We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Monasterboice Inn

Monasterboice Inn
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Food is always top class here if you are prepared to queue on Sundays as it is always busy which has to be a good thing. Staff always friendly and attentive. Love my Sunday lunch here.

Helpful?
Thank Alwhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your valued review. It's always really good to hear positive feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    100
    51
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great food always especially steak”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I had the evening special menu there last week which comprises of a four course meal for a respectable price of 25€. This menu includes steak with no supplement. it is a traditional steak house and I have eaten there for over thirty years. Except for onetime only , the food has always been fantastic. The staff are also very friendly and inviting. Another good service they have, is that if you can't finish the meal, they will wrap it up for you, no problem. You really have to be very hungry for the four course, but it's worth having a go at it. This place is highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy to know that you enjoyed our €25.00 menu. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we greatly value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth Going Back”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a very disappointing meal last year but decided to call in on way from Dublin this week.
We made a booking and asked for a window seat. Unfortunately the lady that received us did not look at our request and attempted to take us into another part of the restaurant. Not a good start! Well we both ordered fillet steaks , mine as part of a surf and turf. No disappointment here . cooked to our liking. The only part of the meal that was poor was the pepper sauce , thick and quite bland! The service was ok but steaks did take a while to come out. We both enjoyed the food , atmosphere does tend to be lacking !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for coming back after 1 year. We are grateful you gave us another chance to look after you. We value your custom and your feed back, and will investigate the pepper sauce served on Friday. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelming - why all the hype?”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Called in today with family for a quiet midweek dinner. Plenty of tables occupied so expected a high standard of food, given how remote the location has become due to motorways. Our waitress was very pleasant and accommodating, however this was unfortunately the highlight of the meal as the food itself was beyond bland. I ordered a breaded breast of chicken in a peppercorn sauce, while my fellow diners ordered turkey and ham and lamb. Our meals arrived within ten minutes of having placed our order - an indication that they weren't cooked from scratch (although I concede that we did visit during the lunchtime rush). While the vegetables were palatable, they were nothing spectacular - I could've cooked something similar or better at home. The chicken, however, was a major disappointment - dried out, stringy and clearly kept warm in an oven for an hour or two. The frugal portion of peppercorn sauce was slightly congealed, and lacked flavour.
My fellow diners had no major complaints - and to be fair, the presentation was decent and the surroundings were spotless - but we did agree that the restaurant is overpriced for the standard and selection of food it offers - typical pub grub that fills you up but does little else. Highlight was, again, the service - if the food was on a par with it, I could understand what all the fuss was about...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DiningDiva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your valued review, I'm sorry you were disappointed with the chicken, had you made us aware that you were unhappy, we could have changed it for you straight away.
We do, in fact, roast the turkey and the lamb in the morning as it would not be possible to cook them to order.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and thank you for your comments, which we will take on board going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

do not understand why people still flock to this place,the food is not great you would get better in a small cafe or takeaway very disappointing and a bit too expensive for what you get,the best thing about this place is the staff

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shazy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseanne D, Owner at Monasterboice Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, I am sorry you were disappointed, if you come again please let us know, as I would be delighted to talk to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monasterboice Inn also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Monasterboice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing