.


The wifi was good and easy to access from each house.

Parking was an issue on the Saturday night due to the number of guests.

I would stay again though I would be hoping to be upgraded to the main house!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pepperonay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    53
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
78
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a confirmed booking with this lodge, corresponded on several occasions. When we arrived they had no booking and shuffled us in a hurry to another B&B. I asked them if it was of the same standard and were sent to a very poor quality B&B. When I went back they had a sign on the door which said full and did not answer the door. Poor service and shocking treatment. Would not recommend this to anyone who wants to be sure they have accommodation as confirmed. Due to the shortage of rooms in the area, they left us with no options.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorLodge, Owner at Windsor Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
We thank Susan for taking the time to write this review -- and she's absolutely correct in the observations that she offers. We absolutely blew this booking and sent her and her party to another B&B that simply does not meet up to our standards. The staff member on duty last Saturday evening absolutely assured us that she had all the web bookings in hand -- but as we have discovered, she did not. We are taking immediate steps to improve the oversight of our web-based bookings in order that this does not happen again. Should Susan and party come back to Ireland and to Windsor Lodge, we have offered free accommodations and dinner on us. We apologize again to Susan and her party -- this simply should not have happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hi I booked this B&B through booking.com for a family room and I was surprised to get the chalet it is a 2 bedroomed place with a kitchenette in hallway and a bathroom with shower unit. It is basically a 4 unit roomed place with fantastic lighting, rooftop windows, wide screen tv in both rooms. Your kids which I had 3 there could make as much noise as they can and you were not disturbing anyone plus it was on the ground floor I had a pram only my 17 month could walk. It cost 90 euro and you get breakfast for all the family.....we enjoyed watching tv after our trip to redmountainfarm in Donore which is very near Newgrange just get off at Exit 9 on M1.

Room Tip: look at their website or check tripadvisor its the best place really
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here with my husband and young family in the family room. 2 singles and one double. Very comfy beds and not a sound was heard all night! Slept peacefully and every morning was welcomed by the lovely Olive and her staff. Great choice of cooked breakfast plus friuit, yoghurts and cereals. Have stayed here before as so close to relatives house and hope to book again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I came to Ireland to work 8 weeks ago. I found the windsor lodge after 2 weeks. Olive and John met me on arrival. There was a lovely atmosphere surrounding the windsor lodge due to the efforts of Olive and John, I cant speak highly enough of them. They put me and a friend in a lovely log cabin at the side of the b&b with our own cooking facilities, excellent broadband and a variety of tv channels. Olive has often washed our clothing at no extra cost. This b&b seemed to go the extra mile for me and my friend and i will definately be returning. I would recommend this b&b to anybody looking to stay in the Drogheda area. Thank you Olive and John for a very enjoyable stay making a very difficult job a whole lot easier.
Kindest regards
shaun

Room Tip: I recommend the log cabin extremely quiet and good amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Was more like a very good hotel experience than a b&b,room was lovely and very clean ,stayed here for 4 nights and staff were very helpful and even pressed my shirts for me, couldn't fault the breakfast at all,was ideal as I was workin in the Hospidal which was less than 1 min drive away so walked over after the first day .will defiantly be staying here when I'm back again,couldn't rate it higher

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

A nice place to stay, hosts are very welcoming. Kinda near the Dublin airport, kinda near Newgrange. Hosts were very helpful on directions in the area. It is a little far from Drogheda and the town has seen better days.

Room Tip: They have rooms in separate buildings if you are after quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drogheda
15.9 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
15.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
15.7 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
5.2 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
9.5 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge

Property: Windsor Lodge
Address: 1, The Court | North Road, Drogheda, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Drogheda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Drogheda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Drogheda's premiere Bed and Breakfast facility, fully certified by Bord Fáilte and the only B&B facility in the area listed in both the prestigious Michelin and Routard's travel guides. Our lovely home is located on the North Road in Drogheda, just off the M1 Motorway at the "Drogheda North" exit #10 and only 30 minutes north of Dublin airport. Proprietor Olive Murphy takes special pride in ensuring that every guest is welcomed and made to feel very much at home. Over the years, Windsor Lodge has built up a very loyal base of repeat guests, all of whom remark on the consistent quality, comfort and attention to detail provided by Olive and her guest services team. We welcome new guests and friends as well; we cordially invite your phone call or e-mail and your reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Windsor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing