We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of Black Bull Inn

Black Bull Inn
Ranked #15 of 126 Restaurants in Drogheda
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Been a while since my last visit and it will be my last visit for a long time.

The Black Bull Inn is well known in Drogheda for its hospitality and service, until now. Went for a meal today (25th June 2018), nothing special just a few drinks and a small bite to eat.

Ordered our food - The Bull Burger without bbq sauce and a Cajun Burger with just Cheese nothing else. Both came wrong and the staff member was happy to change them.

Now when they came back out the Cajun Burger was made perfect. However, the Bull Burger, came without everything, just the buns and meat, nothing else. We asked the waiter can he fix this and he assured us that he would "have this sorted". So we waited. The burger came back out and to our surprise they had left out the beef, the lettuce, the bacon and it just had the buns and the plain pulled pork. Not exactly the evening we planned, we paid for our drinks and the Cajun Burger and left dissatisfied. Maybe it was a break down in communication between the waiter and the kitchen but its not good enough.

Thank GerEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience at the Black Bull. We welcome all comments good or bad as it helps us to deliver a better dining experience for you the customer. We Will investigate this matter and ensure it doesn't happen again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Black Bull is one of my favourite places to eat in Drogheda. I have never had a bad meal here. Great new breakfast menu which is delicious. Evening menu is fab and The desserts are amazing.

Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your kind words about the Black Bull Inn. We welcome all comments good or bad as it helps us to deliver a better dining experience for you the customer. Looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was taken here by my niece who lives nearby, Reasonably priced extensive menu. The quality of the food served was a very good standard.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nomiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Unplanned night out in the Black Bull, this well regarded family owned and run food emporium. Always a pleasent dining experience especially in good company. Worth a visit to sample the wide choice of european food, an array of drinks and excellent wine list.

Thank davidpryor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The crispy such salad was delicious. Fish and Chips were very good, could have had a half dozen extra chips on the plate however.

Decor and attention by staff are great. Would highly recommend.

Thank asacrowflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bull Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Black Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing