We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great atmosphere, lovely people, reasonable.”

Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 116 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$41
Cuisines: French, Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Scholars Townhouse Hotel restaurant is an award winning 2AA rosette restaurant. Proving modern Irish cuisine with International influence of todays culture in Ireland.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stayed for 2 nights last week. Although I was working in the Northeast and it was a perfect base. when I got back to Scholars it was so relaxing it felt like I was on a break. The room was nice and very quiet. The staff were so friendly the food excellent and it was great value. I travel around the country and this is the first time I have felt I should write a review. I'll be back there soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you had such a great experience and I hope that we will repeat the same experience on your next visit.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 246 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We recently dined in the bar in Scholars and then sat outside on the flower filled terrace with our wine and coffee and had a very enjoyable evening. This really is one of Drogheda's nicest places to visit, the staff are always so helpful and the food is always excellent. This historic building is beautifully maintained and the warm wood interiors are packed with all sorts of antiques and quirky furniture. The atmosphere is always peaceful with no blaring tv's with football or golf on so if you want somewhere peaceful and relaxing for an evening out Scholars is the place to go, summer or winter Scholars never disappoints.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MollieEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you, I am delighted you had such a great experience in our Gastro Lounge, We have been elected Leinster finalists for our bar and outside gardens in the Bar Awards 2014. We take pride in our gardens and our Gastro Lounge and so it would be a great achievement for us to get the recognition with an award. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We celebrated a Diamond Anniversary here on Monday . The meal was very good with great choice,the service excellent and the ambiance second to none.We would also recommend Roy Taylor for the musical entertainment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank topcattEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. Congratulations on the Diamond Anniversary. I am sure that Roy Taylor entertained your guests, he is second to none, great vocals and ideal for any restaurant setting.

Regards

Mark Mc Gowan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited Scholars Town House at various times. Sunday Lunch and/or evening dinners or lunch is a must. All the staff are great help and frinedly. This place is a gem & nevr had a bad exeprience. This is a very pleasuable venue & a must for any visitor to Drogheda

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Permata T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for giving us such an excellent review. The team have read your comments and look forward to your return.

Regards
Mark Mc Gowan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had the pleasure of dining on saturday evening in scholars with a couple of friends. It was fantastic, the atmosphere was buzzing. The meal was fantastically presented in an efficient yet pleasant manner. The waitress was impeccable and really catered for all of our needs. One of the guests was heavily pregnant and her water glass was never empty. Would absolutely return and would reccommend to all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SineadC112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholars1867, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your generous comments. We are delighted that you had such a delightful experience and hope to see you soon.

Regards
Mark Mc Gowan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing