We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class food and service.”

Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 112 Restaurants in Drogheda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$41
Cuisines: French, Irish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Scholars Townhouse Hotel restaurant is an award winning 2AA rosette restaurant. Proving modern Irish cuisine with International influence of todays culture in Ireland.
1 review
“Top class food and service.”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I visited Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant yesterday with a party of 40 'golden oldies' and cannot praise this restaurant more highly. The food was amazing given the number involved and the service excellent. I will certainly be back with or without an entourage!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    82
    32
    26
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“My first choice in Drogheda,simply superb!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Iv been coming to scholars for a long time and it just keeps getting better and better. I was there last night for my brothers birthday and when we arrived at our table, happy birthday was written on our menu which was a very nice touch. Our waiter was very polite and professional, which is always the case since they have a great team there. Two of us went for the special catch after the waiter sold it to us, the seatrout was cooked to perfection and came out to us wrapped in tinfoil with chillies and rice and a soy/chilli sauce. The dish together was delicious and topped it off with coconut chocolate brownie which was to die for! Would highly recommend visiting and il definitely be back

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leahf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Isabel

Thank you very much for your recent review. We were delighted to see you enjoyed the sea trout "en Pappilote". It is a personal favourite of mine also. When you open the parcel, the aromas of Chilli, Soy, and lemon grass burst out into the room and then everybody orders it. We also have an interseting Trout dish with compressed cucumber, glazed fennel and lemon curd. Hopefully you will get a chance to try it in the near future. The new brownie is also a fan favourite among diners. Thank you again for your review.

Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - Top Class”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Dropped into the hotel for a late lunch. Food and Service was top class and could not fault the experience. Its a 'Hidden Gem' in Drogheda, and 'exceptional character' would come to mind. Attention to detail and follow up service was exquisite. The outside seating area was very enticing, unfortunately, the weather could not be delivered. Would highly recommend and stay over on next visit soon to explore the Gastro restaurant and what the new chef...has to offer! Delightful

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent visit. I am delighted that you enjoyed yourself and hopefully we can do something about the weather on your next visit.

Mark Mc Gowan
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had dinner here for my mother's 60th birthday. We reserved a private room for 8 which was really cosy. Staff were professional and friendly, they brought out a little cake with candle for the occasion. The food was very good, would definitely visit again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SorchaDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are glad you had such a fantastic experience. hope to see you soon and thank you for your lovely comments.

Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Two dinners and two breakfasts - wonderful!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent a couple of nights at the Scholars' Townhouse. We were exhausted on arrival on our first day and so decided to go to the hotel dining room. Fantastic - fresh seafood and other dishes, inventively prepared and capably served. Ann especially enjoyed the rhubarb fool (gluten-free). We began our meal with drinks in the lobby bar - very special. Breakfast both days (included with the room) included a good selection from a superb full Irish to lots of other selections. We had to go back for dinner on our second (and last) night in Drogheda - and we were so glad we did. I enjoyed an amazing steak. The sides were quite splendid. Well worth the visit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkMcGowan, Owner at Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent visit, you had the rhubarb fool, a firm favourite here at Scholars and our seafood is always served fresh directly from Clogherhead. I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for the business.

Mark Mc Gowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Drogheda, County Louth
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Drogheda, County Louth
 

Been to Scholars Townhouse Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing